Office Hours

If office hours are not listed for your instructor, please refer to your course syllabus or contact the instructor via email. Graduate Student Instructors for course sections are listed at the bottom of this page.


Faculty & Lecturers

Office hours for Spring 2020 to be posted shortly

Name Primary Fields Office Hours Email

Diliana Angelova
Associate Professor

Byzantine

2309 Dwinelle

angelova@berkeley.edu
Stephan H. Astourian
Associate Adjunct Professor
Late Modern Europe 2221 Dwinelle
astour@berkeley.edu
Janaki Bakhle
Associate Professor
South Asia 3209 Dwinelle
Tu 10-12
jbakhle@berkeley.edu
Andrew Barshay
Professor
East Asia: Japan 2216 Dwinelle
abars@berkeley.edu
Margo Boenig-Liptsin
Visiting Lecturer
Science Hearst Field
Annex B (Please ring door bell and I will answer.)
Tu 1-3pm



mboenigliptsin@berkeley.edu
Mark Brilliant
Associate Professor
North America 2311 Dwinelle
Tu/Th 11:10-12:10
mbrill@berkeley.edu
Cathryn Carson
Professor
Science Hearst Field Annex B22

clcarson@berkeley.edu
Margaret Chowning
Professor
Latin America 3125 Dwinelle
chowning@berkeley.edu
John Connelly
Professor
Late Modern Europe 2218 Dwinelle
jfconnel@berkeley.edu
Thomas James Dandelet
Professor
Early Modern Europe 2317 Dwinelle
tdandelet@berkeley.edu
Brian DeLay
Associate Professor
North America 3219 Dwinelle
On Leave
delay@berkeley.edu
Nicholas Dirks
Professor
South Asia 3224 Dwinelle

ndirks@berkeley.edu
Sandra Eder
Assistant Professor
Science 2213 Dwinelle
s.eder@berkeley.edu

Ari Edmundson
Visiting Professor

Science 2314 Dwinelle

aedmundson@berkeley.edu
John M. Efron
Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe 2217 Dwinelle

efron@berkeley.edu
Susanna Elm
Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome 2310 Dwinelle
Tu 3pm-4pm; Th 2pm-3pm
elm@berkeley.edu
Victoria Frede
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe 3217 Dwinelle

vfrede@berkeley.edu
Bruce S. Hall
Associate Professor
Africa 3218 Dwinelle
W 1-3pm

bruce.hall@berkeley.edu
David Henkin
Professor
North America 2226 Dwinelle
Tu 2-3pm and by appointment.

marhevka@berkeley.edu

Christoph Hermann
Visiting Lecturer

Late Modern Europe 3422 Dwinelle
hermann@berkeley.edu
Rebecca Herman
Assistant Professor
Latin America 2307 Dwinelle
On Leave
rebeccaherman@berkeley.edu
Carla Hesse
Professor
Early Modern Europe Contact Jane Christen for an appointment chesse@berkeley.edu
Stefan-Ludwig Hoffmann
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe 3215 Dwinelle
Tu 5-6pm

slhoffmann@berkeley.edu
J. Brooks Jessup
Visiting Lecturer
East Asia: China 3224 Dwinelle

brooks.jessup@berkeley.edu
Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers
Associate Professor
North America 2315 Dwinelle

 

sejr@berkeley.edu
Abhishek Kaicker
Assistant Professor
South Asia 3216 Dwinelle

kaicker@berkeley.edu
Tabitha Kanogo
Professor
Africa 3220 Dwinelle

kanogo@berkeley.edu
Ethan Katz
Associate Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe 2227 Dwinelle
Tu/Th 2:30pm-3:30 pm

ebkatz@berkeley.edu
Joseph Kellner
Visiting Lecturer
Late Modern Europe 3422 Dwinelle

joseph.kellner@berkeley.edu
Geoffrey Koziol
Professor
Medieval 3116 Dwinelle

gkoz@berkeley.edu
Emily Mackil
Associate Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome 2312 Dwinelle

