Graduate Student Directory

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z
Name Contact Information Field(s) Research Interests
Ashur Alkhas
Graduate Student
priestephraim@gmail.com Byzantine
Chase Arnold
PhD Candidate
chase.arnold@berkeley.edu Africa
Amada B. Beltran
Graduate Student
amadabeltran@berkeley.edu Latin America
Olivia Benowitz
Graduate Student
olivia.benowitz@berkeley.edu Early Modern Europe
Matthew Berry
PhD Candidate
matthewberry@berkeley.edu East Asia
Christopher M Blunda
Graduate Student
cblunda@berkeley.edu Ancient Greece & Rome
Christopher J Bonura
PhD Candidate
bonura@berkeley.edu Byzantine
Christoffer Bovbjerg
PhD Candidate
bovbjerg@berkeley.edu East Asia
Simon Brown
Graduate Student
simon.brown@berkeley.edu Early Modern Europe English Reformation, Education and Pedagogy, Universities and Scholarly Communities , Early Modern Atlantic
Amanda D Buster
PhD Candidate
abuster@berkeley.edu East Asia
Angelo Matteo C...
PhD Candidate
am.caglioti@berkeley.edu Science
Jose Camacho josecamacho@berkeley.edu
Francisco X Mar...
Graduate Student
pacomdc@gmail.com America since 1607
Christopher Casey
PhD Candidate
caseyc@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe Modern European History, European Legal Thought, International Law and International Legal History, International Institutions, Media History, Space and Technology
Gillian C Chisom gchisom@berkeley.edu
Javier Cikota jcikota@berkeley.edu
Patrick Clark
PhD Candidate
clarkpe@berkeley.edu Ancient Greece & Rome
Michael Coates coates@berkeley.edu
Jonathan J. Cole jjcole@berkeley.edu
Miles Culpepper milessc@mail.sfsu.edu
Benjamin Daniels benjammin@berkeley.edu
JOHN DAUKAS
Graduate Student
jpdaukas@berkeley.edu Ancient Greece & Rome
David I. Delano david.delano@berkeley.edu
Bathsheba Demuth bathsheba.demuth@berkeley.edu
Maelia DuBois
Graduate Student
mdubois@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
Ari S Edmundson aedmundson@wesleyan.edu
Maggie Jane Elmore m.elmore@berkeley.edu
Rebecca Crebbin... rcrebbincoates@gmail.com
Edward D. Evenson theedwardevenson@berkeley.edu
Hilary Falb hfalb@berkeley.edu
Sophie J. FitzM...
Graduate Student
sophie.fitzmaurice@berkeley.edu America since 1607
Caleb Ford
Graduate Student
calebjford@gmail.com
Kaitlin G. Forgash
Graduate Student
forgash@berkeley.edu Pre-Modern Japan, Women's History, Comparative Medieval History
Rhiannon Fredericks rdf@berkeley.edu
Daniel Friedman DanielbutlerFriedman@gmail.com
Sheer Ganor
Graduate Student
sheerganor@berkeley.edu Jewish, Late Modern Europe
Alejandro Garcia agarcia@berkeley.edu
Kristopher Gibson gibson@berkeley.edu
Grace M. Goudiss
Graduate Student
goudiss@berkeley.edu America since 1607 20th century US culture and politics; history of American popular music; American Christianity; California history
Anthony Lee Gregory
Graduate Student
anthony.gregory@berkeley.edu America since 1607 legal history and theory, 20th century U.S. in global context
Aaron R Hall arhall06@gmail.com
Mahel Hamroun
Graduate Student
mhamroun@berkeley.edu Medieval
John Handel jmh539@cornell.edu
Katharine L. Harper kharper@berkeley.edu
Paulina Hartono hartono@berkeley.edu
Kristen A Hiestand hiestand@socrates.berkeley.edu
Andrea J Horbinski
PhD Candidate
2314 Dwinelle
horbinski@berkeley.edu
Office hours: TBA
Japanese Popular Culture from Postwar to Postmodern, Summer 2016 Session D
East Asia
Darren Hsiung wushubear@gmail.com
Clare Ibarra
Graduate Student
ciba14@berkeley.edu Latin America Cuba 1933-Present, Soviet Union, Women/Gender, Immigration
Trevor W Jackson twjackson@berkeley.edu
J.T. Jamieson jtjamieson@berkeley.edu America since 1607 19th Century America; Cultural History
Craig A. Johnson craigjohnson@berkeley.edu
Eric Johnson ejohnson1@berkeley.edu
Jameson Karns j.karns@berkeley.edu
Joseph Kellner
PhD Candidate
