Office Hours

If office hours are not listed for your instructor, please refer to your course syllabus or contact the instructor via email. Graduate Student Instructors for course sections are listed at the bottom of this page.


Faculty & Lecturers

Name Primary Fields Office Hours Email

Diliana Angelova
Associate Professor

Byzantine 2309 Dwinelle
On Leave
angelova@berkeley.edu
Stephan H. Astourian
Associate Adjunct Professor
Late Modern Europe 2221 Dwinelle
Tuesday/Thursday: 11am–12pm
astour@berkeley.edu
Janaki Bakhle
Associate Professor
South Asia 3209 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 10am–12pm
jbakhle@berkeley.edu
Andrew Barshay
Professor
East Asia: Japan 2216 Dwinelle
By Appointment
abars@berkeley.edu
Margo Boenig-Liptsin
STS Research Associate
Science Hearst Field Annex B
Wednesday: 10:30–12:30pm
mboenigliptsin@berkeley.edu
Christoffer Bovbjerg
Visiting Lecturer
East Asia: Japan 3213 Dwinelle
Monday/Wednesday: 3–4pm
bovbjerg@berkeley.edu
Mark Brilliant
Associate Professor
North America 2311 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 12–1pm
mbrill@berkeley.edu
Angelo Caglioti
Visiting Lecturer
Science 2305 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 2–4 p.m.
am.caglioti@berkeley.edu
Cathryn Carson
Professor
Science Hearst Field Annex B22
Monday/Friday: 3–4 pm
clcarson@berkeley.edu
Margaret Chowning
Professor
Latin America 3125 Dwinelle
Thursday: 11am–1pm
chowning@berkeley.edu
John Connelly
Professor
Late Modern Europe 2218 Dwinelle
By Appointment
jfconnel@berkeley.edu
Thomas James Dandelet
Professor
Early Modern Europe 2317 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 3:45–4:30pm
Thursday: 1–1:45pm
tdandelet@berkeley.edu
Brian DeLay
Associate Professor
North America 3219 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 11am–12pm
Thursday: 2:15–3:15pm
delay@berkeley.edu
Nicholas Dirks
Professor
South Asia 3224 Dwinelle
On Leave
ndirks@berkeley.edu
Sandra Eder
Assistant Professor
Science 2213 Dwinelle
On Leave
s.eder@berkeley.edu
John M. Efron
Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe 2217 Dwinelle
Monday: 2–4pm
efron@berkeley.edu
Robin L. Einhorn
Professor
North America 3211 Dwinelle
On Leave
einhorn@berkeley.edu
Susanna Elm
Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome 2310 Dwinelle
Thursday: 1:15–3pm
elm@berkeley.edu
Victoria Frede
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe 3217 Dwinelle
Monday/Tuesday: 2–3pm
vfrede@berkeley.edu
Sarah Gold McBride
Visiting Lecturer
North America 2314 Dwinelle
Monday: 12:30–1:30pm
(and by appointment)
sarahgoldmcbride@berkeley.edu
Bruce S. Hall
Associate Professor
Africa 3218 Dwinelle
By Appointment
bruce.hall@berkeley.edu
David Henkin
Professor
North America 2226 Dwinelle
Wednesday: 12–1pm
(and by appointment)
marhevka@berkeley.edu
Rebecca Herman
Assistant Professor
Latin America 2307 Dwinelle
On Leave
rebeccaherman@berkeley.edu
Carla Hesse
Professor
Early Modern Europe Contact Jane Christen for an appointment chesse@berkeley.edu
Stefan-Ludwig Hoffmann
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe 3215 Dwinelle
Wednesday: 4–5:30pm
slhoffmann@berkeley.edu
J. Brooks Jessup
Visiting Lecturer
East Asia: China 2305 Dwinelle
Friday: 1–3pm
brooks.jessup@berkeley.edu
Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers
Assistant Professor
North America 2315 Dwinelle
On Leave
sejr@berkeley.edu
Abhishek Kaicker
Assistant Professor
South Asia 3216 Dwinelle
On Leave
kaicker@berkeley.edu
Tabitha Kanogo
Professor
Africa 3220 Dwinelle
On Leave
kanogo@berkeley.edu
Ethan Katz
Associate Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe 2227 Dwinelle
Tuesday/Thursday: 1–2pm
(or by appointment)
ebkatz@berkeley.edu
Joseph Kellner
Visiting Lecturer
Late Modern Europe 3118 Dwinelle
Wednesday: 9–11am
joseph.kellner@berkeley.edu
Geoffrey Koziol
Professor
Medieval 3116 Dwinelle
Monday: 2–3:30pm
gkoz@berkeley.edu
Emily Mackil
Associate Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome 2312 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 1–3pm
emackil@berkeley.edu
Waldo E. Martin
Professor
North America 2308 Dwinelle
Thursday: 3:30–5pm
wmartin@berkeley.edu
Maria Mavroudi
Professor
Byzantine 2223 Dwinelle
By Appointment
mavroudi@berkeley.edu
Massimo Mazzotti
Professor
Science 2309 Dwinelle
By Appointment
mazzotti@berkeley.edu
Rebecca M. McLennan
Associate Professor
North America 2224 Dwinelle
By Appointment
mclennan@berkeley.edu
Andrej Milivojević
Visiting Lecturer
Late Modern Europe 3422 Dwinelle
Wednesday: 10am–12pm
andrej@berkeley.edu
Maureen C. Miller
Professor
Medieval 2219 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 12:30–1:30pm
(and by appointment)
mcmiller@berkeley.edu
Bonnie Morris
Visiting Lecturer
North America 2309 Dwinelle
Tuesday/Thursday: 11am–12pm
drbon@berkeley.edu
Carlos F. Noreña
Associate Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome 2222 Dwinelle
Monday: 2–4pm
(and by appointment)
norena@berkeley.edu
Michael Nylan
Professor
East Asia: China 3212 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 2:30–3:30pm
(and by appointment)
mnylan@berkeley.edu
Vanessa Ogle
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe 2207 Dwinelle
On Leave
vanessa.ogle@berkeley.edu
Dylan C. Penningroth
Professor
North America 423 North Addition (Law)
On Leave
dcap@law.berkeley.edu
Christine Philliou
Associate Professor
Middle East 2205 Dwinelle
On Leave
philliou@berkeley.edu
Archana Prakash
Visiting Lecturer
Middle East 3216 Dwinelle
Thursday: 11:30–1:30pm
archanaprakash@berkeley.edu
Isabel Richter
DAAD Professor
Late Modern Europe 3207 Dwinelle
Wednesday: 2–3:30pm
isabel.richter@berkeley.edu
Daniel M. Robert
Visiting Lecturer
North America 3422 Dwinelle
Monday: 11–11:50am
Tuesday: 10:10–11am
(or by appointment)
daniel.m.robert@berkeley.edu
Caitlin C. Rosenthal
Assistant Professor
North America 2225 Dwinelle
Thursday: 1–3pm
Click here to make an appointment
crosenthal@berkeley.edu
Peter Sahlins
Professor
Early Modern Europe

