Faculty

A | B | C | D | E | F | H | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | V | Y | Z
Name Contact Information Field(s)
Diliana Angelova
Associate Professor
423 Doe Library
(510) 643-7290
Office hours: Monday, 2–4 p.m. in 3213 Dwinelle | Tuesday, 1–2 p.m. in 423 Doe (Fall 2017)
angelova@berkeley.edu
Byzantine
Stephan H. Astourian
Associate Adjunct Professor
2221 Dwinelle
(510) 643-8872
Office hours: Monday, 4–5 p.m. | Wednesday, 6:30–7:30 p.m. (Fall 2017)
astour@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Janaki Bakhle
Associate Professor
3209 Dwinelle
(510) 642-1971
jbakhle@berkeley.edu
South Asia
Andrew E. Barshay
Professor
Dr. C. F. Koo and Cecilia Koo Chair in East Asian Studies
2216 Dwinelle
(510) 642-3121
Office hours: Tuesday/Thursday, 12:30-1:30 p.m. (Fall 2017)
abars@berkeley.edu
East Asia
Mark Brilliant
Associate Professor
2311 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2118
Office hours: Tuesday/Thursday, 11:10 a.m. – 12:10 p.m. (Fall 2017)
mbrill@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Cathryn Carson
Professor
3221 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2701 - Please email where possible
Office hours: Thursday, 2–3 p.m. in Hearst Field Annex B (Starting 9/7) | Friday, 9–10 a.m. in 3221 Dwinelle (Fall 2017)
clcarson@berkeley.edu
Science
Margaret Chowning
Professor
3125 Dwinelle
Office hours: On Leave for Fall 2017
chowning@berkeley.edu
Latin America and the Caribbean
John Connelly
Professor
2218 Dwinelle
(510) 642-6779
Office hours: Tuesday, 2-4 p.m. (Fall 2017)
jfconnel@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Thomas James Dandelet
Professor
2317 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2046
Office hours: Tuesday/Thursday, 2:15–3 p.m. (Fall 2017)
tdandelet@berkeley.edu
Early Modern Europe
Brian DeLay
Associate Professor
3219 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2611
Office hours: On Leave for 2017–2018
delay@berkeley.edu
America since 1607, Latin America and the Caribbean
Nicholas Dirks
Professor
3229 Dwinelle
Office hours: On Leave for 2017–2018
ndirks@berkeley.edu
South Asia
Sandra Eder
Assistant Professor
2213 Dwinelle
(510) 643-3153
Office hours: Tuesday, 2-4 p.m. (Fall 2017)
s.eder@berkeley.edu
Science, America since 1607
John M. Efron
Koret Professor of Jewish History
2217 Dwinelle
(510) 643-8887
Office hours: Monday, 2-4 p.m. (Fall 2017)
efron@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe, Jewish
Robin L. Einhorn
Preston Hotchkis Professor in the History of the United States
3211 Dwinelle
(510) 642-5419
Office hours: Tuesday, 2:30-4 p.m. (Fall 2017)
einhorn@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Susanna Elm
Sidney H. Ehrman Professor of European History
2310 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2238
Office hours: Tuesday/Thursday, 11 a.m. – 12 p.m. (Fall 2017)
elm@berkeley.edu
Ancient Greece and Rome
Victoria Frede
Associate Professor
3217 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2457
Office hours: Tuesday/Wednesday, 2:15–3:15 p.m. (Fall 2017)
vfrede@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Bruce Hall
Associate Professor
3218 Dwinelle Hall
Office hours: Monday, 11 a.m. – 1 p.m. (Fall 2017)
bruce.hall@berkeley.edu
Africa
David Henkin
Professor
2226 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2324
Office hours: Tuesday, 1–2 p.m. and by appointment (Fall 2017)
marhevka@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Rebecca Herman
Assistant Professor
2307 Dwinelle
(510) 642-1156
Office hours: Tuesday, 12:30–2:30 p.m. (Fall 2017)
rebeccaherman@berkeley.edu
Latin America and the Caribbean
Carla Hesse
Dean of Social Sciences
Peder Sather Professor of History
3315 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2992
Office hours: Contact Jane Christen jchristen@berkeley.edu for appt.
