Office Hours

If office hours are not listed for your instructor, please refer to your course syllabus or contact the instructor via email. Graduate Student Instructors for course sections are listed at the bottom of this page.


Faculty & Lecturers - Spring 2021

All office hours are in PST, unless otherwise stated. 

Name Primary Fields Office Hours Email

Diliana Angelova
Associate Professor

Byzantine

W 2:15 to 3:30pm.
Click here to schedule appointment. 

angelova@berkeley.edu
Stephan H. Astourian
Associate Adjunct Professor
Late Modern Europe W 1:30-3:30pm and by appointment during the week.
Email instructor to schedule a Zoom or over the phone appointment.

astour@berkeley.edu
Janaki Bakhle
Associate Professor
South Asia Contact instructor 
jbakhle@berkeley.edu
Andrew Barshay
Professor
East Asia: Japan Tu/Th 5:00-5:30pm.
Email instructor to schedule appointment. 

abars@berkeley.edu
Christopher Bonura
Visting Lecturer
Ancient

Contact instructor 

bonura@berkeley.edu
Lewis Bremner
Visting Lecturer
East Asia W 12:30-2:00pm and by appointment. Email instructor to schedule appointment. lbremner@berkeley.edu
Mark Brilliant
Associate Professor
North America Tu/Th 11am-12pm. Email instructor to schedule appointment.
mbrill@berkeley.edu
Cathryn Carson
Professor
Science On Leave clcarson@berkeley.edu
Margaret Chowning
Professor
Latin America

Email instructor to schedule appointment.

chowning@berkeley.edu
John Connelly
Professor
Late Modern Europe Contact instructor 
jfconnel@berkeley.edu
Thomas James Dandelet
Professor
Early Modern Europe By appointment with phone or Zoom.
tdandelet@berkeley.edu
Brian DeLay
Associate Professor
North America M 4-5pm; W 5-6pm. 
Email instructor for Zoom link.
delay@berkeley.edu
Nicholas Dirks
Professor
South Asia On Leave ndirks@berkeley.edu
Sandra Eder
Assistant Professor
Science Contact instructor  s.eder@berkeley.edu

Ari Edmundson
Visiting Lecturer

Science Contact instructor  aedmundson@berkeley.edu
John M. Efron
Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe M 2-3pm. Email instructor to schedule appointment.

efron@berkeley.edu
Susanna Elm
Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome On Leave
elm@berkeley.edu
Puck Engman
Assistant Professor
East Asia Click here to make an appointment.  puck.engman@berkeley.edu
Victoria Frede
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe On Leave vfrede@berkeley.edu
Bruce S. Hall
Associate Professor
Africa Wed 10am-12pm
Email instructor to schedule appointment.
bruce.hall@berkeley.edu
David Henkin
Professor
North America Tu, 2:30-3:30 and by appointment.
Email instructor for Zoom link.
marhevka@berkeley.edu

Christoph Hermann
Visiting Lecturer

Late Modern Europe Contact instructor 
hermann@berkeley.edu
Rebecca Herman
Assistant Professor
Latin America

Th 12:40-2pm. Click here to schedule appointment. 

rebeccaherman@berkeley.edu
Carla Hesse
Professor
Early Modern Europe W 4-5pm; Th 3-4 pm; and by appointment. Email instructor to schedule an appointment.  chesse@berkeley.edu
Stefan-Ludwig Hoffmann
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe M 2-3:30
Email instructor for Zoom link.
slhoffmann@berkeley.edu
Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers
Associate Professor
North America W 2:00-4:00pm. Click here to schedule appointment.  sejr@berkeley.edu
Abhishek Kaicker
Associate
Professor
South Asia Contact instructor  kaicker@berkeley.edu
Tabitha Kanogo
Professor
Africa Tu/Th 11am-12pm. Email instructor to schedule appointment.  kanogo@berkeley.edu
Ethan Katz
Associate Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe Contact instructor  ebkatz@berkeley.edu
Geoffrey Koziol
Professor
Medieval Alternating Thursdays (3-4pm) & Fridays (10-11am) for 103B and 4B, by pre-scheduled appointment.
Email instructor to schedule appointment.
gkoz@berkeley.edu
Emily Mackil
Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome Wed 10am-12pm
Click here to schedule appointment. 
emackil@berkeley.edu
Waldo E. Martin
Professor
North America Tu/Th 3:30-4:30pm and by appointment.
Emil instructor to schedule appointment.


wmartin@berkeley.edu
Maria Mavroudi
Professor
Byzantine On Leave

mavroudi@berkeley.edu
Massimo Mazzotti
Professor
Science

Contact instructor 

mazzotti@berkeley.edu
Rebecca M. McLennan
Associate Professor
North America Th 2:10-4pm.
Click here to schedule appointment. 
mclennan@berkeley.edu
Maureen C. Miller
Professor
Medieval

W 3-4pm & by appointment. 
Email instructor to schedule appointment.

mcmiller@berkeley.edu
Hakeem Naim
Visiting Instructor

TH 12:00-1:00 pm. Email instructor to schedule appointment.

