Office Hours

If office hours are not listed for your instructor, please refer to your course syllabus or contact the instructor via email. Graduate Student Instructors for course sections are listed at the bottom of this page.


Faculty & Lecturers

All office hours are in PST, unless otherwise stated. 

Name Primary Fields Office Hours Email

Diliana Angelova
Associate Professor

Byzantine

Th 3:30-4:45 pm and by appointment. Click here to schedule an appointment.

angelova@berkeley.edu
Stephan H. Astourian
Associate Adjunct Professor
Late Modern Europe Th: 11:30am-12:15pm and 2:15-2:45pm; and by appointment over the phone or via Zoom. Email instructor to schedule appointment.
astour@berkeley.edu
Janaki Bakhle
Associate Professor
South Asia Tu 12-2pm. 
Email instructor to schedule appointment.

jbakhle@berkeley.edu
Andrew Barshay
Professor
East Asia: Japan Email instructor to schedule appointment.
abars@berkeley.edu
Margo Boenig-Liptsin
Visiting Lecturer
Science

Tu 10-11am, 1-2pm. 
Email instructor for Zoom link or to schedule an appointment.

mboenigliptsin@berkeley.edu
Christopher Bonura
Visting Lecturer
Ancient

Fri 11:00am to 12:00pm
Email instructor to schedule appointment.

bonura@berkeley.edu
Lewis Bremner
Visting Lecturer
East Asia Wed  11:30am – 1:00pm, or by appointment. Email instructor to schedule. lbremner@berkeley.edu
Mark Brilliant
Associate Professor
North America M 3-5pm. Email instructor to schedule appointment.
mbrill@berkeley.edu
Cathryn Carson
Professor
Science On leave. clcarson@berkeley.edu
Margaret Chowning
Professor
Latin America

By appointment. Email instructor to schedule appointment.

chowning@berkeley.edu
John Connelly
Professor
Late Modern Europe Thu  1-5pm. Email instructor to schedule appointment.
jfconnel@berkeley.edu
Thomas James Dandelet
Professor
Early Modern Europe Email instructor to schedule appointment.
tdandelet@berkeley.edu
Brian DeLay
Associate Professor
North America Tu, Th 3:30-4:40pm
7a students have links to my office hours. Others should email for appointments.
delay@berkeley.edu
Nicholas Dirks
Professor
South Asia On leave.

ndirks@berkeley.edu
Sandra Eder
Assistant Professor
Science Tu/Th 2-3pm
Click here to schedule an appointment.
s.eder@berkeley.edu

Ari Edmundson
Visiting Lecturer

Science Wed 11am-1pm. 
Email instructor to schedule appointment.
aedmundson@berkeley.edu
John M. Efron
Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe Email instructor to schedule appointment.

efron@berkeley.edu
Susanna Elm
Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome Email instructor to schedule appointment.
elm@berkeley.edu
Victoria Frede
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe M/Thu 2-3pm and by appointment. Email instructor to schedule appointment. vfrede@berkeley.edu
Bruce S. Hall
Associate Professor
Africa M 10am-12pm. Click here to schedule an appointment. 

bruce.hall@berkeley.edu
David Henkin
Professor
North America Email instructor to schedule appointment.

marhevka@berkeley.edu

Christoph Hermann
Visiting Lecturer

Late Modern Europe Email instructor to schedule appointment.
hermann@berkeley.edu
Rebecca Herman
Assistant Professor
Latin America

Tu 12:30-2pm and by appointment.
Click here to schedule an appointment.

rebeccaherman@berkeley.edu
Carla Hesse
Professor
Early Modern Europe Tu 2-4pm. 
Email instructor to schedule an appointment
chesse@berkeley.edu
Stefan-Ludwig Hoffmann
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe W 2-3pm. Email instructor to schedule appointment.

slhoffmann@berkeley.edu
Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers
Associate Professor
North America Th 2-4pm. Email instructor to schedule appointment.

