Office Hours

If office hours are not listed for your instructor, please refer to your course syllabus or contact the instructor via email. Graduate Student Instructors for course sections are listed at the bottom of this page.


Faculty & Lecturers

 

Name Primary Fields Office Hours Email

Diliana Angelova
Associate Professor

Byzantine

2309 Dwinelle
M 3:30-4:30pm and by appointment

angelova@berkeley.edu
Stephan H. Astourian
Associate Adjunct Professor
Late Modern Europe 2221 Dwinelle
Tu 3:30-4pm
astour@berkeley.edu
Janaki Bakhle
Associate Professor
South Asia 3209 Dwinelle
Tu 10-12
jbakhle@berkeley.edu
Andrew Barshay
Professor
East Asia: Japan 2216 Dwinelle
W 11:15am-12:15pm
abars@berkeley.edu
Margo Boenig-Liptsin
Visiting Lecturer
Science

Hearst Field Annex B (Please ring door bell and I will answer.
Tu 1-3pm

mboenigliptsin@berkeley.edu
Mark Brilliant
Associate Professor
North America 2311 Dwinelle
Tu/Th 11:10-12:10
mbrill@berkeley.edu
Cathryn Carson
Professor
Science Hearst Field Annex B22

clcarson@berkeley.edu
Margaret Chowning
Professor
Latin America

3125 Dwinelle
Th: 2:15-4:15pm

chowning@berkeley.edu
John Connelly
Professor
Late Modern Europe 2218 Dwinelle
jfconnel@berkeley.edu
Thomas James Dandelet
Professor
Early Modern Europe 2317 Dwinelle
tdandelet@berkeley.edu
Brian DeLay
Associate Professor
North America 3219 Dwinelle
On Leave
delay@berkeley.edu
Nicholas Dirks
Professor
South Asia 3224 Dwinelle
On Leave

ndirks@berkeley.edu
Sandra Eder
Assistant Professor
Science 2213 Dwinelle
M 2-3:30pm
Sign up here: https://www.wejoinin.com/sheets/rxqlx

s.eder@berkeley.edu

Ari Edmundson
Visiting Lecturer

Science 2314 Dwinelle

Tu 11am-12pm, 2-3pm

aedmundson@berkeley.edu
John M. Efron
Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe 2217 Dwinelle

efron@berkeley.edu
Susanna Elm
Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome 2310 Dwinelle
Tu 3pm-5pm
elm@berkeley.edu
Victoria Frede
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe 3217 Dwinelle
M 2-3pm, Tu 11am-12pm, and by appointment 

vfrede@berkeley.edu
Bruce S. Hall
Associate Professor
Africa 3218 Dwinelle
W 1-3pm

bruce.hall@berkeley.edu
David Henkin
Professor
North America 2226 Dwinelle
Tu 2-3pm and by appointment

marhevka@berkeley.edu

Christoph Hermann
Visiting Lecturer

Late Modern Europe 3422 Dwinelle
hermann@berkeley.edu
Rebecca Herman
Assistant Professor
Latin America 2307 Dwinelle
On Leave
rebeccaherman@berkeley.edu
Carla Hesse
Professor
Early Modern Europe 3315 Dwinelle
On Leave
chesse@berkeley.edu
Stefan-Ludwig Hoffmann
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe 3215 Dwinelle
Tu 5-6pm

slhoffmann@berkeley.edu
J. Brooks Jessup
Visiting Lecturer
East Asia: China 3224 Dwinelle
M 3-5pm

brooks.jessup@berkeley.edu
Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers
Associate Professor
North America 2315 Dwinelle
Thursdays By Appointment Only. Office hours will be held via Zoom until further notice. You can join here: https://berkeley.zoom.us/j/7892058369

 

sejr@berkeley.edu
Abhishek Kaicker
Assistant Professor
South Asia 3216 Dwinelle

kaicker@berkeley.edu
Tabitha Kanogo
Professor
Africa 3220 Dwinelle

kanogo@berkeley.edu
Ethan Katz
Associate Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe 2227 Dwinelle
Tu/Th 2:30pm-3:30 pm

ebkatz@berkeley.edu
Joseph Kellner
Visiting Lecturer
Late Modern Europe 3422 Dwinelle
Tu 8:30-10:30am

joseph.kellner@berkeley.edu
Geoffrey Koziol
Professor
Medieval 3116 Dwinelle
Th 2:30–4:30pm and by apppointment.

gkoz@berkeley.edu
Peiting Li
Visiting Instructor
East Asia

2326 Dwinelle
M/W 12:30-1:30PM and by appointment.

peiting.c.li@berkeley.edu
Emily Mackil
Associate Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome 2312 Dwinelle
Th 2-4 pm
emackil@berkeley.edu

