Graduate Student Directory

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z
Name Contact Information Field(s) Research Interests
Ashur Alkhas
Graduate Student
priestephraim@gmail.com Byzantine
Chase Arnold
PhD Candidate
chase.arnold@berkeley.edu Africa
Aparajita Basu
Graduate Student
apbasu@berkeley.edu South Asia
Amada B. Beltran
Graduate Student
amadabeltran@berkeley.edu Latin America
Olivia Benowitz
PhD Candidate
olivia.benowitz@berkeley.edu Early Modern Europe
Matthew Berry
PhD Candidate
matthewberry@berkeley.edu East Asia
Christopher M Blunda
Graduate Student
cblunda@berkeley.edu Ancient Greece & Rome
Christopher J Bonura
PhD Candidate
bonura@berkeley.edu Byzantine
Christoffer Bovbjerg
PhD Candidate
bovbjerg@berkeley.edu East Asia
Simon Brown
Graduate Student
simon.brown@berkeley.edu Early Modern Europe English Reformation, Education and Pedagogy, Universities and Scholarly Communities , Early Modern Atlantic
Xavier Buck
Graduate Student
xavierbuck@berkeley.edu America since 1607
Amanda D Buster
PhD Candidate
abuster@berkeley.edu East Asia
Angelo Matteo C...
PhD Candidate
am.caglioti@berkeley.edu Science
Jose Camacho
PhD Candidate
josecamacho@berkeley.edu America since 1607
Francisco X Mar...
Graduate Student
2413 Dwinelle; Tuesday, 11-12; Thursday, 1-2
pacomdc@gmail.com
America since 1607
Christopher Casey
PhD Candidate
caseyc@berkeley.edu
Berkeley Connect
Late Modern Europe Globalization and the History of Capitalism, Modern European History, Economic History, International History, International Law and International Legal History, Space, Science, and Technology, Media History
Gillian C Chisom
Graduate Student
gchisom@berkeley.edu Britain
Javier Cikota
PhD Candidate
jcikota@berkeley.edu Latin America
Patrick Clark
PhD Candidate
clarkpe@berkeley.edu Ancient Greece & Rome
Michael Coates
Graduate Student
coates@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle 2112, Mon 12:30-2:30
Late Modern Europe
Nicholas Constantino
Graduate Student
nconstantino@berkeley.edu East Asia
Elliott Cramer
Graduate Student
elliottcramer@berkeley.edu America since 1607 Ecclesastical History, Anglican Church in Colonial America, English Civil War, Sir Henry Vane
Miles M Culpepper
Graduate Student
culpepper@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle 2411, Wed 2:30-3:30, Th 4-5
Latin America
Benjamin Daniels
Graduate Student
benjammin@berkeley.edu East Asia
John Daukas
Graduate Student
jpdaukas@berkeley.edu Ancient Greece & Rome Intellectual History, Questions of Personhood and Identity, Political Theory, Historiography, Legal History, Ancient Philosophy
David I. Delano
Graduate Student
david.delano@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
Maelia DuBois
Graduate Student
mdubois@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle 2108, Wed 11-12, Thurs 10-11
Late Modern Europe
Ari S Edmundson
PhD Candidate
aedmundson@wesleyan.edu Late Modern Europe
Maggie Jane Elmore
PhD Candidate
m.elmore@berkeley.edu America since 1607
Edward D. Evenson
Graduate Student
theedwardevenson@berkeley.edu
Office hours: 2413 Dwinelle, Wednesday, 12-2 p.m.
America since 1607
Sophie J. FitzM...