 

sejr@berkeley.edu
Abhishek Kaicker
Assistant Professor
South Asia W 1-3pm. Click here to schedule appointment. kaicker@berkeley.edu
Tabitha Kanogo
Professor
Africa Email instructor to schedule appointment. kanogo@berkeley.edu
Ethan Katz
Associate Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe M/Thu 2:30-3:30pm, by appointment since they are on Zoom. Email instructor to schedule appointment.

ebkatz@berkeley.edu
Geoffrey Koziol
Professor
Medieval Office hours this semester are by appointment only. Email instructor to schedule appointment.

gkoz@berkeley.edu
Emily Mackil
Associate Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome Th 1-3pm. 
Email instructor to schedule appointment.
emackil@berkeley.edu
Waldo E. Martin
Professor
North America Wed-Thurs 4:15-5:15 pm. 
Email instructor to schedule appointment. 


wmartin@berkeley.edu
Maria Mavroudi
Professor
Byzantine Email instructor to schedule appointment.

mavroudi@berkeley.edu
Massimo Mazzotti
Professor
Science Email instructor to schedule appointment.

mazzotti@berkeley.edu
Rebecca M. McLennan
Associate Professor
North America Email instructor to schedule appointment. mclennan@berkeley.edu
Maureen C. Miller
Professor
Medieval

Email instructor to schedule appointment.

mcmiller@berkeley.edu
Carlos F. Noreña
Associate Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome By appointment only. Email instructor for appointment.  norena@berkeley.edu
Michael Nylan
Professor
East Asia: China On Leave. Email for appointment. 

mnylan@berkeley.edu
Vanessa Ogle
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe On leave. vanessa.ogle@berkeley.edu
Dylan C. Penningroth
Professor
North America

Tu and Wed, 2-3pm. Click here to schedule an appointment.

dcap@law.berkeley.edu
Bernadette Pérez
Assistant Professor
North America

M 10am-12pm
Click here to schedule an appointment.

bjperez@berkeley.edu
Christine Philliou
Associate Professor
Middle East On leave. philliou@berkeley.edu
Isabel Richter
DAAD Lecturer
Late Modern Europe W 5-6:30 pm
Email instructor to schedule appointment.

isabel.richter@berkeley.edu
Caitlin C. Rosenthal
Assistant Professor
North America

Tuesdays, 2 4pm 

Click here to schedule an appointment.

crosenthal@berkeley.edu
Daniel Sargent
Associate Professor
North America By appointment only. Email instructor for appointment.  daniel.sargent@berkeley.edu
Karen Sawislak
Visiting Instructor
North America By appointment and Thursday 2-3pm. Email instructor to schedule. ksawislak@berkeley.edu
Elena A. Schneider
Associate Professor
Latin America & The Caribbean

Th 2-3pm and by appointment. Click here to schedule an appointment.

eschneider@berkeley.edu
Ethan H. Shagan
Professor
Early Modern Europe Tu 10am - 12pm. 
Email instructor for zoom link if you are not already taking one of his classes.
shagan@berkeley.edu
Jonathan Sheehan
Professor
Early Modern Europe On leave. sheehan@berkeley.edu
Ronit Y. Stahl
Assistant Professor
North America By appointment only. Email instructor for appointment.  rystahl@berkeley.edu
Nicolas Tackett
Associate Professor
East Asia: China M 9-10; Th 3:30-4:30
Email instructor to schedule appointment.
tackett@berkeley.edu
James Vernon
Professor
Late Modern Europe, Britain Tu 2-4pm. 
Email instructor to schedule appointment
jvernon@berkeley.edu
Ashton Wesner
Visiting Lecturer
Science TBA
ashton.wesner@berkeley.edu
Wen-hsin Yeh
Professor
East Asia: China Tu 10:00am-1:00pm. Email instructor to schedule appointment.  sha@berkeley.edu
Peter B. Zinoman
Professor, Department Chair
Southeast Asia Email instructor to schedule appointment. pzinoman@berkeley.edu