Ussama Makdisi
Visiting Professor

Middle East 2220 Dwinelle

makdisi@berkeley.edu
Waldo E. Martin
Professor
North America 2308 Dwinelle
Tu 3:30-4:30pm and by appointment

wmartin@berkeley.edu
Maria Mavroudi
Professor
Byzantine 2223 Dwinelle
W 4-6pm

mavroudi@berkeley.edu
Massimo Mazzotti
Professor
Science 2309 Dwinelle

mazzotti@berkeley.edu
Rebecca M. McLennan
Associate Professor
North America 2224 Dwinelle
Th 1:30-3:30pm
mclennan@berkeley.edu
Maureen C. Miller
Professor
Medieval

2219 Dwinelle
Tu 3:40-4:10; Th 11:30am-12pm

mcmiller@berkeley.edu

Raphael Murillo
Visiting Lecturer

Early Modern Europe 3214 Dwinelle
M/W 11:40am-12:40pm
rmurillo@berkeley.edu
Carlos F. Noreña
Associate Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome 2222 Dwinelle
M 2:00-4:00pm and by appointment
norena@berkeley.edu
Natalie Novoa
Visiting Lecturer
North America 3211 Dwinelle
W 2-4pm

thals07@berkeley.edu
Michael Nylan
Professor
East Asia: China 3212 Dwinelle
Tu 4-5pm. By appointment only.

mnylan@berkeley.edu
Vanessa Ogle
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe 2207 Dwinelle vanessa.ogle@berkeley.edu
Dylan C. Penningroth
Professor
North America

423 North Addition (Law)
By appointment only

dcap@law.berkeley.edu
Alexis Peri
Visiting Professor
Late Modern Europe 2218 Dwinelle
Tu 9-10am; Th 2-4pm

alexisperi@berkeley.edu

Christine Philliou
Associate Professor
Middle East 2205 Dwinelle philliou@berkeley.edu
Isabel Richter
DAAD Lecturer
Late Modern Europe 3207 Dwinelle
W 11 am - 1 pm
isabel.richter@berkeley.edu
Caitlin C. Rosenthal
Assistant Professor
North America

2225 Dwinelle
M 10am-12pm, sign up here: https://www.wejoinin.com/sheets/gzmql

crosenthal@berkeley.edu
Daniel Sargent
Associate Professor
North America 2215 Dwinelle
By appointment only
daniel.sargent@berkeley.edu
Elena A. Schneider
Associate Professor
Latin America & The Caribbean

2210 Dwinelle
Tu 2-4pm

eschneider@berkeley.edu
Elizabeth Schwall
Visiting Lecturer
Latin America

2313 Dwinelle
W 2:30-4:30pm

elizabeth.schwall@berkeley.edu
Ethan H. Shagan
Professor
Early Modern Europe 3210 Dwinelle
Th 2-4pm
shagan@berkeley.edu
Kerry Shannon
Visiting Lecturer
East Asia

2314 Dwinelle
Th 12-2pm

kerryshannon@berkeley.edu
Jonathan Sheehan
Professor
Early Modern Europe 3222 Dwinelle
M 3-5pm
sheehan@berkeley.edu
Ronit Y. Stahl
Assistant Professor
North America 2211 Dwinelle
Tu/Th 3:40-4:30pm and by appointment
rystahl@berkeley.edu
Nicolas Tackett
Associate Professor
East Asia: China 2212 Dwinelle
W 11am-12pm; 1-2pm
tackett@berkeley.edu
Jennifer Robin Terry
Visiting Lecturer
North America 3219 Dwinelle
Th 2:15 - 3:30 pm, by appointment. Click here to schedule appointment. 

jenterry@berkeley.edu
James Vernon
Professor
Late Modern Europe, Britain 2214 Dwinelle
M 1-2:45pm
jvernon@berkeley.edu
Ashton Wesner
Visiting Lecturer
Science 2326 Dwinelle
Th 3:45-5pm and by apointment
ashton.wesner@berkeley.edu
Wen-hsin Yeh
Professor
East Asia: China 3120 Dwinelle
Tu 12:45pm-2pm and by appointment
sha@berkeley.edu
Hannah Zeavin
V
isiting Lecturer
Science 443 Wheeler
Fri 9am-12pm
hzeavin@berkeley.edu
Peter B. Zinoman
Professor, Department Chair
Southeast Asia 3303 Dwinelle
Th 10am-12pm
pzinoman@berkeley.edu