Graduate Student
sophie.fitzmaurice@berkeley.edu America since 1607
Caleb Ford
Graduate Student
calebjford@gmail.com East Asia
Kaitlin G. Forgash
Graduate Student
forgash@berkeley.edu East Asia Pre-Modern Japan, Women's History, Comparative Medieval History
Rhiannon Fredericks
PhD Candidate
rdf@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
Sara Friedman
Graduate Student
sara_friedman@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
Daniel Friedman
Graduate Student
DanielbutlerFriedman@gmail.com East Asia
Sheer Ganor
Graduate Student
sheerganor@berkeley.edu Jewish, Late Modern Europe
Alejandro Garcia
PhD Candidate
agarcia@berkeley.edu America since 1607
Sourav Ghosh
Graduate Student
sourav@berkeley.edu South Asia
Kristopher Gibson
Graduate Student
gibson@berkeley.edu America since 1607
Grace M. Goudiss
Graduate Student
goudiss@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Room 2411 Mon 12-1, Tue 10-11
America since 1607 20th century US culture and politics; history of American popular music; American Christianity; California history
Anthony Lee Gregory
Graduate Student
anthony.gregory@berkeley.edu America since 1607 legal history and theory, 20th century U.S. in global context
Aaron R Hall
PhD Candidate
arhall06@gmail.com America since 1607
Mahel Hamroun
Graduate Student
mhamroun@berkeley.edu Medieval
John Martin Handel jmhandel@berkeley.edu
Office hours: 2114 Dwinelle: Tuesday 11-12, Wednesday 12-1
History 5
Britain Modern Britain and Its Empire, History of Finance/Capitalism, Secularization, Colonialism, History and Theory, Digital Humanities
Katharine L. Harper
PhD Candidate
kharper@berkeley.edu Britain
Paulina Hartono
PhD Candidate
hartono@berkeley.edu East Asia
Nina Haug
Graduate Student
nina_haug@berkeley.edu Africa
Lee Hekking
Graduate Student
hekking@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
Kristen A Hiestand
PhD Candidate
hiestand@socrates.berkeley.edu East Asia
Emily Hoge
Graduate Student
emily_hoge@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
Andrea J Horbinski
PhD Candidate
2314 Dwinelle
horbinski@berkeley.edu
Office hours: TBA
Japanese Popular Culture from Postwar to Postmodern, Summer 2016 Session D
East Asia
Darren Hsiung
Graduate Student
wushubear@gmail.com Science
Clare Ibarra
Graduate Student
ciba14@berkeley.edu
Office hours: 2102 Dwinelle, Mondays 11-1
100E: Cuba in the World
Latin America Cuba 1933-Present, Soviet Union, Women/Gender, Immigration
Trevor W Jackson
PhD Candidate
twjackson@berkeley.edu Early Modern Europe, Late Modern Europe
J.T. Jamieson
Graduate Student
jtjamieson@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle 2110, Tu 10-12
America since 1607 19th Century America; Cultural History
Craig A. Johnson
Graduate Student
craigjohnson@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle 2106, Mon 12:30-2:30
Latin America
Eric Johnson
PhD Candidate
ejohnson1@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
Jameson Karns
PhD Candidate
j.karns@berkeley.edu Science
Tommy Kedar
Graduate Student
tommy.kedar@berkeley.edu Jewish
Joseph Kellner
PhD Candidate
joseph.kellner@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe Russian and Soviet history, Cultural and religious history of the USSR, Ideology and belief, The Cold War, Borders and borderlands, The Russian North, Arctic studies, Finland, Finishing graduate school
Daniel H Kelly
PhD Candidate
daniel.kelly.gsi@gmail.com America since 1607
Elena V. C. Kempf
Graduate Student
elenakempf@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle 2112, Mon 10-12
Late Modern Europe
Siti Keo
PhD Candidate
skeo@berkeley.edu Southeast Asia
Brian Kersey
Graduate Student
briankersey@berkeley.edu America since 1607
Mark T Kettler
PhD Candidate
mkettler@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
Kimberly Killion
PhD Candidate
kkillion@berkeley.edu America since 1607 Environmental History, History of Science and Medicine, Women and Gender, Agriculture and Foodways
Pawel J. Koscielny
Graduate Student
Pawel.Koscielny@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle 2106, Th 10-12