Graduate Student Instructors by Course Section

Class
Section
GSI Name
Office Hours

History 1 Global History

1

101

Klass, Anatol

Friday, 12:00pm-2:00pm

1

102

Cronan, Sean

Friday, 10:00am-12:00pm

1

103

Joel, Blaze

Monday, 12:00pm-1:00pm

1

104

Klass, Anatol

Friday, 12:00pm-2:00pm

1

105

Joel, Blaze

Wednesday, 12:00pm-1:00pm

1

106

Cronan, Sean

Friday, 10:00am-12:00pm


History 4A Origins of Western Civilization: The Ancient Mediterranean World

4A

101

Daukas,John

Monday, 1:00pm-2:00pm

4A

102

Daniels,Benjamin

Wednesday, 12:00pm-2:00pm

4A

103

Hamroun,Mahel

Tuesday, 9:00am-11:00am

4A

104

Daukas,John

Friday, 10:00am-11:00am

4A

105

Daniels,Benjamin

Wednesday, 12:00pm-2:00pm

4A

106

Hamroun,Mahel

Tuesday, 9:00am-11:00am


History 6A History of China: Origins to the Mongol Conquest

6A

101

Hinsdale,Mason

6A

102

Wyle,Elisheva

Monday, 11:00am-12:00pm

6A

103

Hinsdale,Mason

6A

104

Wyle,Elisheva

Friday, 11:00am-12:00pm


History 7A Introduction to the History of the United States: The United States from Settlement to Civil War

7A

101

LeBrecque, Annabel

Wednesday, 9:00am-10:00am

7A

102

Weber, Russell

Monday, 10:30am-11:30am; 2:00pm-3:30pm

7A

103

Fitzmaurice, Sophie

Wednesday, 10:30am-11:30am

7A

104

Vessells, Briana

Monday, 10:30am-11:30am

7A

105

Buck, Xavier

Friday, 1:00pm-3:00pm

7A

106

Vessells, Briana

Wednesday, 10:30am-11:30am

7A

107

Fitzmaurice, Sophie

Wednesday, 11:30am-12:30pm

7A

108

LeBrecque, Annabel

Tuesday, 6:00pm-7:00pm

7A

109

Venkatasubramanian, Varsha

Tuesday, 1:00pm-5:00pm

7A

110

Ramage, Noah

7A

111

Venkatasubramanian, Varsha

Tuesday, 1:00pm-5:00pm

7A

112

Buck, Xavier

Friday, 1:00pm-3:00pm

7A

113

Jackson, Kyle

Friday, 9:00am-11:00am

7A

114

Ramage, Noah

7A

115

Jackson, Kyle

Friday, 9:00am-11:00am

7A

116

Sammons, Franklin

Monday, 10:30am-11:30am

7A

117

Sammons, Franklin

Thursday, 11:30am-12:30pm


History 8A Latin American History: Becoming Latin America, 1492 to 1824

8A

101

Sears,Sarah

Wednesday, 3:30pm-4:20pm

8A

102

Sears,Sarah

Thursday, 12:30pm-1:30pm


History 10 African History

10

101

Krishnan,Rohit

Monday & Friday, 2:00pm-4:00pm (appointment) / Weekdays before 11:00am

10

102

Krishnan,Rohit

Monday & Friday, 2:00pm-4:00pm (appointment) / Weekdays before 11:00am


History 11A The Wonder That Was India: Politics, Culture, and Philosophy in Premodern South Asia

11A

102

Das,Aparajita

Friday, 9:00am-11:00am

11A

103

Das,Aparajita

Friday, 9:00am-11:00am


History 12 The Middle East
12 101 Zurbach,Christin Tuesday, 6:10pm-7:00pm
12 102 Zurbach,Christin Wednesday, 8:00am-8:50am
12 103 Viktorovskaia,Valentina Tuesday, 10:00am-11:00am
12 104 Viktorovskaia,Valentina Wednesday, 6:00pm-7:00pm

History 14 Introduction to the History of Japan
14 101 Hardy, Andrew Friday, 1:00pm-3:00pm
14 102 Stone Lunde, James Wednesday, 3:00pm-5:00pm
14 103 Stone Lunde, James Wednesday, 3:00pm-5:00pm
14 104 Hardy, Andrew Friday, 1:00pm-3:00pm

History 20 Introduction to the History of Religion
20 101 Otto,Brent Tuesday, 11:30am-12:30pm
20 102 Ghosh,Sourav Friday, 9:00am-11:00am
20 103 Brown,Simon Tuesday, 9:30am-10:30am
20 104 Brown,Simon Thursday, 1:00pm-2:00pm
20 105 Otto,Brent Thursday, 9:45am-10:45am
20 106 Ghosh,Sourav Friday, 9:00am-11:00am

History 30 Science and Society
30 101 Mursinna, Jordan Wednesday, 2:00pm-3:00pm
30 102 Sabri, Mariam Wednesday, 9:00am-11:00am
30 103 Mursinna, Jordan Thursday, 2:00pm-3:00pm
30 104 Sabri, Mariam Wednesday, 9:00am-11:00am
30 105 Wrigley, Claire Monday, 3:00pm-4:00pm
30 106 Landress, Dana Wednesday, 9:00am-11:00am
30 107 Wrigley, Claire Wednesday, 3:00pm-4:00pm
30 110 Landress, Dana Wednesday, 9:00am-11:00am

