Graduate Student Directory

Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z
Name Contact Information Field(s) Research Interests
Ashur Alkhas priestephraim@gmail.com
David A. Anixter anixter@berkeley.edu
Chase Arnold 2104 Dwinelle Hall
chase.arnold@berkeley.edu
Office hours: TuTh 11-12:30
112B
Aparajita Basu apbasu@berkeley.edu
Office hours: 2108 Dwinelle Hall; TuTh 12:30-2
100D
Amada B. Beltran
Graduate Student
2102 Dwinelle Hall
amadabeltran@berkeley.edu
Office hours: MWF 2-3
8B - Modern Latin America (Sections 102 and 104)
Latin America
Olivia Benowitz
Graduate Student
olivia.benowitz@berkeley.edu Early Modern Europe
Matthew Berry matthewberry@berkeley.edu East Asia
Christopher M Blunda cblunda@berkeley.edu
Christopher J. ... 2106 Dwinelle Hall
bonura@berkeley.edu
Office hours: TuTh 11-12:30
C188
Christoffer Bovbjerg bovbjerg@berkeley.edu
Simon Brown
Graduate Student
simon.brown@berkeley.edu Early Modern Europe English Reformation, Education and Pedagogy, Universities and Scholarly Communities , Intellectual and Cultural History of Capitalism , Early Modern Atlantic
Amanda D Buster abuster@berkeley.edu
Angelo Matteo C...
PhD Candidate
am.caglioti@berkeley.edu Science
Jose Camacho josecamacho@berkeley.edu
Francisco Marti... pacomdc@gmail.com
Christopher Casey
PhD Candidate
caseyc@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe Modern European History, European Legal Thought, International Law and International Legal History, International Institutions, Media History, Space and Technology
Gillian C Chisom gchisom@berkeley.edu
Javier Cikota jcikota@berkeley.edu
Office hours: F 9-10
7B
Patrick E Clark 2411 Diwnelle
clarkpe@berkeley.edu
Office hours: M 3-5
103
Michael Coates coates@berkeley.edu
Jonathan J. Cole jjcole@berkeley.edu
Miles Culpepper milessc@mail.sfsu.edu
Benjamin Daniels benjammin@berkeley.edu
John Daukas jpDaukas@umich.edu
David I. Delano david.delano@berkeley.edu
Bathsheba Demuth bathsheba.demuth@berkeley.edu
Maelia DuBois
Graduate Student
2102 Dwinelle Hall
mdubois@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Monday 2-4pm
5 - Modern Europe
Late Modern Europe
Ari S Edmundson 2411 Dwinelle
aedmundson@wesleyan.edu
Office hours: M 2-3; W 4-5
R1B
Maggie Jane Elmore m.elmore@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Tu 3-4 (non group meeting weeks)
BerkeleyConnect
Rebecca Crebbin... rcrebbincoates@gmail.com
Edward D. Evenson theedwardevenson@berkeley.edu
Office hours: F 11-12
7B
Hilary Falb hfalb@berkeley.edu
Sophie J. FitzM...