chesse@berkeley.edu
Early Modern Europe
Stefan-Ludwig Hoffmann
Associate Professor
3215 Dwinelle
(510) 642 3181
Office hours: On Leave for Fall 2017 and Spring 2018
slhoffmann@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers
Assistant Professor
2315 Dwinelle
Office hours: On Leave: July 1, 2017-June 30, 2018
America since 1607
Abhishek Kaicker
Assistant Professor
3216 Dwinelle
(510) 643-3147
Office hours: Tuesday, 2–4 p.m. (Fall 2017)
kaicker@berkeley.edu
South Asia
Tabitha Kanogo
Professor
3220 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2737
Office hours: Tuesday/Thursday, 3:30–4:30 p.m. (Fall 2017)
kanogo@berkeley.edu
Africa
Geoffrey Koziol
Professor
3116 Dwinelle
(510) 642-0997
Office hours: Monday, 4:15-5:30 p.m. and by appointment (Fall 2017)
gkoz@berkeley.edu
Medieval
Thomas W. Laqueur
Helen Fawcett Professor of History
3123 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2339
Office hours: On Leave for Fall 2017
tlaqueur@berkeley.edu
Science, Britain, Late Modern Europe
Emily Mackil
Associate Professor
2312 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2567
Office hours: Thursday, 11 a.m. – 1 p.m. (Fall 2017)
emackil@berkeley.edu
Ancient Greece and Rome
Waldo E. Martin
Alexander F. & May T. Morrison Professor of American History & Citizenship
2308 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2559
Office hours: Tuesday/Thursday, 2–3 p.m. (Fall 2017)
wmartin@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Maria Mavroudi
Professor
2223 Dwinelle
(510) 643-4413
Office hours: Thursday, 2:15-4 p.m. (Fall 2017)
mavroudi@berkeley.edu
Science, Byzantine
Massimo Mazzotti
Professor
2209 Dwinelle
(510) 642-5690 / @maxmazzotti
Office hours: Monday, 2-3 p.m. (Fall 2017)
mazzotti@berkeley.edu
Science
Rebecca M. McLennan
Associate Professor
2224 Dwinelle
(510) 642-1436
Office hours: Monday, 4-5 p.m. and Wednesday, 1-2 p.m. (Fall 2017)
mclennan@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Maureen C. Miller
Professor
2219 Dwinelle
(510) 642-5678
Office hours: Monday, 2–3:30 p.m. (Fall 2017)
mcmiller@berkeley.edu
Medieval
Carlos F. Noreña
Associate Professor
2222 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2117
Office hours: On Leave for 2017–2018
norena@berkeley.edu
Ancient Greece and Rome
Michael Nylan
Professor
3212 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2503
Office hours: Wednesday, 8:15-10 a.m. and by appointment (Fall 2017)
mnylan@berkeley.edu
East Asia
Vanessa Ogle
Associate Professor
2207 Dwinelle
Office hours: Tuesday/Wednesday, 2–3 p.m. and by appointment (Fall 2017)
vanessa.ogle@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Dylan C. Penningroth
Professor
423 North Addition, Law School
(510) 664-4985
Office hours: Thursday, 2:15–4:15 p.m. (Fall 2017)
dcap@law.berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Mark A. Peterson
Professor
Department Chair
3303 Dwinelle
(510) 642-3402
mark-peterson@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Christine Philliou
Associate Professor
2205 Dwinelle
(510) 642-7104
philliou@berkeley.edu
Middle East
Caitlin C. Rosenthal
Assistant Professor
2225 Dwinelle
(510) 642-5524
Office hours: On Leave for Fall 2017
crosenthal@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Peter Sahlins
Professor
3214 Dwinelle
(510) 642-1971
Office hours: On Leave for 2017–2018
sahlins@berkeley.edu
Early Modern Europe
Daniel Sargent
Associate Professor
2215 Dwinelle
(510) 473-6461
Office hours: Wednesday, 3–5 p.m. (Fall 2017)
daniel.sargent@berkeley.edu
America since 1607
Elena A. Schneider
Assistant Professor
2210 Dwinelle
510-642-2495
Office hours: By appointment
eschneider@berkeley.edu
Latin America and the Caribbean
Ethan H. Shagan
Professor
3210 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2534
Office hours: Wednesday, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. (Fall 2017)
shagan@berkeley.edu
Britain, Early Modern Europe
Jonathan Sheehan
Professor
3222 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2272
Office hours: Tuesday, 2–4 p.m. (Fall 2017)
sheehan@berkeley.edu
Early Modern Europe
Yuri Slezkine
Jane K. Sather Professor of History
2220 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2224
Office hours: Thursday, 12-1 p.m. (Fall 2017)
slezkine@berkeley.edu
Late Modern Europe
Nicolas Tackett
Associate Professor
2212 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2518
Office hours: Thursday, 11:40 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. (Fall 2017)
tackett@berkeley.edu
East Asia
James Vernon
Professor
2214 Dwinelle Hall
(510) 642-2362
Office hours: Monday, 2-4 p.m. (Fall 2017)
jvernon@berkeley.edu
Britain, Late Modern Europe
Wen-hsin Yeh
Richard H. and Laurie C. Morrison Chair Professor
3120 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2437
Office hours: On Leave for 2017–2018
sha@berkeley.edu
East Asia
Peter B. Zinoman
Professor
2313 Dwinelle
(510) 642-2234
Office hours: Tuesday and Thursday, 9–10 a.m. (Fall 2017)
pzinoman@berkeley.edu
Southeast Asia