Faculty

A | B | C | D | E | F | H | J | K | L | M | N | P | R | S | T | V | Y | Z
Name Contact Information Field(s) Research Interests
Diliana Angelova
Associate Professor
423 Doe Library
(510) 643-7290
Office hours: Monday, 4:15-5:15 p.m. (and by appointment)
angelova@berkeley.edu
Byzantine
Stephan H. Astourian
Associate Adjunct Professor
2221 Dwinelle
(510) 643-8872
Office hours: Monday, 4-5pm; Wednesday, 6:30-7:30pm; and by appointment.
astour@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Janaki Bakhle
Associate Professor
3209 Dwinelle
(510) 642-1971
Office hours: On Leave for 2016-2017 Academic Year
jbakhle@berkeley.edu
South Asia
Andrew E. Barshay
Professor
Dr. C. F. Koo and Cecilia Koo Chair in East Asian Studies
2216 Dwinelle
(510) 642-3121
Office hours: Tuesday and Thursday, 12:30-1:30 p.m.
abars@berkeley.edu
East Asia
Mary Elizabeth Berry
Class of 1944 Professor of History
3213 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2504
Office hours: Tuesday 11:15-12:30 and 4:00-5:00, and by appointment
meberry@berkeley.edu
East Asia
Mark Brilliant
Associate Professor
2311 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2118
Office hours: Tuesday (2-3 p.m.) and by appointment
mbrill@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Cathryn Carson
Associate Professor
3221 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2701
Office hours: by appointment, please email !
clcarson@berkeley.edu
Science
Margaret Chowning
Professor
3125 Dwinelle
510-642-1971
Office hours: Monday, 2-4 p.m.
chowning@berkeley.edu
Latin America
John Connelly
Professor
2218 Dwinelle
(510) 642-6779
Office hours: Wednesday, 2-4 p.m.
jfconnel@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Alexander C. Cook
Assistant Professor
3218 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2609
Office hours: Wednesday, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
accook@berkeley.edu
East Asia
Thomas James Dandelet
Professor
2317 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2046
Office hours: Monday (2:30-3:30), Tuesday (12:45-1:45)
tdandelet@berkeley.edu
Early Modern Europe
Brian DeLay
Associate Professor
3219 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2611
delay@berkeley.edu
America since 1607, Latin America
Nicholas Dirks
Professor
Chancellor of University of California, Berkeley
3229 Dwinelle
contact Jennifer Hanson at (510) 642-7464
chancellor@berkeley.edu
South Asia
Sandra Eder
Assistant Professor
2213 Dwinelle
(510) 643-3153
Office hours: Tuesday, 2-4 p.m.
s.eder@berkeley.edu
America since 1607, Science
John M. Efron
Koret Professor of Jewish History
2217 Dwinelle
(510) 643-8887
Office hours: Monday, 2-4 p.m.
efron@berkeley.edu
Jewish, Late Modern Europe
Robin L. Einhorn
Professor
Preston Hotchkis Professor in the History of the United States
3211 Dwinelle
(510) 642-5419
Office hours: Monday and Thursday, 2-3:30 p.m.
einhorn@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Susanna Elm
Professor
Erhman Chair
2310 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2238
Office hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays, 11 a.m. to 12 p.m.
elm@berkeley.edu
Ancient Greece & Rome
Victoria Frede
Associate Professor
3217 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2457
vfrede@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
David Henkin
Professor
2226 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2324
marhevka@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Rebecca Herman
Assistant Professor
2307 Dwinelle
(510) 642-1156
Office hours: On Leave for Fall 2016
rebeccaherman@berkeley.edu
Latin America
Carla Hesse
Peder Sather Professor
3315 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2992
Office hours: Contact Jane Christen jchristen@berkeley.edu for appt.
chesse@berkeley.edu
Early Modern Europe
Stefan-Ludwig Hoffmann
Associate Professor
3215 Dwinelle
(510) 642 3181
Office hours: W 4-5:30
slhoffmann@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers
Assistant Professor
2315 Dwinelle
(510) 642-6146
Office hours: Tuesdays 11:30am-1:30pm
sejr@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Abhishek Kaicker
Assistant Professor
3216 Dwinelle
(510) 643-3147
Office hours: Wednesday, 2-4 p.m. (by appointment)
kaicker@berkeley.edu
South Asia
Tabitha Kanogo
Professor
3220 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2737
Office hours: Tuesday, 12:15-1:45 p.m.