joseph.kellner@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe Russian and Soviet history, Cultural and religious history of the USSR, Ideology and belief, The Cold War, Borders and borderlands, The Russian North, Arctic studies, Finland, Finishing graduate school
Daniel H Kelly daniel.kelly.gsi@gmail.com
Elena V. C. Kempf elenakempf@berkeley.edu
Siti Keo skeo@berkeley.edu
Brian Kersey briankersey@berkeley.edu
Mark T Kettler
Graduate Student
mkettler@berkeley.edu
Kimberly Killion kkillion4@gmail.com
Pawel J. Koscielny Pawel.Koscielny@berkeley.edu
Christopher Lawson
Graduate Student
christopher.lawson@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe Late Modern Europe, 20th Century Britain, British Empire, Deindustrialization, Decolonization, Postcolonial Migration, Social and Working Class History, Urban Geography, Canadian History
Jonathan Lear JonathanandrewLear@gmail.com
Robert Lee robertlee27@berkeley.edu
Erica Anne Lee ericalee@berkeley.edu
Clara Leon principessar16@berkeley.edu
Julia M Lewandoski Julia.Lewandoski@berkeley.edu
Peiting Li peiting.c.li@berkeley.edu
Kevin Li kevinli@berkeley.edu
James Lin
PhD Candidate
jameslin@berkeley.edu America since 1607, East Asia Modern China, US, and the World, International and Global History, Political Economy, History of Science, History of Thought
Adam Littleston... aLittlestoneluria@gmail.com
Thomas L Lowish thomas.lowish@gmail.com
Camilo Lund-Montano camiloelund@berkeley.edu
Hilary Lynd
Graduate Student
hilary.lynd@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe Soviet history, African history, decolonization, cold war, ideology and belief, political transformation, national liberation movements, political economy
Brendan Mackie
Graduate Student
bmackie@berkeley.edu
Ula Madej-Krupitski
Graduate Student
madej@berkeley.edu Jewish, Late Modern Europe
Jesus Madrigal jesusm@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe 19th and 20th century Russian history; intellectuals and society; science and religion; art and power. Socialism and Christianity.
Ron M Makleff rmakleff@berkeley.edu
Talia K Di Manno taliadimanno@berkeley.edu
Sarah Gold McBride
PhD Candidate
sarahgoldmcbride@berkeley.edu America since 1607 19th century United States, cultural history, social history, history of science and medicine, race, gender, popular culture
Scott McGinnis spmcginnis@berkeley.edu
Peter Michelli pm15@berkeley.edu
Jacob B. Mikanowski JACOB.MIKANOWSKI@GMAIL.COM
Ivana Mirkovic ivmirkovic@berkeley.edu
Shaivya Mishra shaivya.mishra@gmail.com
James D.d.j. Morton james.morton@berkeley.edu
Jason R Morton jrmorton@berkeley.edu
Raphael Murillo
PhD Candidate
rmurillo@berkeley.edu Early Modern Europe Early Modern Europe, Spain, Spanish Italy, Colonial Latin America, Empire, Administration, Organization Theory
Kim Nalley kimnalley@berkeley.edu
Robbie Nelson
PhD Candidate
robert_nelson@berkeley.edu America since 1607 History of Capitalism, Late-nineteenth century United States, Finance and Society, Race, Labor
Ryan Nelson sociolgst@yahoo.com
Joy Neumeyer joy.neumeyer@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
Ti Ngo quocngo@berkeley.edu East Asia
Cindy A. Nguyen
Graduate Student
cindynguyen35@berkeley.edu Southeast Asia, Vietnam, Digital Humanities, History of the Book, Twentieth Century, Libraries, Print Culture
Natalie Novoa thals07@berkeley.edu
Peggy O'Donnell
PhD Candidate
odonnell.peg@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe Human rights, the histories of atrocity and genocide, and the intersection of history, law, and policy
Amy O'Hearn aohearn@berkeley.edu
Derek K O'Leary derekkoleary@gmail.com
Krzysztof J Odyniec k.odyniec@gmail.com
Joseph Passman Joseph.passman@berkeley.edu
Joel S Pattison jpatt12@berkeley.edu
Calvin Payne-Taylor payne22z@mtholyoke.edu
Sebastian Peel
Graduate Student
Sebpeel@berkeley.edu East Asia Pre-Modern Japan, Tokguawa Period, Foreign Relations, Toyotomi Hideyoshi, 17th Century State Formation in Japan
