Office Hours

If office hours are not listed for your instructor, please refer to your course syllabus or contact the instructor via email. Graduate Student Instructors for course sections are listed at the bottom of this page.


Faculty & Lecturers

Name Primary Fields Office Hours Email

Diliana Angelova
Associate Professor

Byzantine

2309 Dwinelle

TBD

angelova@berkeley.edu
Stephan H. Astourian
Associate Adjunct Professor
Late Modern Europe 2221 Dwinelle
TBD
astour@berkeley.edu
Janaki Bakhle
Associate Professor
South Asia 3209 Dwinelle
TBD
jbakhle@berkeley.edu
Andrew Barshay
Professor
East Asia: Japan 2216 Dwinelle
TBD
abars@berkeley.edu
Margo Boenig-Liptsin
STS Research Associate
Science Hearst Field Annex B
TBD
mboenigliptsin@berkeley.edu
Christoffer Bovbjerg
Visiting Lecturer
East Asia: Japan 3213 Dwinelle
TBD
bovbjerg@berkeley.edu
Mark Brilliant
Associate Professor
North America 2311 Dwinelle
TBD
mbrill@berkeley.edu
Angelo Caglioti
Visiting Lecturer
Science 2305 Dwinelle
TBD
am.caglioti@berkeley.edu
Cathryn Carson
Professor
Science Hearst Field Annex B22
TBD
clcarson@berkeley.edu
Margaret Chowning
Professor
Latin America 3125 Dwinelle
TBD
chowning@berkeley.edu
John Connelly
Professor
Late Modern Europe 2218 Dwinelle
TBD
jfconnel@berkeley.edu
Thomas James Dandelet
Professor
Early Modern Europe 2317 Dwinelle
TBD
tdandelet@berkeley.edu
Brian DeLay
Associate Professor
North America 3219 Dwinelle
TBD
delay@berkeley.edu
Nicholas Dirks
Professor
South Asia 3224 Dwinelle
On Leave
ndirks@berkeley.edu
Sandra Eder
Assistant Professor
Science 2213 Dwinelle
On Leave
s.eder@berkeley.edu
John M. Efron
Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe 2217 Dwinelle
TBD
efron@berkeley.edu
Robin L. Einhorn
Professor
North America 3211 Dwinelle
On Leave
einhorn@berkeley.edu
Susanna Elm
Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome 2310 Dwinelle
TBD
elm@berkeley.edu
Victoria Frede
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe 3217 Dwinelle
TBD
vfrede@berkeley.edu
Sarah Gold McBride
Visiting Lecturer
North America 2314 Dwinelle
TBD
sarahgoldmcbride@berkeley.edu
Bruce S. Hall
Associate Professor
Africa 3218 Dwinelle
TBD
bruce.hall@berkeley.edu
David Henkin
Professor
North America 2226 Dwinelle
TBD
marhevka@berkeley.edu
Rebecca Herman
Assistant Professor
Latin America 2307 Dwinelle
On Leave
rebeccaherman@berkeley.edu
Carla Hesse
Professor
Early Modern Europe Contact Jane Christen for an appointment chesse@berkeley.edu
Stefan-Ludwig Hoffmann
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe 3215 Dwinelle
TBD
slhoffmann@berkeley.edu
J. Brooks Jessup
Visiting Lecturer
East Asia: China 2305 Dwinelle
TBD
brooks.jessup@berkeley.edu
Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers
Assistant Professor
North America 2315 Dwinelle
TBD
sejr@berkeley.edu
Abhishek Kaicker
Assistant Professor
South Asia 3216 Dwinelle
TBD
kaicker@berkeley.edu
Tabitha Kanogo
Professor
Africa 3220 Dwinelle
On Leave
kanogo@berkeley.edu
Ethan Katz
Associate Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe 2227 Dwinelle
TBD
ebkatz@berkeley.edu
Joseph Kellner
Visiting Lecturer
Late Modern Europe 3118 Dwinelle
TBD
joseph.kellner@berkeley.edu
Geoffrey Koziol
Professor
Medieval 3116 Dwinelle
TBD
gkoz@berkeley.edu
Emily Mackil
Associate Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome 2312 Dwinelle
TBD
emackil@berkeley.edu
Waldo E. Martin
Professor
North America 2308 Dwinelle
TBD
wmartin@berkeley.edu
Maria Mavroudi
Professor
Byzantine 2223 Dwinelle
By Appointment
mavroudi@berkeley.edu
Massimo Mazzotti
Professor
Science 2309 Dwinelle
By Appointment
mazzotti@berkeley.edu
Rebecca M. McLennan
Associate Professor
North America 2224 Dwinelle
By Appointment
mclennan@berkeley.edu
Andrej Milivojević
Visiting Lecturer
Late Modern Europe 3422 Dwinelle
TBD
andrej@berkeley.edu
Maureen C. Miller
Professor
Medieval