kanogo@berkeley.edu
Africa
Kerwin L. Klein
Professor
2211 Dwinelle Hall
(510) 643-8857
Office hours: Tuesday (2-3 p.m.) and by appointment
America since 1607
Geoffrey Koziol
Professor
3116 Dwinelle
(510) 642-0997
Office hours: Thursday, 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. (and by appointment)
gkoz@berkeley.edu
Medieval
Thomas W. Laqueur
Helen Fawcett Professor
3123 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2339
Office hours: Wednesdays (2-4 p.m.) and by appointment
tlaqueur@berkeley.edu
Britain, Late Modern Europe, Science
Emily Mackil
Associate Professor
2312 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2567
emackil@berkeley.edu
Ancient Greece & Rome
Waldo E. Martin
Professor
Alexander F. & May T. Morrison Professorship of American History & Citizenship
2308 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2559
Office hours: Mondays (2-3:30)
wmartin@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Maria Mavroudi
Professor
2223 Dwinelle
(510) 643-4413
mavroudi@berkeley.edu
Byzantine, Science
Massimo Mazzotti
Associate Professor
2209 Dwinelle
(510) 642-5690 / @maxmazzotti
Office hours: Monday, 2-4 p.m.
mazzotti@berkeley.edu
Science
Rebecca M. McLennan
Associate Professor
2224 Dwinelle
(510) 642-1436
Office hours: Monday, 4-6 p.m.
mclennan@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Maureen C. Miller
Professor
2219 Dwinelle
(510) 642-5678
Office hours: Monday (4:15-5 p.m.) and Wednesday (1:30-2:30 p.m.)
mcmiller@berkeley.edu
Medieval
Carlos F. Noreña
Associate Professor
2222 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2117
Office hours: Monday 2-4 (and by appt.)
norena@berkeley.edu
Ancient Greece & Rome
Michael Nylan
Professor
3212 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2503
Office hours: On leave -- by appointment only
mnylan@berkeley.edu
East Asia
Dylan C. Penningroth
Professor
3118 Dwinelle or 423 North Addition
(510) 664-4985
Office hours: Friday, 2:30-4:30 p.m. in 423 Boalt Hall
dcap@law.berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Mark A. Peterson
Professor
Department Chair
3303 Dwinelle
(510) 642-3402
Office hours: Tuesday & Thursday, 1-2 p.m.
mark-peterson@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Christine Philliou
Associate Professor
2205 Dwinelle
(510) 642-7104
Office hours: Tuesday, 9:30-11:30 a.m.
philliou@berkeley.edu
Middle East
Caitlin C. Rosenthal
Assistant Professor
2225 Dwinelle
(510) 642-5524
crosenthal@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Peter Sahlins
Professor
3214 Dwinelle
(510) 642-1971
Office hours: 265 Evans Hall: Tue. 1-4, Thurs. 1-4, or by appt.
sahlins@berkeley.edu
Early Modern Europe
Daniel Sargent
Associate Professor
2215 Dwinelle
(510) 643-3159
Office hours: by appointment
daniel.sargent@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Elena A. Schneider
Assistant Professor
2210 Dwinelle
510-642-2495, @ElenaSchneid
Office hours: Tuesdays 2-3pm, Thursdays 3-4pm, & by appointment
eschneider@berkeley.edu
Latin America
Ethan H. Shagan
Professor
3210 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2534
Office hours: Tuesdays (2-4 p.m.)
shagan@berkeley.edu
Britain, Early Modern Europe
Jonathan Sheehan
Professor
3222 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2272
Office hours: 3222 Dwinelle, Mon 2-4
sheehan@berkeley.edu
Early Modern Europe
Yuri Slezkine
Jane K. Sather Professor
2220 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2224
Office hours: Wednesday, 3-4 p.m.
slezkine@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Nicolas Tackett
Associate Professor
2212 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2518
Office hours: Thursday, 1:30-3:20 p.m.
tackett@berkeley.edu
East Asia
James Vernon
Professor
2214 Dwinelle Hall
(510) 642-2362
Office hours: Monday (4-6 p.m.)
jvernon@berkeley.edu
Britain, Late Modern Europe
Wen-hsin Yeh
Richard H. and Laurie C. Morrison Chair Professor
3120 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2437
Office hours: Tuesday (2:15-3:15 p.m.) and by appointment
sha@berkeley.edu
East Asia
Peter B. Zinoman
Professor
2313 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2234
Office hours: Monday, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
pzinoman@berkeley.edu
Southeast Asia