Carlos F. Noreña
Associate Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome M 11:00am-12:00pm,
Thur 2:00-3:00pm
Email instructor to schedule appointment.
norena@berkeley.edu
Michael Nylan
Professor
East Asia: China Thurs 3-4pm, and by appointment.
Email instructor to schedule appointment.
mnylan@berkeley.edu
Vanessa Ogle
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe On Leave vanessa.ogle@berkeley.edu
Dylan C. Penningroth
Professor
North America

Email instructor to schedule appointment.

dcap@law.berkeley.edu
Bernadette Pérez
Assistant Professor
North America

Mondays, 10am-12pm. 

Click here to schedule appointment. 

bjperez@berkeley.edu
Christine Philliou
Associate Professor
Middle East Contact instructor  philliou@berkeley.edu
Isabel Richter
DAAD Lecturer
Late Modern Europe Tu 5:30-6:30 pm
Email instructor to schedule appointment.

isabel.richter@berkeley.edu
Caitlin C. Rosenthal
Assistant Professor
North America

Tu/Th, 3:30-5:00pm

Click here to schedule appointment. 

crosenthal@berkeley.edu
Daniel Sargent
Associate Professor
North America Contact instructor  daniel.sargent@berkeley.edu
Karen Sawislak
Visiting Instructor
North America Contact instructor  ksawislak@berkeley.edu
Elena A. Schneider
Associate Professor
Latin America & The Caribbean

W 12-1pm. Click here to schedule appointment. 

eschneider@berkeley.edu
Ethan H. Shagan
Professor
Early Modern Europe M 2-4pm
Email instructor to schedule appointment. 
shagan@berkeley.edu
Jonathan Sheehan
Professor
Early Modern Europe On Leave sheehan@berkeley.edu
Ronit Y. Stahl
Associate Professor
North America Tu 1-2 pm, Wed 9-10 am
Email instructor to schedule appointment.
rystahl@berkeley.edu
Nicolas Tackett
Associate Professor
East Asia: China Contact instructor  tackett@berkeley.edu
Stacey Van Vleet 
Assistant Professor
East Asia, Science Tu 2-4pm or by appointment. Email instructor to schedule appointment. vanvleet@berkeley.edu
James Vernon
Professor
Late Modern Europe, Britain T 1:30-3:30pm
First come, first served; line in waitroom.
jvernon@berkeley.edu
Ashton Wesner
Visiting Lecturer
Science Contact instructor 
ashton.wesner@berkeley.edu
Wen-hsin Yeh
Professor
East Asia: China M 3:00-4:30pm 
Email instructor ro schedule appointment.
sha@berkeley.edu
Peter B. Zinoman
Professor, Department Chair
Southeast Asia Tu/Th 11:15am-12pm. Email instructor ro schedule appointment. pzinoman@berkeley.edu

Graduate Student Instructors by Course Section

Class Section GSI Name Office Hours


History 2 Comparative World History

2 101 Andrew Hardy Friday 1pm-3pm
2 102 Andrew Hardy Friday 1pm-3pm

History 4B Medieval Europe

4B 101 Emily Wang Tuesday 2:30pm-3:00pm, Wednesday 3:30pm-4:00pm
4B 102 Christene Stratman Tuesday 11:30am-12:30pm
4B 103 Emily Wang Tuesday 2:30pm-3:00pm, Wednesday 3:30pm-4:00pm
4B 104 Christene Stratman Tuesday 11:30am-12:30pm


History 5 European Civilization from the Renaissance to the Present

5 101 Sloane Nilsen Thursday 12pm-2pm
5 102 Valentina Viktorovskaia Tuesday 12pm-1pm, Wednesday 6pm-7pm
5 103 Sloane Nilsen Thursday 12pm-2pm
5 104 Valentina Viktorovskaia Tuesday 12pm-1pm, Wednesday 6pm-7pm