Graduate Student
2114 Dwinelle
sophie.fitzmaurice@berkeley.edu
Office hours: T 9-10
7B
America since 1607
Caleb Ford
Graduate Student
calebjford@gmail.com
Kaitlin G. Forgash
Graduate Student
forgash@berkeley.edu Pre-Modern Japan, Women's History, Comparative Medieval History
Rhiannon Fredericks rdf@berkeley.edu
Daniel Friedman DanielbutlerFriedman@gmail.com
Sheer Ganor
Graduate Student
sheerganor@berkeley.edu Jewish, Late Modern Europe
Alejandro Garcia agarcia@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle Hall 2104; TuTh 9:30-11
139C
Alberto M Garcia agarciam@berkeley.edu
Office hours: M 4-5 (non group meeting weeks)
BerkeleyConnect
Kristopher Gibson gibson@berkeley.edu
Office hours: MWF 10-11
7B
Grace M. Goudiss
Graduate Student
goudiss@berkeley.edu America since 1607 20th century US culture and politics; history of American popular music; American Christianity; California history
Anthony Lee Gregory
Graduate Student
2112 Dwinelle
anthony.gregory@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Tu 10-11
7B
America since 1607 legal history and theory, 20th century U.S. in global context
Chi Ha z@berkeley.edu
Aaron R Hall arhall06@gmail.com
Mahel Hamroun
Graduate Student
2110 Dwinelle
mhamroun@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Wednesday 10:00-11:00, Friday 9:00-10-:00
4B
Medieval
John Handel jmh539@cornell.edu
Katharine L. Harper 2112 Dwinelle
kharper@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Th 3-4
7B
Paulina Hartono hartono@berkeley.edu
Kristen A Hiestand hiestand@socrates.berkeley.edu
Andrea J Horbinski
PhD Candidate
horbinski@berkeley.edu
Japanese Popular Culture from Postwar to Postmodern, Summer 2016 Session D
East Asia
Darren Hsiung 2106 Dwinelle Hall
wushubear@gmail.com
Office hours: TuTh 9:30-11
182C
Clarissa Ibarra
Graduate Student
ciba14@berkeley.edu Latin America Cuba 1933-Present, Soviet Union, Women/Gender, Immigration
Trevor W Jackson twjackson@berkeley.edu
Office hours: M 2-3, W 2-3
R1B
J.T. Jamieson 2112 Dwinelle
jtjamieson@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Thursday 1:30-2:30; by appointment
7B
America since 1607 19th Century America; Cultural History
William Jenkins wjenkins@berkeley.edu
Craig A. Johnson 2102 Dwinelle
craigjohnson@berkeley.edu
Office hours: MWF 2-3
History 5
Eric Johnson ejohnson1@berkeley.edu
Jameson Karns j.karns@berkeley.edu
Joseph Kellner
PhD Candidate
joseph.kellner@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Dwinelle Hall 2104; TuTh 9:30-11
139C
Late Modern Europe Russian and Soviet history, Cultural and religious history of the USSR, Ideology and belief, The Cold War, Borders and borderlands, The Russian North, Arctic studies, Finland, Finishing graduate school
Daniel H Kelly daniel.kelly.gsi@gmail.com
Elena V. C. Kempf elenakempf@berkeley.edu
Siti Keo skeo@berkeley.edu
Brian Kersey 2112 Dwinelle
briankersey@berkeley.edu
Office hours: MWF 10-11
7B, sections 109, 117
Mark T Kettler
Graduate Student
mkettler@alumni.nd.edu
Kimberly Killion kkillion4@gmail.com
Emiliana Ivaylo... ekissova@gmail.com
Pawel J. Koscielny Pawel.Koscielny@berkeley.edu
Christopher Lawson 2106 Dwinelle Halll
christopher.lawson@berkeley.edu
Office hours: TuTh 2-3:30
104
Jonathan Lear JonathanandrewLear@gmail.com
Robert Lee robertlee27@berkeley.edu
Erica Anne Lee 2411
ericalee@berkeley.edu
Office hours: W 2-4
103
Clara Leon principessar16@berkeley.edu
Julia M Lewandoski Julia.Lewandoski@berkeley.edu
Office hours: MWF 10-11
7B
Peiting Li peiting.c.li@berkeley.edu
Office hours: M 2-4
103
Kevin Li kevinli@berkeley.edu
James Lin
PhD Candidate
jameslin@berkeley.edu America since 1607, East Asia Modern China, US, and the World, International and Global History, Political Economy, History of Science, History of Thought
Adam Littleston... 2106 Dwinelle Hall
aLittlestoneluria@gmail.com
Office hours: MWF 3-4
105B
Thomas Lowish thomas.lowish@gmail.com
Camilo Lund-Montano camiloelund@berkeley.edu
Hilary Lynd
Graduate Student
hilary.lynd@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe Soviet history, African history, decolonization, cold war, ideology and belief, political transformation, national liberation movements, political economy
Brendan Mackie
Graduate Student
2104 Dwinelle
bmackie@berkeley.edu
Office hours: TuTh 2-3:30
151C--Britain
Ula Madej-Krupitski
Graduate Student
madej@berkeley.edu Jewish, Late Modern Europe
Jesus Madrigal 2102 Dwinelle
jesusm@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Th, F 1-2
5
Late Modern Europe 19th and 20th century Russian history; intellectuals and society; science and religion; art and power. Socialism and Christianity.
