Office Hours

If office hours are not listed for your instructor, please refer to your course syllabus or contact the instructor via email. Graduate Student Instructors for course sections are listed at the bottom of this page.


Faculty & Lecturers - Spring 2022

All office hours are in PST, unless otherwise stated.

Name Primary Fields Office Hours Email

Diliana Angelova
Associate Professor

Byzantine M 4-5 pm. Office hours conducted virtually. Email instructor to schedule. angelova@berkeley.edu
Stephan H. Astourian
Associate Adjunct Professor
Late Modern Europe Tu, Thur 2-3pm in person. Via Zoom and over the phone every weekday from 10am to 8pm by appointment. Email instructor to schedule. astour@berkeley.edu
Janaki Bakhle
Associate Professor
South Asia On leave jbakhle@berkeley.edu
Andrew Barshay
Professor
East Asia: Japan On leave abars@berkeley.edu
Mark Brilliant
Associate Professor
North America On leave mbrill@berkeley.edu
Cathryn Carson
Professor,
Department Chair
Science W 5-6, F 4:15-5:15. Office hours conducted in person and virtually. Click here to schedule appointment. clcarson@berkeley.edu
Margaret Chowning
Professor
Latin America On leave chowning@berkeley.edu
John Connelly
Professor
Late Modern Europe Thur: 2-4pm jfconnel@berkeley.edu
Thomas James Dandelet
Professor
Early Modern Europe On leave tdandelet@berkeley.edu
Brian DeLay
Associate Professor
North America Tu, 11:30am-12:30pm (in person); Weds 5-6pm (virtual). Click here to schedule appointment. delay@berkeley.edu
Nicholas Dirks
Professor
South Asia On leave ndirks@berkeley.edu
Sandra Eder
Assistant Professor
Science
Thursday 12:00- 2:00 pm and by appointment. Click here to schedule.
s.eder@berkeley.edu
John M. Efron
Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe efron@berkeley.edu
Susanna Elm
Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome Tu and Thur 11am-12pm. Office hours conducted in person. Email professor to schedule. elm@berkeley.edu
Puck Engman
Assistant Professor
East Asia Tu, Thur: 2-4 pm. Office hours conducted in person and virtually. Email instructor to schedule appointment. puck.engman@berkeley.edu
Victoria Frede
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe M, Tu from 2-3pm in person and via zoom. To schedule an appointment, click here. vfrede@berkeley.edu
Meg Eppel Gudgeirsson

North America

Tuesdays 10:45-11:45am and by appointment. Office hours conducted in person.Email instructor to schedule appointment.

mgudgeirsson@berkeley.edu
Bruce S. Hall
Associate Professor
Africa Tu 11-1. Office hours conducted in person and virtually. Email instructor to schedule. bruce.hall@berkeley.edu
David Henkin
Professor
North America Tu: 4-5pm in 2226 Dwinelle and by appointment over Zoom. marhevka@berkeley.edu

Christoph Hermann
Visiting Lecturer

Late Modern Europe hermann@berkeley.edu
Rebecca Herman
Assistant Professor
Latin America Thur 11am-12pm and by appointment. Office hours conducted virtually. Click here to schedule appointment.  rebeccaherman@berkeley.edu
Carla Hesse
Professor
Early Modern Europe Thur 3-5pm. Office hours conducted in Person and virtually. Email instructor to schedule. chesse@berkeley.edu
Stefan-Ludwig Hoffmann
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe On leave slhoffmann@berkeley.edu

Robert Iafolla
Visiting Lecturer

Medieval riafolla@berkeley.edu
Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers
Associate Professor
North America Email instructor to schedule. sejr@berkeley.edu

Paula Kabalo
Visiting Professor

Jewish History M, W 10:00-10:45 AM. Office hours conducted In Person and virtually. Email instructor to schedule. pkabalo@gmail.com
Abhishek Kaicker
Associate
Professor
South Asia Click here to schedule office hours. kaicker@berkeley.edu
Tabitha Kanogo
Professor
Africa kanogo@berkeley.edu
Ethan Katz
Associate Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe On leave ebkatz@berkeley.edu
Geoffrey Koziol
Professor
Medieval On partial leave. Office hours by Zoom. Make appointments via email to instructor. gkoz@berkeley.edu
Emily Mackil
Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome

On Leave

emackil@berkeley.edu
Waldo E. Martin
Professor
North America wmartin@berkeley.edu
Maria Mavroudi
Professor
Byzantine Tu, Thur 12:30-1:30. Office hours conducted on Zoom. Please email instructor a day earlier for link. mavroudi@berkeley.edu
Massimo Mazzotti
Professor
Science On leave mazzotti@berkeley.edu
Rebecca M. McLennan
Associate Professor
North America mclennan@berkeley.edu
Maureen C. Miller
Professor
Medieval On leave mcmiller@berkeley.edu
Bonnie J. Morris
Visiting Lecturer
North America Tu, Thur 2-4 pm. Office hours conducted in person. Email instructor to schedule an appointment. drbon@berkeley.edu
Carlos F. Noreña
Associate Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome Tu 10:00am-12:00pm and by appt. Office hours conducted in person and virtually.Email instructor to schedule appointment. norena@berkeley.edu
Michael Nylan
Professor
East Asia: China W 8:30-9:30am in person; Friday, 1-2, by Zoom. Email instructor to schedule.  mnylan@berkeley.edu
Vanessa Ogle
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe vanessa.ogle@berkeley.edu
Dylan C. Penningroth
Professor
North America By appointment. Office hours conducted virtually.Email instructor to schedule. appointment dcap@law.berkeley.edu
Bernadette Pérez
Assistant Professor
North America

M: 10-12

Office hours conducted virtually. Click here to schedule appointment.

bjperez@berkeley.edu
Christine Philliou
Professor
Middle East Thur 11:30 am - 1 pm. Email instructor to schedule. philliou@berkeley.edu
Isabel Richter
DAAD Professor
Late Modern Europe Tu 3-5 pm. Office hours conducted in Person and virtually.Email instructor to schedule appointment. isabel.richter@berkeley.edu
Caitlin C. Rosenthal
Assistant Professor
North America On leave crosenthal@berkeley.edu
Daniel Sargent
Associate Professor
North America Office hours are by appointment and n person.Email instructor to schedule appointment. daniel.sargent@berkeley.edu
Elena A. Schneider
Associate Professor
Latin America & The Caribbean On leave eschneider@berkeley.edu
Ethan H. Shagan
Professor
Early Modern Europe On leave shagan@berkeley.edu
Jonathan Sheehan
Professor
Early Modern Europe Tu: 10-12am. Click here to schedule appointment. sheehan@berkeley.edu

Agnieszka Smelkowska
Visiting Lecturer

Late Modern Europe M, W, F 1-2pm. Office hours conductedIn Person and virtually. Email instructor to schedule. agnessmelkowska@berkeley.edu
Ronit Y. Stahl
Associate Professor
North America Email instructor to schedule appointment. rystahl@berkeley.edu
James Stone-Lunde
Visiting Lecturer

East Asia

Thur, Fri 3-4pm. Office hours conducted in person and virtually.Email instructor to schedule appointment.

james.stonelunde@berkeley.edu
Nicolas Tackett
Associate Professor
East Asia: China Tu, W, Th 2-5pm by appointment only. Email instructor to schedule appointment. tackett@berkeley.edu
Stacey Van Vleet 
Assistant Professor
East Asia, Science Office hours by appointment, and conducted in person and virtually. Click here to schedule. vanvleet@berkeley.edu
James Vernon
Professor
Late Modern Europe, Britain  Tu 2-4pm. Office hours are conducted in person. Email instructor to schedule.  jvernon@berkeley.edu
Wen-hsin Yeh
Professor
East Asia: China Tu: 10am-12pm. Office hours are conducted in person and virtually. Email instructor to schcedule.  sha@berkeley.edu
Peter B. Zinoman
Professor
Southeast Asia On leave pzinoman@berkeley.edu

Graduate Student Instructors by Course Section

Class

Discussion Sections

GSI

Office Hours

Email address

R1B Tracing Networks Across Early Modern Europe

NA Daniel Roddy droddy1990@berkeley.edu

R1B The History of Utopia

NA Christoph Hermann hermann@berkeley.edu

R1B Race and Gender in the Atlantic World

NA Daniel Roddy droddy1990@berkeley.edu

R1B Other Animals in U.S. History

NA Sophie J. Fitzmaurice Monday 1pm-2pm
Wednesday 1pm-2pm
sophie.fitzmaurice@berkeley.edu

1 Global History

101, 104 Sean Cronan Friday 10:00 am-12:00 pm seancronan@berkeley.edu

4B Origins of Western Civilization: Medieval Europe

101, 103 Christene Stratman christene_stratman@berkeley.edu

6A History of China: Origins to the Mongol Conquest

101, 103 Hu Hsu Thursday 11:00 am-12:00 pm huhsu@berkeley.edu

7B Introduction to the History of the United States: The United States from Civil War to Present