History 6B Introduction to Chinese History from the Mongols to Mao

6B 101 Sean Cronan Friday 10am-12pm
6B 102 Mason Hinsdale
6B 103 Mason Hinsdale
6B 104 Sean Cronan Friday 10am-12pm


History 7B The United States from Civil War to Present

7B 101 Serena Wu Wednesday 2pm-4pm
7B 102 Sourav Ghosh Thursday 1pm-3pm
7B 103 Briana Vessells
7B 104 Aparajita Das Friday 9am-11am
7B 105 Rohit Krishnan Monday 12pm-2pm, Tuesday 11am-2pm, Friday 12pm-6pm
7B 106 Rohit Krishnan Monday 12pm-2pm, Tuesday 11am-2pm, Friday 12pm-6pm
7B 107 Richard Smith Wednesday 1pm-2pm
7B 108 Nicole Viglini Wednesday 1pm-2pm
7B 109 Annabel LaBrecque Thursday 9:30am-10:30am
7B 110 Serena Wu Wednesday 2pm-4pm
7B 111 Joseph Ledford Thursday 8:30am-10:30am
7B 112 Annabel LaBrecque Thursday 9:30am-10:30am
7B 113 Sourav Ghosh Thursday 1pm-3pm
7B 114 Briana Vessells
7B 115 Aparajita Das Friday 9am-11am
7B 116 Joseph Ledford Thursday 8:30am-10:30am
7B 117 Richard Smith Wednesday 2pm-3pm


History 8B Modern Latin America

8B 101 Maria Barreiros Almeida Reis Tuesday 3pm-4pm, Wednesday 11am-12pm
8B 102 Maria Barreiros Almeida Reis Tuesday 3pm-4pm, Wednesday 11am-12pm
8B 103 Sarah Sears Thursday 2:30pm-4pm, and by appointment
8B 104 Sarah Sears Thursday 2:30pm-4pm, and by appointment


History 120AC American Environmental and Cultural History

120AC 101 TBA
120AC 102 TBA


History 133B Wall Street/Main Street

133B 101 Cristina Violante Tuesday 12:00pm-1:00pm
133B 102 Cristina Violante Tuesday 12:00pm-1:00pm
133B 103 Grace Goudiss Wednesday 11am-12pm
133B 104 Grace Goudiss Wednesday 11am-12pm


History C139C Civil Rights and Social Movements in U.S. History

C139C 101 Elizabeth Hargrett Wednesday 2pm-4pm
C139C 102 Elizabeth Hargrett Wednesday 2pm-4pm
C139C 103 Amy O'Hearn Tuesday 12:30pm-1:30pm and by appointment
C139C 104 Amy O'Hearn Tuesday 12:30pm-1:30pm and by appointment


History 182AT Science, Technology, and Society (Cal Teach)

182AT 101 Clare Parker Tuesday 12pm-1pm
182AT 102 Clare Parker Tuesday 12pm-1pm


History C184D Human Contexts and Ethics of Data

C184D 101 Eli Wyle Tuesday 10:30am-11:30am, Thursday 10:30am-11:30am
C184D 102 Lois Rosson Tuesday 12pm-1:30pm
C184D 103 Lois Rosson Tuesday 12pm-1:30pm
C184D 104 James Stone Lunde Tuesday 2pm-4pm
C184D 105 Sri Ramesh Monday 2pm-4pm
C184D 106 Eli Wyle Tuesday 10:30am-11:30am, Thursday 10:30am-11:30am
C184D 107 Sri Ramesh Monday 2pm-4pm
C184D 108 James Stone Lunde Tuesday 2pm-4pm


History 190 Soccer: A Global Histrory

190 101 Sam Stubblefield Monday 4pm-5pm,Wednesday 4pm-5pm
190 102 Sam Stubblefield Monday 4pm-5pm,Wednesday 4pm-5pm
190 103 Coleman Mahler Thursday 2pm-3pm
190 104 Anthony Morreale
190 105 Anthony Morreale
190 106 Eva Vaillancourt Friday 2pm-3pm
190 107 Emily Hoge Thursday 1pm-2pm
190 108 Coleman Mahler Thursday 2pm-3pm
190 109 Yotam Tsal Wednesday 1pm-2pm
190 110 Emily Hoge Thursday 1pm-2pm
190 111 Yotam Tsal Wednesday 1pm-2pm