Late Modern Europe
Dana Landress
Graduate Student
dana_landress@berkeley.edu Science History of Science and Medicine, Social Medicine , History of Genetics, Medical Decision-Making , Histories of Healthcare Access
Christopher Lawson
Graduate Student
christopher.lawson@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe Late Modern Europe, 20th Century Britain, British Empire, Deindustrialization, Decolonization, Postcolonial Migration, Social and Working Class History, Urban Geography, Canadian History
Jonathan Lear
Graduate Student
JonathanandrewLear@gmail.com Late Modern Europe
Joseph Ledford
Graduate Student
joseph_ledford@berkeley.edu America since 1607 U.S. Foreign Relations, Cold War, Global, International, and Political History
Erica Anne Lee
PhD Candidate
ericalee@berkeley.edu America since 1607
Robert Lee
PhD Candidate
robertlee27@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle 2104, Mon 3-5 and by appointment
America since 1607
Clara Leon
PhD Candidate
principessar16@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
Julia M Lewandoski
PhD Candidate
Julia.Lewandoski@berkeley.edu America since 1607
Kevin Li
PhD Candidate
kevinli@berkeley.edu Southeast Asia
Peiting Li
PhD Candidate
peiting.c.li@berkeley.edu East Asia
James Lin
PhD Candidate
jameslin@berkeley.edu America since 1607, East Asia Modern China, US, and the World, International and Global History, Political Economy, History of Science, History of Thought
Adam Littleston...
Graduate Student
aLittlestoneluria@gmail.com Ancient Greece & Rome
Thomas L Lowish
PhD Candidate
thomas.lowish@gmail.com Early Modern Europe
Camilo Lund-Montano
PhD Candidate
camiloelund@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle 2413, Wed 11-1
America since 1607
Hilary Lynd
Graduate Student
hilary.lynd@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Th 2-4 Stephens 104B
IAS45 Survey of World History
Late Modern Europe Soviet history, African history, decolonization, cold war, ideology and belief, political transformation, national liberation movements, political economy
Brendan Mackie
Graduate Student
bmackie@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle 2108, Th 3:30-5:30
Early Modern Europe
Ula Madej-Krupitski
Graduate Student
2104 Dwinelle
madej@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Tuesdays 12 - 2 pm
175B: Jews in the Modern World
Jewish, Late Modern Europe
Jesus Madrigal jesusm@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe 19th and 20th century Russian history; intellectuals and society; science and religion; art and power. Socialism and Christianity.
Ron M Makleff
PhD Candidate
rmakleff@berkeley.edu Early Modern Europe
Talia K Di Manno
PhD Candidate
taliadimanno@berkeley.edu Early Modern Europe
Sarah Gold McBride
PhD Candidate
sarahgoldmcbride@berkeley.edu America since 1607 19th century United States, cultural history, social history, history of science and medicine, race, gender, popular culture
Scott McGinnis
PhD Candidate
spmcginnis@berkeley.edu East Asia
Peter Michelli
Graduate Student
pm15@berkeley.edu Medieval
Jacob B. Mikanowski
PhD Candidate
JACOB.MIKANOWSKI@GMAIL.COM Late Modern Europe
Helen Miney
Graduate Student
helen_miney@berkeley.edu Latin America
Ivana Mirkovic
PhD Candidate
ivmirkovic@berkeley.edu Britain
Shaivya Mishra
Graduate Student
shaivya.mishra@gmail.com South Asia
Jason R Morton
PhD Candidate
jrmorton@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
James D.D.J. Morton
PhD Candidate
james.morton@berkeley.edu Byzantine
Raphael Murillo
PhD Candidate
rmurillo@berkeley.edu Early Modern Europe Early Modern Europe, Spain, Spanish Italy, Colonial Latin America, Empire, Administration, Organization Theory
Kim Nalley
Graduate Student
kimnalley@berkeley.edu America since 1607
Ryan Nelson
Graduate Student
sociolgst@yahoo.com Southeast Asia
Robbie Nelson
PhD Candidate
robert_nelson@berkeley.edu America since 1607 History of Capitalism, Late-nineteenth century United States, Finance and Society, Race, Labor
Joy Neumeyer Ethnic Studies library