3214 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 2–4pm

265 Evans
Thursday: 2–4pm
Wednesday: 2–5pm

sahlins@berkeley.edu
Daniel Sargent
Associate Professor
North America 2215 Dwinelle
On Leave
daniel.sargent@berkeley.edu
Elena A. Schneider
Assistant Professor
Latin America & The Caribbean

2210 Dwinelle
Thursday: 12:45–2:45pm
Click here to make an appointment

eschneider@berkeley.edu
Elizabeth Schwall
Visiting Lecturer
Latin America

2313 Dwinelle
Thursday: 1–3pm
and by appointment

elizabeth.schwall@berkeley.edu
Ethan H. Shagan
Professor
Early Modern Europe 3210 Dwinelle
Wednesday: 2–4pm
shagan@berkeley.edu
Brendan Shanahan
Visiting Lecturer
North America 3211 Dwinelle
Tuesday/Thursday: 1–2:30pm
brendan.shanahan@berkeley.edu
Jonathan Sheehan
Professor
Early Modern Europe 3222 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 3:40–5:10 pm
sheehan@berkeley.edu
Yuri Slezkine
Professor
Late Modern Europe 2220 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 3-4pm
slezkine@berkeley.edu
Ronit Y. Stahl
Assistant Professor
North America 2211 Dwinelle
Wednesday: 10am–12pm
rystahl@berkeley.edu
Nicolas Tackett
Associate Professor
East Asia: China 2212 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 11am – 1pm
tackett@berkeley.edu
Jennifer Robin Terry
Visiting Lecturer
North America 2314 Dwinelle
Wednesday: 3–4pm
(and by appointment)
jenterry@berkeley.edu
James Vernon
Professor
Late Modern Europe, Britain 2214 Dwinelle
Thursday: 1–3pm
jvernon@berkeley.edu
Wen-hsin Yeh
Professor
East Asia: China 3120 Dwinelle
Monday: 9–10am
(and by appointment)
sha@berkeley.edu
Peter B. Zinoman
Professor, Department Chair
Southeast Asia 3303 Dwinelle
Thursday: 9–11am
pzinoman@berkeley.edu

