Barshay Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Koo Chair in East Asian Studies Professor of History Andrew Barshay  is one of nine of UC Berkeley faculty members to be elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Over 200 of “the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists and civic, corporate and philanthropic leaders” were included in the 2016 inductees.

Founded in 1780, the Academy of Arts and Sciences seeks to provide authoritative and nonpartisan policy advice to decision-makers in government, academia, and the private sector. With over 4,600 members worldwide the Academy includes more than 200 Nobel Prize laureates and 100 Pulitzer Prize winners. Notable inductees include George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Albert Einstein, John Stuart Mill, Claude Levi-Strauss, and Stephen Hawking amongst many others. Barshay joins fellow 2016 inductees from Berkeley Robert J. Full, Robert M. Glaeser, Barbara V. Jacak, Jay D. Keasling, Ulrike Malmendier, Eva Nogales, Paul Pierson, and Scott J. Shenker,

The Department of History boasts numerous members including professors Berry, Brady, Brucker, de Vries, Gruen, Heilbron, Herr, Hesse, Hollinger, Jay, Keightley, Laqueur, Litwack, Middlekauff, and Slezkine.

A scholar of Modern Japan, Barshay has published widely on Japanese intellectual and economic history. He has held teaching appointments at Harvard, Wesleyan, Wisconsin, as well as Cal. Barshay is a three-time UC Berkeley history grad earning his B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. at Cal.

-Alex Coughlin