Ron M Makleff rmakleff@berkeley.edu
Talia K Di Manno 2110 Dwinelle
taliadimanno@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Th 2-4
4B
Sarah Gold McBride
PhD Candidate
2116 Dwinelle
sarahgoldmcbride@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Wednesday 12-1 pm (ONLY on non-group meeting weeks); by appointment
Berkeley Connect
America since 1607 19th century United States, cultural history, social history, history of science and medicine, race, gender, popular culture
Scott McGinnis spmcginnis@berkeley.edu
Natalie Mendoza nmendoza21@berkeley.edu
Peter Michelli pm15@berkeley.edu
Jacob B. Mikanowski JACOB.MIKANOWSKI@GMAIL.COM
Ivana Mirkovic ivmirkovic@berkeley.edu
Shaivya Mishra 2106 Dwinelle Hall
shaivya.mishra@gmail.com
Office hours: TuTh 2-3:30
104
Jason R Morton jrmorton@berkeley.edu
James D.d.j. Morton james.morton@berkeley.edu
Raphael Murillo
PhD Candidate
rmurillo@berkeley.edu Early Modern Europe Early Modern Europe, Spain, Spanish Italy, Colonial Latin America, Empire, Administration, Organization Theory
Kim Nalley kimnalley@berkeley.edu
Robbie Nelson
PhD Candidate
2108 Dwinelle Hall
robert_nelson@berkeley.edu
Office hours: TuTh 2-3:30
100AC
America since 1607 History of Capitalism, Late-nineteenth century United States, Finance and Society, Race, Labor
Ryan Nelson 2104
sociolgst@yahoo.com
Office hours: TuTh 11-12:30
111D
Joy Neumeyer 2108 Dwinelle Hall
joy.neumeyer@berkeley.edu
Office hours: Mon 11-12:30, and by appointment
100D.001
Late Modern Europe
Ti Ngo quocngo@berkeley.edu East Asia
Cindy A. Nguyen
Graduate Student
cindynguyen35@berkeley.edu Southeast Asia, Vietnam, Digital Humanities, History of the Book, Twentieth Century, Libraries, Print Culture
Natalie Novoa thals07@berkeley.edu
Peggy O'Donnell
PhD Candidate
odonnell.peg@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe Human rights, the histories of atrocity and genocide, and the intersection of history, law, and policy
Amy O'Hearn aohearn@berkeley.edu
Derek K O'Leary 2108
derekkoleary@gmail.com
Office hours: TuThu 12:30-2
100D
Krzysztof J Odyniec k.odyniec@gmail.com
Joseph Passman Joseph.passman@berkeley.edu
Joel S Pattison jpatt12@berkeley.edu
Calvin Payne-Taylor payne22z@mtholyoke.edu
Sebastian Peel
Graduate Student
Sebpeel@berkeley.edu East Asia Pre-Modern Japan, Tokguawa Period, Foreign Relations, Toyotomi Hideyoshi, 17th Century State Formation in Japan
Loan C Pham loancpham@gmail.com
Jessica L Purkis jpurkis@berkeley.edu
Knightcarl Raymond knightcarl@berkeley.edu
Daniel M Robert daniel.m.robert@berkeley.edu
Office hours: 2108 Dwinelle Hall; TuTh 2-3:30
100AC
Samuel Robinson
PhD Candidate
sam.robinson@berkeley.edu Britain, Early Modern Europe Religious History, Intellectual History, History of the Body
Daniel Roddy drodd1990@gmail.com
Lois Rosson oisrosson@berkeley.edu
Jason Rozumalski jrrozumalski@gmail.com
Hayley Rucker hrrucker@berkeley.edu
Franklin C Sammons fsammons123@gmail.com
Tehlia Sasson tehila@berkeley.edu
Max Schmeder
Graduate Student
maxschmeder@berkeley.edu Science Music Theory, History of Science, Sentimental Literature
Brendan Shanahan brendan.shanahan@berkeley.edu