2219 Dwinelle
TBD

mcmiller@berkeley.edu
Bonnie Morris
Visiting Lecturer
North America 2309 Dwinelle
TBD
drbon@berkeley.edu
Carlos F. Noreña
Associate Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome 2222 Dwinelle
TBD
norena@berkeley.edu
Michael Nylan
Professor
East Asia: China 3212 Dwinelle
TBD
mnylan@berkeley.edu
Vanessa Ogle
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe 2207 Dwinelle
TBD
vanessa.ogle@berkeley.edu
Dylan C. Penningroth
Professor
North America 423 North Addition (Law)
On Leave
dcap@law.berkeley.edu
Christine Philliou
Associate Professor
Middle East 2205 Dwinelle
On Leave
philliou@berkeley.edu
Archana Prakash
Visiting Lecturer
Middle East

3216 Dwinelle
TBD

archanaprakash@berkeley.edu
Isabel Richter
DAAD Professor
Late Modern Europe 3207 Dwinelle
TBD
isabel.richter@berkeley.edu
Daniel M. Robert
Visiting Lecturer
North America 3422 Dwinelle
TBD
daniel.m.robert@berkeley.edu
Caitlin C. Rosenthal
Assistant Professor
North America 2225 Dwinelle
TBD
crosenthal@berkeley.edu
Peter Sahlins
Professor
Early Modern Europe

3214 Dwinelle
TBD

sahlins@berkeley.edu
Daniel Sargent
Associate Professor
North America 2215 Dwinelle
TBD
daniel.sargent@berkeley.edu
Elena A. Schneider
Assistant Professor
Latin America & The Caribbean

2210 Dwinelle
TBD

eschneider@berkeley.edu
Elizabeth Schwall
Visiting Lecturer
Latin America

2313 Dwinelle
TBD

elizabeth.schwall@berkeley.edu
Ethan H. Shagan
Professor
Early Modern Europe 3210 Dwinelle
TBD
shagan@berkeley.edu
Brendan Shanahan
Visiting Lecturer
North America

3211 Dwinelle
TBD

brendan.shanahan@berkeley.edu
Jonathan Sheehan
Professor
Early Modern Europe 3222 Dwinelle
TBD
sheehan@berkeley.edu
Yuri Slezkine
Professor
Late Modern Europe 2220 Dwinelle
TBD

slezkine@berkeley.edu

Matthew Specter
Visiting Lecturer

Late Modern Europe

3442 Dwinelle
TBD

mspecter@berkeley.edu

Ronit Y. Stahl
Assistant Professor
North America 2211 Dwinelle
TBD
rystahl@berkeley.edu
Nicolas Tackett
Associate Professor
East Asia: China 2212 Dwinelle
On Leave
tackett@berkeley.edu
Jennifer Robin Terry
Visiting Lecturer
North America 2314 Dwinelle
TBD
jenterry@berkeley.edu
James Vernon
Professor
Late Modern Europe, Britain 2214 Dwinelle
TBD
jvernon@berkeley.edu
Wen-hsin Yeh
Professor
East Asia: China 3120 Dwinelle
TBD
sha@berkeley.edu
Peter B. Zinoman
Professor, Department Chair
Southeast Asia 3303 Dwinelle
TBD
pzinoman@berkeley.edu

Graduate Student Instructors by Course Section 

Course

Sections

GSI Name

Email

Office Hours

4B

101/103 Lowish, Thomas thomas.lowish@gmail.com 2104 Dwinelle, Thurs 1-2pm

4B

102/104 Stratman, Christene christene_stratman@berkeley.edu 2104 Dwinelle, Wed 2:30-3:30pm

 6B

101/104 Bobkov, Ilya ilya_bobkov@berkeley.edu 2112 Dwinelle , Fri 2-4pm
6B  105/106