Loan C. Pham
PhD Candidate
loan@berkeley.edu
Office hours: TBD
PACS 10: Introduction to Peace and Conflict Studies
Southeast Asia Southeast Asia, International and Global History, Indochina Wars, Cold War, Military Diplomacy, Foreign Policy
Samuel Robinson
PhD Candidate
sam.robinson@berkeley.edu Britain, Early Modern Europe Religious History, Intellectual History, History of the Body
Daniel Roddy drodd1990@gmail.com
Lois Rosson oisrosson@berkeley.edu
Jason Rozumalski jrrozumalski@gmail.com
Hayley Rucker hrrucker@berkeley.edu
Franklin C Sammons fsammons123@gmail.com
Tehlia Sasson tehila@berkeley.edu
Max Schmeder
Graduate Student
maxschmeder@berkeley.edu Science Music Theory, History of Science, Sentimental Literature
Brendan Shanahan brendan.shanahan@berkeley.edu
Kerry Shannon
PhD Candidate
kerryshannon@berkeley.edu Modern East Asia, Japan, China, Korea, Public Health and Hygiene
Julia R Shatz julia.shatz@gmail.com
Jacqueline S. Shine jsgs@berkeley.edu
Yana Skorobogatov
PhD Candidate
yanaskor@berkeley.edu America since 1607, Late Modern Europe Soviet Union, United States after 1865, The Cold War, International History, Comparative History, Crime and Punishment, Law and Society
Agnieszka Smelkowska
PhD Candidate
agnessmelkowska@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
Richard K. Smith rks2139@columbia.edu
Maxwell R Staley maxstaley@gmail.com
Sarah E Stoller sarah.stoller@berkeley.edu
James Stone-Lunde James.StoneLunde@gmail.com
Christopher Sullivan
Graduate Student
csullivan@berkeley.edu Latin America Agrarian, History of insurgency, Political, Economic, Social, Business
David Tamayo
PhD Candidate
tamayo.d@berkeley.edu Latin America Social movements, the middle classes, and right-wing politics in Latin America. U.S. influence in Latin America., My dissertation studies the role that US-transnational voluntary associations, such as Lions and Rotary clubs, had in organizing and politicizing the Mexican middle classes from the 1920s to the 1970s.
Lucia Q Tang lqtang@berkeley.edu
Jonathan Tang
PhD Candidate
jmtang@berkeley.edu East Asia
Jennifer Robin Terry
PhD Candidate
jenterry@berkeley.edu America since 1607 20th-century U.S., Social History, Cultural History, History of Childhood, Legal History, Labor History, Popular Culture, Great Depression, World War II, Cold War, Women and Gender
Elizabeth Thelen ethelen@berkeley.edu
Yotam A Tsal tsal.yotam@gmail.com
Norman Underwood nru@berkeley.edu Ancient Greece & Rome
Peter Vale pvale@berkeley.edu
Mirjam Voerkelius mlvoerkelius@berkeley.edu
Linh Vu linhvu@gmail.com
Hannah R Waits
PhD Candidate
hwaits@berkeley.edu America since 1607 Religion and Politics, US and the World, Cultural and Social History
Julia Johanna W... julia.wambach@berkeley.edu
Jesse Watson jdwatson@berkeley.edu East Asia
Justus A. Watt justus.watt@gmail.com
Russell L. Weber
Graduate Student
rlweber@berkeley.edu America since 1607 North American Colonization, The Early American Republic, History of Emotions, Political and Intellectual Culture, Ancient Greece and Rome, Early-Modern Europe (17th-19th Centuries), English and Early American Literature, American Comic Books
Sam P. Wetherell wetherellsam@gmail.com
Brandon Kirk Wi... bkwilliams@gmail.com
Trenton W Wilson trenton.wilson@gmail.com
Deborah Wood
Graduate Student
d.wood@berkeley.edu Science History of science, History of mathematics, Historical epistemology, 16-18th centuries, Jesuit missionaries, China and Korea
Timothy Wright timw1814@gmail.com
Eloise Wright eloise.wright@berkeley.edu
Shoufu Yin
Graduate Student
yinshoufu@berkeley.edu East Asia
Gloria B. Yu
Graduate Student
gloria.yu@berkeley.edu Eighteenth and nineteenth century European cultural and intellectual history, Enlightenment, legal history, history and philosophy of science, historical epistemology
Christin Elizab...
Graduate Student
cez2104@columbia.edu Middle East