History 100D Disease, Health, and Medicine in American History
100D 101 Winter, Suzanne Friday, 11:00am-12:00pm Appointment Only
100D 102 Winter, Suzanne Friday, 11:00am-12:00pm Appointment Only

100ST Special Topics in the History of Science (CalTeach)
100ST 101 Parker, Clare Tuesday, 12:00pm-1:00pm

106B Ancient Rome: The Roman Empire
106B 101 Michelli, Peter By Appointment
106B 102 Stratman, Christene Wednesday, 10:00am-11:00am; Other times available by aappointment
106B 103 Stratman, Christene Wednesday, 10:00am-11:00am; Other times available by aappointment
106B 104 Michelli, Peter By Appointment

History 142 Cuba in World History
142 101 Pérez-León,Gisselle Monday, 10:00am-12:00pm
142 102 Pérez-León,Gisselle Monday, 10:00am-12:00pm

History 178 History of the Holocaust
178 101 Tsal, Yotam Tuesday, 3:00pm-5:00pm
178 102 Handel, John Wednesday, 2:00pm-4:00pm
178 103 Nilsen, Sloane Thursday, 10:00am-12pm
178 104 Handel, John Wednesday, 2:00pm-4:00pm
178 105 Nilsen, Sloane Thursday, 10:00am-12pm
178 106 Tsal, Yotam Tuesday, 3:00pm-5:00pm

History C184D/Data C104 Human Contexts and Ethics of Data
C184D 101 Ramesh,Srilakshmi Tuesday, 10:00am-12:00pm
C184D 102 Killion,Kimberly Tuesday, 11:00am-12:00pm
C184D 103 Ford,Caleb Thursday, 3:30pm-5:30pm
C184D 104 Smith,Maria Thursday, 10am-12pm by Appointment
C184D 105 Smith,Maria Thursday, 10am-12pm by Appointment
C184D 106 Kuechle,Kendle Monday, 10:30am-11:30am
C184D 107 Rosson,Lois Tuesday, 12:30pm-1:00pm
C184D 108 Torres,Janet
Tuesday, 9:30am-10:30am / 4:10pm-5:10pm; Zoom link in Bcourses/Appointment by e-mail
C184D 109 Kuechle,Kendle Wednesday, 4:00pm-5:00pm
C184D 110 Rosson,Lois Tuesday, 12:30pm-1:00pm
C184D 111 Ramesh,Srilakshmi Tuesday, 10:00am-12:00pm
C184D 112 Ford,Caleb Thursday, 3:30pm-5:30pm
C184D 113 Dejanipont,Bunyong Wednsday, 2:00pm-4:00pm
C184D 114 Schmidt,Henry Tuesday, 2:00pm-3:00pm
C184D 115 Wu,Ching Thursday, 1:00pm-2:00pm, 3:30pm-4:30pm
C184D 116 Wu,Ching Thursday, 1:00pm-2:00pm, 3:30pm-4:30pm
C184D 117 Killion,Kimberly Friday, 9:00am-10:00am
C184D 118 Dejanipont,Bunyong Wednsday, 2:00pm-4:00pm
C184D 119 Torres,Janet
Tuesday, 9:30am-10:30am / 4:10pm-5:10pm; Zoom link in Bcourses/Appointment by e-mail
C184D 120 Schmidt,Henry Friday, 9:00am-10:00am

History C187 The History and Practice of Human Rights
C187 101 Sullivan,Christopher Thursday, 11:00am-12:00pm
C187 102 Fernandez,Evan Tuesday, 1:00pm-3:00pm
C187 103 Solovy,Anna Jayne Wednesday, 10:00am-11:00am by Appointment
C187 104 King,Joseph Harrison Thursday, 12:30-1:30 PM (PST), or by appointment
C187 105 Solovy, Anna Jayne Wednesday, 10:00am-11:00am by Appointment
C187 106 King,Joseph Harrison Thursday, 12:30-1:30 PM (PST), or by appointment
C187 107 Sullivan,Christopher Thursday, 11:00am-12:00pm
C187 108 Fernandez,Evan Tuesday, 1:00pm-3:00pm