joy.neumeyer@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Mon 1-2 pm, and by appointment
Late Modern Europe
Ti Ngo quocngo@berkeley.edu East Asia
Uyen Nguyen wahalaci@gmail.com Southeast Asia
Cindy A. Nguyen
PhD Candidate
cindynguyen35@berkeley.edu Southeast Asia Southeast Asia, Vietnam, Digital Humanities, History of the Book, Twentieth Century, Libraries, Print Culture
Natalie Novoa
PhD Candidate
thals07@berkeley.edu America since 1607
Amy O'Hearn
Graduate Student
aohearn@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle 2411, Th 2:30-3:30, Fri 12:30-1:30
America since 1607
Derek K O'Leary
PhD Candidate
derekkoleary@gmail.com America since 1607
Krzysztof J Odyniec
PhD Candidate
k.odyniec@gmail.com Early Modern Europe
Brent Otto
Graduate Student
botto@berkeley.edu South Asia
Joseph Passman
Graduate Student
Joseph.passman@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle 2110, Fri 11:45-2:45
East Asia
Joel S Pattison
PhD Candidate
jpatt12@berkeley.edu Medieval
Calvin Payne-Taylor
Graduate Student
payne22z@mtholyoke.edu
Office hours: 2114 Dwinelle; Monday, 12:30-1:30; Wednesday, 2-3
Early Modern Europe
Sebastian Peel
PhD Candidate
Sebpeel@berkeley.edu East Asia Pre-Modern Japan, Tokguawa Period, Foreign Relations, Tokugawa Iemitsu, Establishment of the Tokugawa bakufu
Loan C. Pham
PhD Candidate
loan@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Stephens Hall, Thursdays 10-11:30 AM
PACS 10: Introduction to Peace and Conflict Studies
Southeast Asia Southeast Asia, International and Global History, Indochina Wars, Cold War, Military Diplomacy, Foreign Policy
Larissa Pitts larissa.jesanis@berkeley.edu East Asia
Samuel Robinson
PhD Candidate
sam.robinson@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle 2102, Wed 3-5
Britain, Early Modern Europe Religious History, Intellectual History, History of the Body
Daniel Roddy
PhD Candidate
drodd1990@gmail.com Early Modern Europe
Lois Rosson
Graduate Student
loisrosson@berkeley.edu
History 30: Science and Society
Science
Jason Rozumalski
PhD Candidate
jrrozumalski@gmail.com Early Modern Europe
Hayley Rucker
PhD Candidate
hrrucker@berkeley.edu Early Modern Europe
Franklin C Sammons
PhD Candidate
fsammons123@gmail.com America since 1607
Max Schmeder
Graduate Student
maxschmeder@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle 2112, Wed 11-1
Science Music Theory, History of Science, Sentimental Literature
Brendan Shanahan
PhD Candidate
brendan.shanahan@berkeley.edu America since 1607
Kerry Shannon
PhD Candidate
kerryshannon@berkeley.edu East Asia Modern East Asia, Japan, China, Korea, Public Health and Hygiene
Julia R Shatz
PhD Candidate
julia.shatz@gmail.com Middle East
Jacqueline S. Shine
PhD Candidate
jsgs@berkeley.edu America since 1607
Yana Skorobogatov
PhD Candidate
yanaskor@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe Soviet Union, Russia, Law and Society, Crime and Punishment
Agnieszka Smelkowska
PhD Candidate
agnessmelkowska@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
Richard K. Smith
Graduate Student
rks2139@columbia.edu
Office hours: 2113 Dwinelle; Tuesday, 11-12; Wednesday, 12-1
Late Modern Europe
Charli Spier
Graduate Student
charli_spier@berkeley.edu Ancient Greece & Rome
Maxwell R Staley
PhD Candidate
maxstaley@gmail.com Early Modern Europe
Sarah E Stoller
Graduate Student
sarah.stoller@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
James Stone-Lunde
Graduate Student
James.StoneLunde@gmail.com East Asia
Christene Stratman
Graduate Student
christene_stratman@berkeley.edu Medieval
Christopher Sullivan
Graduate Student
csullivan@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle 2413, Wed 10-12
Latin America Agrarian, History of insurgency, Political, Economic, Social, Business
David Tamayo
PhD Candidate
Dwinelle 2102
tamayo.d@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Tu 2-4 & by appointment
History 103.E - Inequalities in the Americas
Latin America Social movements, the middle classes, and right-wing politics in Latin America. U.S. influence in Latin America.
