Faculty

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | V | Y | Z
Name Contact Information Field(s)
Margaret Lavinia Anderson
Professor Emerita
Professor of the Graduate School
mlavinia@berkeley.edu Late Modern Europe
Stephan Astourian
Assistant Adjunct Professor
2221 Dwinelle
(510) 643-8872
Office hours: Tuesday 2:30-3:30, Thursday 5-6
astour@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Janaki Bakhle
Associate Professor
3329 Dwinelle
(510) 642-1971
South Asia
Andrew E. Barshay
Professor
Dr. C. F. Koo and Cecilia Koo Chair in East Asian Studies
2216 Dwinelle
(510) 642-3121
Office hours: Thursday 11-12:30
abars@berkeley.edu
East Asia
Mary Elizabeth Berry
Class of 1944 Professor of History
3213 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2504
Office hours: Tuesday 11:15-1:30 and by appointment
meberry@berkeley.edu
East Asia
Mark Brilliant
Associate Professor
2311 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2118
Office hours: Tuesday 2-3 & Thursday 11:10-12:10
mbrill@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Richard Cándida-Smith
Professor
2207 Dwinelle
(510) 643-4787
Office hours: Monday & Wednesday 2:30-4
candidas@berkeley.edu
America since 1607, Late Modern Europe
Cathryn Carson
Associate Professor
3221 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2701
Office hours: Wednesday & Thursday 5-6
clcarson@berkeley.edu
Science
Margaret Chowning
Professor
3125 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2415
Office hours: Tuesday and Thursday 10-12
chowning@berkeley.edu
Latin America
John Connelly
Professor
2218 Dwinelle Hall
(510) 642-6779
Office hours: on leave
jfconnel@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Alexander C. Cook
Assistant Professor
3218 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2609
Office hours: Tuesday 11-1
accook@berkeley.edu
East Asia
Thomas James Dandelet
Associate Professor
2317 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2046
Office hours: Tuesday & Thursday 11:30-12:15 and by appt.
tdandelet@berkeley.edu
Early Modern Europe
Brian DeLay
Associate Professor
3219 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2611
Office hours: on leave
delay@berkeley.edu
America since 1607, Latin America
Nicholas Dirks
Professor
Chancellor of University of California, Berkeley
3229 Dwinelle
contact Jennifer Hanson at (510) 642-7464
chancellor@berkeley.edu
South Asia
John M. Efron
Koret Professor
2217 Dwinelle
(510) 643-8887
Office hours: TBA
efron@berkeley.edu
Jewish, Late Modern Europe
Robin L. Einhorn
Professor
Preston Hotchkis Professor in the History of the United States
3211 Dwinelle
(510) 642-5419
Office hours: Wednesday 1-2:30, Thursday 1-2
einhorn@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Susanna Elm
Professor
2310 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2238
Office hours: on leave
elm@berkeley.edu
Ancient Greece & Rome
Paula S. Fass
Margaret S. Byrne Professor Emerita
Professor of the Graduate School
2415 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2139
psfass@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Victoria Frede
Associate Professor
3217 Dwinelle Hall
(510) 642-2457
Office hours: Tuesday and Wednesday 1-2
vfrede@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Emily Gottreich
Associate Adjunct Professor
340 Stephens Hall
510-642-8208
emilyrg@berkeley.edu
Jewish, Middle East
David Henkin
Professor
2226 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2324
Office hours: Monday and Tuesday, 2-3
marhevka@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Carla Hesse
Peder Sather Professor
3315 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2992
Office hours: by appointment
chesse@berkeley.edu
Early Modern Europe
Stefan-Ludwig Hoffmann
Associate Professor
3215 Dwinelle
(510) 642 3181
Office hours: W 4-5:30
slhoffmann@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
David Hollinger
Preston Hotchkis Professor Emeritus
Professor of the Graduate School
2123 Dwinelle
(510) 642-6822
Office hours: by appointment
davidhol@berkeley.edu
America since 1607, Science
Martin E. Jay
Ehrman Professor
3321 Dwinelle
(510) 642-7218
Office hours: Wednesday 2-4
martjay@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
A. Kaicker
Tabitha Kanogo
Professor
3220 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2737
Office hours: Tuesday and Thursday 1-2
kanogo@berkeley.edu
Africa
Kerwin L. Klein
Professor
2211 Dwinelle Hall
(510) 643-8857
Office hours: Tuesday 2-3:30 and by appointment
America since 1607
Geoffrey Koziol
Professor
3116 Dwinelle
(510) 642-0997
Office hours: Thursday 3:30-5
gkoz@berkeley.edu
Medieval
Thomas W. Laqueur
Helen Fawcett Professor
3123 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2339
Office hours: Tuesday 2:30-4, Thursday 10-12, and by appt.