Graduate Student Instructors by Course Section

Course

Sections

GSI Name

Email

Office Hours

R1B

1

Yu, Gloria

gloria.yu@berkeley.edu

2116 Dwinelle — Tuesday, 10am–12pm

R1B

2

Kempf, Elena

elenakempf@berkeley.edu

2116 Dwinelle — Tuesday, 9:45–11:45am

4A

102/103

Daukas, John

jpdaukas@berkeley.edu

2104 Dwinelle

4A

101/105

Michelli, Peter

pm15@berkeley.edu

2104 Dwinelle — Tuesday, 12:30–1:30pm

4A

104/106

Stubblefield, Samuel

samuel_stubblefield@berkeley.edu

2104 Dwinelle — Wednesday, 1–3pm

5

104/105

Alie, Remi

remi_alie@berkeley.edu

2106 Dwinelle

5

103/106

Vaillancourt, Eva

e_vaillancourt@berkeley.edu

2106 Dwinelle

5

101/108

Wrigley, Claire

cpwrigley@berkeley.edu

2106 Dwinelle

6A

102/104

Bobkov, Ilya

ilya_bobkov@berkeley.edu

2112 Dwinelle — Friday, 1–3pm

6A

101/103

Watson, Jesse

jdwatson@berkeley.edu

2112 Dwinelle — Wednesday, 2–4pm

7A

102/105

Daniels, Benjamin

benjammin@berkeley.edu

2102 Dwinelle

7A

101/108

Hargrett, Elizabeth

elizabeth.hargrett@berkeley.edu

2102 Dwinelle — Monday, 11am–12pm and Thursday, 3–4pm

7A

107/109

Jackson, Kyle

kyle.jackson@berkeley.edu

2102 Dwinelle

7A

106/111

Kelly, Daniel

dhkelly@berkeley.edu

2102 Dwinelle

7A

112/104

Smelkowska, Agnieska

agnessmelkowska@berkeley.edu

2102 Dwinelle

7A

103/113

Venkatasubramanian, Varsha

varshaoforange94@berkeley.edu

2102 Dwinelle — Wednesday, 3–5pm

7A

110

Viglini, Nicole

nicole.viglini@berkeley.edu

2102 Dwinelle — Monday, 11am–12pm (and by appointment)

8A

101/102

Almeida Reis, Maria

maria.reis@berkeley.edu

2106 Dwinelle — Tuesday, 11am–12pm and Friday, 1–4pm

10

101/102

Bowen, Daniel

daniel_bowen@berkeley.edu

2104 Dwinelle — Tuesday, 2–4pm

11

101/103

Ghosh, Sourav

sourav@berkeley.edu

2104 Dwinelle

11

102/104

Otto, Brent

botto@berkeley.edu

2104 Dwinelle — Wednesday, 2–4pm

12

102/103

Hekking, Lee

hekking@berkeley.edu

2110 Dwinelle — Monday, 9–11am

12

101/104

Sabri, Mariam

mariam_sabri@berkeley.edu

2110 Dwinelle — Monday, 9–11am

14

103/104

Contstantino, Nicholas

nconstantino@berkeley.edu

2104 Dwinelle — Monday, 1–2pm and Friday, 11am–12pm

14

101/102

Forgash, Kaitlin

forgash@berkeley.edu

2104 Dwinelle — Monday/Wednesday, 11am–12pm

30

101/104

Mahler, Coleman

cmahler@berkeley.edu

2108 Dwinelle — Friday, 1–3pm

30

103/105

Morreale, Anthony

amorreale22@berkeley.edu

2108 Dwinelle

30

102/106

Mursinna, Jordan

mursinna@berkeley.edu

2108 Dwinelle

100D.001

101/102

Landress, Dana

dana_landress@berkeley.edu

2108 Dwinelle

100D.002

1

Jamieson, J.T.

jtjamieson@berkeley.edu

2114 Dwinelle — Wednesday, 11:30am–2pm

103A

1

Blunda, Christopher

cblunda@berkeley.edu

2116 Dwinelle — Monday, 8–10am

103B

4

Pattison, Joel

jpatt12@berkeley.edu

2116 Dwinelle — Tuesday/Thursday, 2–3pm

103D

1

Gregory, Anthony

anthony.gregory@berkeley.edu

2116 Dwinelle — Monday, 2:30–4pm (and by appointment)

125B

101/102

Buck, Xavier

xavierbuck@berkeley.edu

2114 Dwinelle — Thursday, 12–2pm

142

102/104

Fernández, Evan

evan_fernandez@berkeley.edu

2106 Dwinelle — Thursday, 12:30–2:30pm

142

101/103

Miney, Helen

helen_miney@berkeley.edu

2106 Dwinelle

151C

101/102

Lawson, Christopher

christopher.lawson@berkeley.edu

2114 Dwinelle — Wednesday, 9:30–11:30am

180T

101

King, Harrison

king_harrison@berkeley.edu

2116 Dwinelle

C182C

103/104

Edmundson, Ari

aedmundson@berkeley.edu

2110 Dwinelle

C182C

101/106

Kesari, Aniket

akesari@berkeley.edu

2110 Dwinelle

C182C

107/108

Schmidt, Henry

henry_schmidt@berkeley.edu

2110 Dwinelle

C182C

102/105

Zurbach, Christin

czurbach@berkeley.edu

2110 Dwinelle

C187

103/106

Bender, Noah

noah.bender@berkeley.edu

2112 Dwinelle — Friday, 1–3pm

C187

102/104

Ledford, Joseph

joseph_ledford@berkeley.edu

2112 Dwinelle — Tuesday, 3:30–5:30pm

C187

101/105

Passman, Joseph

joseph.passman@berkeley.edu

2112 Dwinelle

C187

107/108

Spier, Charli

chari_spier@berkeley.edu

2112 Dwinelle — Thursday, 2–4pm