101, 102 Jesse Obert Monday 1:00 pm-2:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am-11:00 am
By appointment
jesobert@berkeley.edu
103, 117 Sarah Lee Thursday 9:00 am-11:00 am sarah.j.lee@berkeley.edu
104, 115 Lucayo Casillas lucayo_casillas@berkeley.edu
106, 119 Lianne Koren Wednesday 3:00 pm-5:00 pm liannerobin_koren@berkeley.edu
108, 114 Courtney Bither Thursday 9:00 am-10:00 am, sign up on calendly
Second hour by appointment only
cbither@berkeley.edu
109, 112 Julia Frankenbach Wednesday 2:00 pm-3:00 pm & 5:00 pm-6:00 pm frankenbach@berkeley.edu
111, 113 Alexandra Coakley Tuesday 8:00 am-10:00am alexandracoakley@berkeley.edu
118 Kimberly Killion Tuesday 1:00 pm-2:00 pm kkillion@berkeley.edu

8B Latin American History: Modern Latin America

101, 103 Anayeli Núñez Almengor Thursday 4:00 pm-6:00 pm anayeli.nunez@berkeley.edu
102, 104 Lissett Bastidas Thursday 1:00 pm-2:00 pm, sign up here https://www.wejoinin.com/sheets/wvdqx lbastidas@berkeley.edu

11 India

101, 102 James Stone Lunde Friday 3:00 pm-4:00 pm james.stonelunde@berkeley.edu

14 Introduction to the History of Japan

101, 104 Aidan G. Lee Wednesday 3:00 pm-4:00 pm aidanglee@berkeley.edu

106A Ancient Rome: The Roman Republic

101, 104 Ryan Culpeper Friday 11:00 am to 1:00 pm rl.culpeper@berkeley.edu
102, 103 Leah Borquez Tuesday 2:00 pm-3:00 pm
Wednesday 2:00 pm-3:00 pm
lborquez@berkeley.edu

137AC Immigrants and Immigration as U.S. History

101, 102 J.T. Jamieson Tuesday, 3:15 pm-4:15 pm
By appointment
jtjamieson@berkeley.edu
103, 104 Rohit Krishnan Monday 11:30 am-12:30 pm
Friday 11:30 am-12:30 pm
rohitkrishnan@berkeley.edu
105, 106 Jennifer Black Monday 4:00 pm-5:00 pm
By Appointment
jenniferblack@berkeley.edu

C139C Civil Rights and Social Movements in U.S. History

101, 104 Collin Mazeika Friday 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm; and by appointment collinmazeika@berkeley.edu
102, 103 Rumassah Chohan Monday 3:00 pm-5:00 pm rumassah.chohan@berkeley.edu

162B War and Peace: International Relations since 1914

101, 104 Juliette Rosenthal Monday 12:30 pm-1:30 pm
Tuesday 12:30 pm-1:30 pm
julietterosenthal@berkeley.edu
103, 106 Shaivya Mishra Monday 2:00 pm-3:00 pm
Tuesday 1:00 pm-2:00 pm
shaivya.mishra@berkeley.edu

182AT Science, Technology, and Society (Cal Teach)

101, 102 Ratih Ayu Apsari Monday 10:00 am-12:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am-12:00 pm
ra.apsari@berkeley.edu

C188C Magic, Religion, and Science: The Ancient and Medieval Worlds

101, 103 David Wheeler Tuesday 9:30 am-10:30 am
Wednesday 3:00 pm-4:00 pm
david.wheeler@berkeley.edu
105, 106 Jessica Johnson Friday 4:00 pm-5:00 pm johnson_jessica@berkeley.edu
107 Robert Iafolla Tuesday 1:00 pm-2:30 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am-10:30 am
riafolla@berkeley.edu

190 Soccer: A Global History

101,111 Calvin Paulson Friday 12:00 pm-2:00 pm calvin_paulson@berkeley.edu
102, 108 Aparajita Das Wednesday 9:30 am-10:30 am aparajita_das@berkeley.edu
103 Matt Kovac Thursday 1:00 pm-3:00 pm mkovac@berkeley.edu
104, 105 Adrian North Tuesday 2:00 pm-3:00 pm adrian.north@berkeley.edu
106, 109 Zhengyuan (Yuan) Zhang Tuesday 12:30 pm-1:30pm zhengyuan.zhang@berkeley.edu
107, 110 Valentina Viktorovskaia Wednesday 4:00 pm-5:00 pm vviktorovskaia@berkeley.edu