emackil@berkeley.edu

Ussama Makdisi
Visiting Professor

Middle East 2220 Dwinelle

makdisi@berkeley.edu
Waldo E. Martin
Professor
North America 2308 Dwinelle

wmartin@berkeley.edu
Maria Mavroudi
Professor
Byzantine 2223 Dwinelle

mavroudi@berkeley.edu
Massimo Mazzotti
Professor
Science 2309 Dwinelle

mazzotti@berkeley.edu
Rebecca M. McLennan
Associate Professor
North America 2224 Dwinelle
By appointment
mclennan@berkeley.edu
Maureen C. Miller
Professor
Medieval

2219 Dwinelle
By appointment only.

mcmiller@berkeley.edu
Bonnie Morris
Visiting Lecturer
North America 3116 Dwinelle drbon@berkeley.edu

Raphael Murillo
Visiting Lecturer

Early Modern Europe 3214 Dwinelle rmurillo@berkeley.edu
Carlos F. Noreña
Associate Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome 2222 Dwinelle
M 2:00-4:00pm and by appointment
norena@berkeley.edu
Natalie Novoa
Visiting Lecturer
North America 3211 Dwinelle
W 2-4pm

thals07@berkeley.edu
Michael Nylan
Professor
East Asia: China 3212 Dwinelle

mnylan@berkeley.edu
Vanessa Ogle
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe 2207 Dwinelle vanessa.ogle@berkeley.edu
Dylan C. Penningroth
Professor
North America 423 North Addition (Law)
dcap@law.berkeley.edu
Alexis Peri
Visiting Professor
Late Modern Europe 2218 Dwinelle
Tu 9-10am;
Th 2-4pm

alexisperi@berkeley.edu

Christine Philliou
Associate Professor
Middle East 2205 Dwinelle philliou@berkeley.edu
Isabel Richter
DAAD Lecturer
Late Modern Europe 3207 Dwinelle
isabel.richter@berkeley.edu
Caitlin C. Rosenthal
Assistant Professor
North America 2225 Dwinelle crosenthal@berkeley.edu
Daniel Sargent
Associate Professor
North America 2215 Dwinelle daniel.sargent@berkeley.edu
Elena A. Schneider
Associate Professor
Latin America & The Caribbean

2210 Dwinelle

eschneider@berkeley.edu
Elizabeth Schwall
Visiting Lecturer
Latin America

2313 Dwinelle

elizabeth.schwall@berkeley.edu
Ethan H. Shagan
Professor
Early Modern Europe 3210 Dwinelle shagan@berkeley.edu
Kerry Shannon
Visiting Lecturer
East Asia

2314 Dwinelle

kerryshannon@berkeley.edu
Jonathan Sheehan
Professor
Early Modern Europe 3222 Dwinelle sheehan@berkeley.edu
Ronit Y. Stahl
Assistant Professor
North America 2211 Dwinelle rystahl@berkeley.edu
Nicolas Tackett
Associate Professor
East Asia: China 2212 Dwinelle
On Leave
tackett@berkeley.edu
Jennifer Robin Terry
Visiting Lecturer
North America 3219 Dwinelle

jenterry@berkeley.edu
James Vernon
Professor
Late Modern Europe, Britain 2214 Dwinelle
M 1-2:45pm
jvernon@berkeley.edu
Ashton Wesner
Visiting Lecturer
Science 2326 Dwinelle
ashton.wesner@berkeley.edu
Wen-hsin Yeh
Professor
East Asia: China 3120 Dwinelle sha@berkeley.edu
Hannah Zeavin
V
isiting Lecturer
Science 443 Wheeler
Fri 9am-12pm
hzeavin@berkeley.edu
Peter B. Zinoman
Professor, Department Chair
Southeast Asia 3303 Dwinelle
Th 10am-12pm
pzinoman@berkeley.edu

Graduate Student Instructors by Course Section 

Office hours for Spring 2020 to be posted shortly