Graduate Student Instructors by Course Section 

Course Number  Section(s) Name (Last, First) Office Number Office Hours  Email Address
4A 101 103 Coleman Mahler 2106 Friday 1-3 cmahler@berkeley.edu
4B 103, 104 Wang, Emily 2110 Friday 1-3 emilymy@berkeley.edu
4B 101,102 Wyle, Elisheva 2110 Mon 8:30-9:30 AM, Fri 8:30-9:30 AM eliwyle@berkeley.edu
7B 105, 109 Benowitz, Olivia 2114 Thursday 12:40-1:40
7B 104, 119 Black, Cameron 2114 Thursday, 11-12 cjblack7@berkeley.edu
7B 104, 119 Black, Cameron 2114 Thursday, 1-2 cjblack7@berkeley.edu
7B 107 Gregory, Anthony 2114 Monday, 11:10-12:00
Tuesday, 10:10-10:50
7B 112, 116 Orford, Adam Barrows 399 Thursday 9-10
7B 101, 102 Pham, Loan 2114 Tuesday 10-11 AM loan@berkeley.edu
7B 106 and 108 Winter, Suzanne 2114 Friday 10:30-11:30a or by appointment
8B Tuesday 10-2; Tuesday 4-6 Perez-Leon, Gisselle 2110 Thursday 10:30-11:30am
20 101, 102 Brown, Simon 2106 Thursday 10:30am-12:30pm
20 103, 104 Wyse, Madeline 2106 Monday 11am-1pm
51B 4 Lynd, Hilary 2104 Tu 3-4 (Cafe Strada)
Th 3-4
hilary.lynd@berkeley.edu
100E 101, 102 LaBrecque, Annabel 2106 Wednesdays, 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm
103D Rosson, Lois 2102 Wednesday 10:00 - 12:00 loisrosson@berkeley.edu
103D Section 003 Weber, Russell 2102 Mondays, 1:30-4:30pm rlweber@berkeley.edu
106A 104 and 105 Stubblefield, Samuel 2106 Monday 9-10AM
Tuesday 11AM-12PM
106A 102, 106 Zhang, Zhengyuan (Yuan) 2016 Monday 11-12
Friday 11-12
133 Tu4-5, we1-2 Koscielny Pawel 2112 M12-2
133A 106 & 107 Karina French Barrows 399 Fridays, 12:00 - 1:00 pm, and by appointment ksfrench@berkeley.edu
133A 104 (W 9-10) and 108 (Th 10-11) Randy Clopton N/A Tuesday, 2-3, Qualcomm Cafe and by appointment
133A 101, 102, 109 Yip, Anna Barrows 399 Thursdays 12:40 - 1:40
And by appointment
137 AC 103, 104 Lowish, Thomas 2108 Monday, 10-12
137AC 101, 102 Black, Jennifer 2108 R - 2:10-3p
By appointment
137AC 107, 108 Morreale 2108 Tuesday 2-4
137AC 105, 106 Sype, Eric 2108 Monday 11:00-12:00 or by appointment esype@berkeley.edu
171C 101, 104 Coates, Michael 2108 Friday 1-3 coates@berkeley.edu
171C 102, 103 Joel, Blaze 2108 Monday 12-1
Thursday 10-11
blaze_joel@berkeley.edu
C184D 102, 116 Kaushik, Meena 2112 Wednesday 4-5P
Thursday 10-11A
C184D 108 and 109 Kelly, Daniel 2116 Monday 12-1 and by appointment dhkelly@berkeley.edu
C184D 113 and 115 Kuechle, Kendle 2116 M 4-6pm
C184D 103 Lollo, Niklas 2116 M 2-3p
W 12-1p
lollon@berkeley.edu
C184D DIS 102 and DIS 111 Ramesh, Sri 2116 Mon 11-1PM sriramesh@berkeley.edu
C184D 101, 107 Tom Giudice 2116 W 2-3pm
Th 3-4pm
125B 101, 102 Saunders, Tamar 2112 W 3-5pm
C184D 110 & 112 Dejanipont, Bunyong Berkeley Way West 4104 W 4:30-6:30p
C184D 104, 105 Eimert, Elena 2116 Thursdays from 4:15pm - 6:15pm
Location: Berkeley Espresso (intersection Hearst and Shattuck)
C184D 106 & 114 Wilson, Juliet 2116 Thursdays 1-2PM; Fridays 2-3PM
C184D 113 and 115 Kendle Kuechle 2116 Monday 4-6pm
88 n/a Karns, Jameson 2102 Wednesday, 12-2 j.karns@berkeley.edu
R1B 2 Jamieson, J.T. 2102 Wednesday 2-4pm jtjamieson@berkeley.edu
R1B 3 Killion, Kimberly 2104 Tuesdays 1-2pm
Thursdays 2-3pm
And by appointment
kkillion@berkeley.edu
R1B Mackie, Brendan 2104 Tuesday, by appointment
Thursday 9:30-10:30
bmackie@berkeley.edu
R1B 5 Vale, Peter 2104 Tue 9:30-10:30, Thur 11-12 pvale@berkeley.edu