Faculty

A | B | C | D | E | F | H | J | K | L | M | N | P | R | S | T | V | Y | Z
Name Contact Information Field(s) Research Interests
Margaret Lavinia Anderson
Professor Emerita
mlavinia@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
Stephan H. Astourian
Associate Adjunct Professor
2221 Dwinelle
(510) 643-8872
Office hours: TBA
astour@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Janaki Bakhle
Associate Professor
3209 Dwinelle
(510) 642-1971
Office hours: Tu. 10-12
jbakhle@berkeley.edu
South Asia
Andrew E. Barshay
Professor
Dr. C. F. Koo and Cecilia Koo Chair in East Asian Studies
2216 Dwinelle
(510) 642-3121
Office hours: on leave
abars@berkeley.edu
East Asia
Mary Elizabeth Berry
Class of 1944 Professor of History
3213 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2504
Office hours: Th. 1-3 and by appt.
meberry@berkeley.edu
East Asia
Mark Brilliant
Associate Professor
2311 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2118
Office hours: TBA
mbrill@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Cathryn Carson
Associate Professor
3221 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2701
Office hours: Tu. 10-11
clcarson@berkeley.edu
Science
Margaret Chowning
Professor
3125 Dwinelle
510-642-1971
Office hours: TBA
chowning@berkeley.edu
Latin America
John Connelly
Professor
2218 Dwinelle
(510) 642-6779
Office hours: TBA
jfconnel@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Alexander C. Cook
Assistant Professor
3218 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2609
Office hours: TBA
accook@berkeley.edu
East Asia
Thomas James Dandelet
Associate Professor
2317 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2046
Office hours: TBA
tdandelet@berkeley.edu
Early Modern Europe
Brian DeLay
Associate Professor
3219 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2611
Office hours: TBA
delay@berkeley.edu
America since 1607, Latin America
Nicholas Dirks
Professor
Chancellor of University of California, Berkeley
3229 Dwinelle
contact Jennifer Hanson at (510) 642-7464
chancellor@berkeley.edu
South Asia
Sandra Eder
Assistant Professor
2213 Dwinelle
(510) 643-3153
Office hours: Tu 2-3; W 4-5
s.eder@berkeley.edu
America since 1607, Science
John M. Efron
Koret Professor
2217 Dwinelle
(510) 643-8887
Office hours: TBA
efron@berkeley.edu
Jewish, Late Modern Europe
Robin L. Einhorn
Professor
Preston Hotchkis Professor in the History of the United States
3211 Dwinelle
(510) 642-5419
Office hours: on leave
einhorn@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Susanna Elm
Professor
2310 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2238
Office hours: Th. 10-12
elm@berkeley.edu
Ancient Greece & Rome
Victoria Frede
Associate Professor
3217 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2457
Office hours: Wednesday 12-2
vfrede@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
David Henkin
Professor
2226 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2324
Office hours: TBA
marhevka@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Rebecca Herman
Assistant Professor
2307 Dwinelle
Office hours: Tu 1-3p
rebeccaherman@berkeley.edu
Latin America
Carla Hesse
Peder Sather Professor
3315 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2992
Office hours: Contact Jane Christen jchristen@berkeley.edu for appt.