Mahler, Coleman

cmahler@berkeley.edu

2112 Dwinelle , Fri 1-3pm

6B 103/107

Wyle, Elisheva 

elisheva_wyle@berkeley.edu

2112 Dwinelle , Tu 5:30-6:30pm, F 11am-12pm

7B 117

Arnold, Chase

chase.arnold@berkeley.edu

2104 Dwinelle, Tu & Th, 1:30-2:30pm

7B 106/113

Benowitz, Olivia

olivia.benowitz@berkeley.edu

2102 Dwinelle, Mon 9-10am, Wed 2-3pm

7B 109/118

Friedman, Daniel

danielfriedman@berkeley.edu

2101 Dwinelle, Wed 1-3pm

7B 103/114

Hargrett, Elizabeth

elizabeth.hargrett@berkeley.edu

2102 Dwinelle, Mon 3-4pm, Wed 3-4pm

7B 102/104

Leon, Clara

principessa16@gmail.com

2012 Dwinelle, Tu, Th 9-10am

7B 101/105

Nelson, Ryan

sociolgst@yahoo.com

2012 Dwinelle, Mon 1:10-2:10pm, Fr 9:10-10:10am

7B 107/110

Spier, Charli

charli_spier@berkeley.edu

2012 Dwinelle, Th 2-4pm

7B 112/116

Venkatasubramanian, Varsha

varshaoforange94@berkeley.edu

2104 Dwinelle —Fri 1-3pm

7B 111/119

Winter, Suzanne

suzanne.winter@berkeley.edu

2014 Dwinelle, Tu 4:30-6pm

7B 108

Wu, Ching Kit

chingkitwu@berkeley.edu

2014 Dwinelle, Mon 11am-1pm

8B 103/104

Almeida Reis, Maria

maria.reis@berkeley.edu

2108 Dwinelle, Th 3-4pm, Fr 11am-12pm

8B 101/102

Jackson, Kyle

kyle.jackson@berkeley.edu

2108 Dwinelle, Fr 9-11am

C184D 101/105

Chishti, Aneesa

aneesachishti@berkeley.edu

2106 Dwinelle, Wed 10am-12pm

C184D 103/108

DuBois, Maelia

mdubois@berkeley.edu

2106 Dwinelle, Tu 1-3pm

C184D 104

Edmundson, Ari

aedmundson@berkeley.edu

2106 Dwinelle, Mon 2-3pm, Tu 4-5pm

C184D 102/110

Hartono, Paulina

hartono@berkeley.edu

2106 Dwinelle, Tu 10am-12pm

C184D 109/111

Kelly, Daniel

dhkelly@berkeley.edu

2106 Dwinelle, Fr 11am-12pm

C184D 106/107

Mursinna, Jordan

mursinna@berkeley.edu

2106 Dwinelle, Th 11am-12pm, 2-3pm

R1B

Delano, David

david.delano@berkeley.edu

2116 Dwinelle, Tu/Th 10-11am, 4-5pm

R1B

Peel, Sebastian

sebpeel@berkeley.edu

2116 Dwinelle, Tu 9:30-10:30am, Th 3-4pm

103D

Nelson, Robert

robert_nelson@berkeley.edu

2114 Dwinelle, Fr 2-4pm

106B 101/105

Roddy, Daniel

droddy1990@berkeley.edu

2110 Dwinelle, Wed 1-3pm

106B 103/106

Stubblefield, Samuel

samuel_stubblefield@berkeley.edu

2110 Dwinelle, Tu 2-3pm, W 11am-12pm

106B 102/104

Yildiz, Mustafa

mustafa_yildiz@berkeley.edu

2110 Dwinelle, Mon/Fr 4-5pm

125A 101/102

Martin del Campo, Francis

pacomdc@gmail.com

 

133A 102/106

Bender, Noah

noah.bender@berkeley.edu

2112 Dwinelle, Th 1-3pm

133A 101/104

Ford, Caleb

calebjford@berkeley.edu

2112 Dwinelle, Tu 3-5pm

133A 103/105

Wrigley, Claire

cpwrigley@berkeley.edu

2112 Dwinelle, Tu 1-2pm, Wed 9-10am

133B 101/104

Williams, Brandon Kirk

bkwilliams@berkeley.edu

2110 Dwinelle, Tu/Th 11:10am-12pm

133B 102/103

Sangster, Doug

140B 101/102

Fernandez, Evan

evan_fernandez@berkeley.edu

2108 Dwinelle, Tu 1-3pm

162C 105/106

Alie, Remi

remi_alie@berkeley.edu

2108 Dwinelle, Tu 10-11:30am

162C 101/102

Friedman, Sara

sara_friedman@berkeley.edu

2108 Dwinelle, Tu/Th 10-11am

162C 103/104

Morreale, Anthony

amorreale22@berkeley.edu

2108 Dwinelle, Tu/Th 5-6pm

182AT

Schmidt, Henry

henry_schmidt@berkeley.edu

2110 Dwinelle, Tu 2-3pm, Th 11am-12pm