Office hours: MWF 10-11
7B
Kerry Shannon
PhD Candidate
kerryshannon@berkeley.edu Modern East Asia, Japan, China, Korea, Public Health and Hygiene
Julia R Shatz julia.shatz@gmail.com
Jacqueline S. Shine jsgs@berkeley.edu
James D. Skee skee@berkeley.edu Science
Yana Skorobogatov
PhD Candidate
yanaskor@berkeley.edu America since 1607, Late Modern Europe United States after 1865, Soviet Union, The Cold War, International History, Comparative History, Crime and Punishment, Law and Society
Agnieszka Smelkowska Agnieszka_Smelkowska@gmail.com
Richard K. Smith rks2139@columbia.edu
Maxwell R Staley 2413 Dwinelle
maxstaley@gmail.com
Office hours: W 2-4
101 Early Modern Europe
Sarah E Stoller 2104 Dwinelle Hall
sarah.stoller@berkeley.edu
Office hours: TuTh 2-3:30
151C
James Stone-Lunde 2102
James.StoneLunde@gmail.com
Office hours: TuTh 9:30-11
14
CHRISTOPHER BRI...
Graduate Student
csullivan@berkeley.edu Latin America Agrarian, History of insurgency, Political, Economic, Social
David Tamayo tamayo.d@berkeley.edu
Jonathan Tang
PhD Candidate
jmtang@berkeley.edu
103F.003: War and State Violence in the Making of Modern China
East Asia
Lucia Q Tang 2110 Diwnelle
lqtang@berkeley.edu
Office hours: TuThu 12:30-2
6B
Jennifer Robin Terry
PhD Candidate
jenterry@berkeley.edu America since 1607 20th-century U.S., Social History, Cultural History, History of Childhood, Legal History, Labor History, Popular Culture, Great Depression, World War II, Cold War, Women and Gender
Elizabeth Thelen ethelen@berkeley.edu
Yotam A Tsal tsal.yotam@gmail.com
Norman Underwood 2413 Dwinelle
nru@berkeley.edu
Office hours: W 3-5
101
Ancient Greece & Rome
Peter Vale pvale@berkeley.edu
Kathryn Vastola k.vastola@gmail.com
Mirjam Voerkelius mlvoerkelius@berkeley.edu
Linh Vu linhvu@gmail.com
Office hours: TuTh 12:30-2
6B
Hannah R Waits
PhD Candidate
hwaits@berkeley.edu America since 1607 Religion and Politics, US and the World, Cultural and Social History
Julia Johanna W... julia.wambach@berkeley.edu
Hillary Warren h.wa.1224@icould.com
Jesse Watson jdwatson@berkeley.edu East Asia
Justus A. Watt 2102
justus.watt@gmail.com
Office hours: TuTh 9:30-11
14
Russell L. Weber
Graduate Student
rlweber@berkeley.edu America since 1607 North American Colonization, The Early American Republic, History of Emotions, Political and Intellectual Culture, Ancient Greece and Rome, Early-Modern Europe (17th-19th Centuries), English and Early American Literature, American Comic Books
Sam P. Wetherell wetherellsam@gmail.com
Brandon K. Williams bkwilliams@gmail.com
Trenton W Wilson trenton.wilson@gmail.com
Deborah Wood
Graduate Student
d.wood@berkeley.edu Science History of science, History of mathematics, Historical epistemology, 16-18th centuries, Jesuit missionaries, China and Korea
Timothy Wright 2413 Dwinelle
timw1814@gmail.com
Office hours: Th 3-5 and by appointment
R1B
Eloise Wright eloise.wright@berkeley.edu
Shoufu Yin
Graduate Student
yinshoufu@berkeley.edu East Asia
Gloria B. Yu gloria.yu@berkeley.edu
Katherine Zubovich
PhD Candidate
keady@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
CHRISTIN ELIZAB...
Graduate Student
cez2104@columbia.edu Middle East