tlaqueur@berkeley.edu
Britain, Late Modern Europe, Science
John Lesch
Professor of the Graduate School
Professor Emeritus
(510) 642-5524
jlesch@berkeley.edu
Science
Emily Mackil
Associate Professor
2312 Dwinelle Hall
(510) 642-2567
Office hours: on leave
emackil@berkeley.edu
Ancient Greece & Rome
Waldo E. Martin
Professor
Alexander F. & May T. Morrison Professorship of American History & Citizenship
2308 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2559
Office hours: Tuesday & Thursday 12:30-1:30
wmartin@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Maria Mavroudi
Professor
2223 Dwinelle
(510) 642-4413
Office hours: Thursday 5-6 and by appointment
mavroudi@berkeley.edu
Byzantine, Science
Massimo Mazzotti
Associate Professor
3229 Dwinelle Hall
(510) 642-5690 / @maxmazzotti
Office hours: Wed. 2:00-3:00
mazzotti@berkeley.edu
Science
Rebecca M. McLennan
Associate Professor
2224 Dwinelle
(510) 642-1436
Office hours: TBA
mclennan@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Maureen C. Miller
Professor
2219 Dwinelle
(510) 642-5678
Office hours: on leave
mcmiller@berkeley.edu
Medieval
Carlos F. Noreña
Associate Professor
2222 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2117
Office hours: Monday 10-12 and by appointment
norena@berkeley.edu
Ancient Greece & Rome
Michael Nylan
Professor
3212 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2503
Office hours: Monday & Thursday 9-10
mnylan@berkeley.edu
East Asia
Abena Osseo-Asare
Assistant Professor
3323 Dwinelle Hall
Office hours: on leave
osseo@berkeley.edu
Africa, Science
Mark A. Peterson
Professor
2309 Dwinelle Hall
(510) 642-1808
Office hours: Tuesday & Thursday 10-12
mark-peterson@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Caitlin C. Rosenthal
Assistant Professor
2225 Dwinelle
(510) 642-5524
Office hours: Tuesday 12-2:00
crosenthal@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Peter Sahlins
Professor
3214 Dwinelle
(510) 642-1971
Office hours: Tuesday 9-11:30 in 259 Evans; Thursday 9-10 in 3214 Dwinelle and 12 to 1:30 in 259 Evans, or by appt
sahlins@berkeley.edu
Early Modern Europe
Daniel Sargent
Assistant Professor
2215 Dwinelle Hall
(510) 643-3159
Office hours: Wednesday 3-5
daniel.sargent@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Elena A. Schneider
Assistant Professor
2210 Dwinelle
510-642-2495
Office hours: Tuesday 11-12, Thursday 2-3, and by appt.
eschneider@berkeley.edu
Latin America
Ethan H. Shagan
Professor
Department Chair
3303 Dwinelle
(510) 642-3402
Office hours: by appointment
shagan@berkeley.edu
Britain, Early Modern Europe
Jane Shaw
Adjunct Professor
Office hours: by appointment
janes@gracecathedral.org
Britain
Jonathan Sheehan
Associate Professor
3222 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2272
Office hours: Tuesday 3:30-5:30
sheehan@berkeley.edu
Early Modern Europe
Yuri Slezkine
Jane K. Sather Professor
2220 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2224
Office hours: on leave
slezkine@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Tyler Stovall
Professor
2213 Dwinelle
(510) 643-3153
tstovall@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Nicolas Tackett
Associate Professor
2212 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2518
Office hours: Friday 10:10-12:00
tackett@berkeley.edu
East Asia
James Vernon
Professor
2214 Dwinelle Hall
(510) 642-2362
Office hours: Monday 2-4
jvernon@berkeley.edu
Britain, Late Modern Europe
Jan De Vries
Ehrman Professor
3317 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2813
Office hours: Thursday 11-12
devries@berkeley.edu
Economic, Late Modern Europe
Wen-hsin Yeh
Richard H. and Laurie C. Morrison Chair Professor
3209 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2437
Office hours: Thursday 3:45-5:00
sha@berkeley.edu
East Asia
Peter B. Zinoman
Professor
2313 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2234
Office hours: on leave
pzinoman@berkeley.edu
Southeast Asia