Lucia Q Tang
Graduate Student
lqtang@berkeley.edu East Asia
Jonathan Tang
PhD Candidate
jmtang@berkeley.edu East Asia
Jennifer Robin Terry
PhD Candidate
jenterry@berkeley.edu America since 1607 20th-century U.S., Social History, Cultural History, History of Childhood, Legal History, Labor History, Popular Culture, Great Depression, World War II, Cold War, Women and Gender
Elizabeth Thelen
PhD Candidate
ethelen@berkeley.edu South Asia
Yotam A Tsal
PhD Candidate
tsal.yotam@gmail.com Early Modern Europe
Norman Underwood nru@berkeley.edu Ancient Greece & Rome
Eva Vaillancourt
Graduate Student
e_vaillancourt@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
Peter Vale
Graduate Student
pvale@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle 2110, Th 9:45-11:45
Africa
Nicole Viglini
Graduate Student
nicole.viglini@berkeley.edu America since 1607
Mirjam Voerkelius
PhD Candidate
mlvoerkelius@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
Linh Vu
PhD Candidate
linhvu@gmail.com East Asia
Hannah R Waits
PhD Candidate
hwaits@berkeley.edu America since 1607 Religion and Politics, US and the World, Cultural and Social History
Julia J. Wambach
PhD Candidate
julia.wambach@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe 19th and 20th century French and German history, military occupations, transnational and comparative history
Jesse Watson jdwatson@berkeley.edu East Asia
Justus A. Watt
Graduate Student
justus.watt@gmail.com East Asia
Russell L. Weber
Graduate Student
rlweber@berkeley.edu
Office hours: 2411 Dwinelle - Mondays 2-3pm, Tuesdays 11:30am-12:30pm, and by appointment
History 7A, United States History to 1865: Sections 102 & 114
America since 1607 North American Colonization, The Early American Republic, History of Emotions, Political and Intellectual Culture, Ancient Greece and Rome, Early-Modern Europe (17th-19th Centuries), English and Early American Literature, American Comic Books
Brandon Kirk Wi...
PhD Candidate
bkwilliams@gmail.com America since 1607
Trenton W Wilson
PhD Candidate
trenton.wilson@gmail.com East Asia
Deborah Wood
Graduate Student
d.wood@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle 2108 WedTh 1-2
Science History of mathematics, Historical epistemology, 16-18th centuries, Jesuit missionaries, China and Korea
Timothy Wright
PhD Candidate
timw1814@gmail.com Early Modern Europe
Eloise Wright
PhD Candidate
eloise.wright@berkeley.edu East Asia
Ching Kit Wu
Graduate Student
chingkitwu@berkeley.edu East Asia
Serena Wu
Graduate Student
wu_serena@berkeley.edu East Asia
Elisheva Wyle
Graduate Student
elisheva_wyle@berkeley.edu East Asia
Mustafa Yildiz
Graduate Student
mustafa_yildiz@berkeley.edu Byzantine
Shoufu Yin
Graduate Student
yinshoufu@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Tuesday 14:00-16:00 (2112 Dwinelle)
6A: History of China (Part 1)
East Asia Middle-period China, Institutions and political cultures, Literature and imperial governance, Intellectual history and political thought, Comparative medieval studies
Gloria B. Yu
Graduate Student
gloria.yu@berkeley.edu Early Modern Europe Eighteenth and nineteenth century European cultural and intellectual history, Enlightenment, legal history, history and philosophy of science, historical epistemology
Christin Elizab...
Graduate Student
cez2104@columbia.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle 2102, Th 10-11, Fri 2-3
Middle East