chesse@berkeley.edu
Early Modern Europe
Stefan-Ludwig Hoffmann
Associate Professor
3215 Dwinelle
(510) 642 3181
Office hours: on leave 2015-16
slhoffmann@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Martin E. Jay
Ehrman Professor
3321 Dwinelle
(510) 642-7218
Office hours: F 10-12
martjay@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers
Assistant Professor
2315 Dwinelle
(510) 642-6146
Office hours: TuTh 4-5
sejr@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Abhishek Kaicker
Assistant Professor
3216 Dwinelle
(510) 643-3147
Office hours: on leave
kaicker@berkeley.edu
South Asia
Tabitha Kanogo
Professor
3220 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2737
Office hours: TBA
kanogo@berkeley.edu
Africa
Kerwin L. Klein
Professor
2211 Dwinelle Hall
(510) 643-8857
Office hours: TBA
America since 1607
Geoffrey Koziol
Professor
3116 Dwinelle
(510) 642-0997
Office hours: TBA
gkoz@berkeley.edu
Medieval
Thomas W. Laqueur
Helen Fawcett Professor
3123 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2339
Office hours: Mon. 2-4 in 3123, Th. 2-3 at FSM Cafe
tlaqueur@berkeley.edu
Britain, Late Modern Europe, Science
Emily Mackil
Associate Professor
2312 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2567
Office hours: TBA
emackil@berkeley.edu
Ancient Greece & Rome
Waldo E. Martin
Professor
Alexander F. & May T. Morrison Professorship of American History & Citizenship
2308 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2559
Office hours: TuTh 11-12
wmartin@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Maria Mavroudi
Professor
2223 Dwinelle
(510) 643-4413
Office hours: TBA
mavroudi@berkeley.edu
Byzantine, Science
Massimo Mazzotti
Associate Professor
2209 Dwinelle
(510) 642-5690 / @maxmazzotti
Office hours: Th. 2-3:30
mazzotti@berkeley.edu
Science
Rebecca M. McLennan
Associate Professor
2224 Dwinelle
(510) 642-1436
Office hours: TBA
mclennan@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Maureen C. Miller
Professor
2219 Dwinelle
(510) 642-5678
Office hours: Mon. 2:30-3:30 and by appt.
mcmiller@berkeley.edu
Medieval
Carlos F. Noreña
Associate Professor
2222 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2117
Office hours: Mon. 2-4 and by appt.
norena@berkeley.edu
Ancient Greece & Rome
Michael Nylan
Professor
3212 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2503
Office hours: TBA
mnylan@berkeley.edu
East Asia
Dylan Penningroth
Professor
3118 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2116
Office hours: TBA
dcap@law.berkeley.edu
Mark A. Peterson
Professor
Department Chair
3303 Dwinelle
(510) 642-3402
Office hours: TBA
mark-peterson@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Christine Philliou
Associate Professor
2205 Dwinelle
(510) 642-7104
Office hours: TBA
philliou@berkeley.edu
Middle East
Caitlin C. Rosenthal
Assistant Professor
2225 Dwinelle
(510) 642-5524
Office hours: TBA
crosenthal@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Peter Sahlins
Professor
3214 Dwinelle
(510) 642-1971
Office hours: TBA
sahlins@berkeley.edu
Early Modern Europe
Daniel Sargent
Associate Professor
2215 Dwinelle
(510) 643-3159
Office hours: TBA
daniel.sargent@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Elena A. Schneider
Assistant Professor
2210 Dwinelle
510-642-2495, @ElenaSchneid
Office hours: on leave
eschneider@berkeley.edu
Latin America
Ethan H. Shagan
Professor
3210 Dwinelle
(510) 642-3402
Office hours: on leave
shagan@berkeley.edu
Britain, Early Modern Europe
Jane Shaw
Adjunct Professor
janes@gracecathedral.org Britain
Jonathan Sheehan
Professor
3222 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2272
Office hours: on leave
sheehan@berkeley.edu
Early Modern Europe
Yuri Slezkine
Jane K. Sather Professor
2220 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2224
Office hours: Wed. 2-4
slezkine@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Nicolas Tackett
Associate Professor
2212 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2518
Office hours: On Leave
tackett@berkeley.edu
East Asia
James Vernon
Professor
2214 Dwinelle Hall
(510) 642-2362
Office hours: on leave
jvernon@berkeley.edu
Britain, Late Modern Europe
Wen-hsin Yeh
Richard H. and Laurie C. Morrison Chair Professor
3120 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2437
Office hours: TBA
sha@berkeley.edu
East Asia
Peter B. Zinoman
Professor
2313 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2234
Office hours: TBA
pzinoman@berkeley.edu
Southeast Asia