Office Hours

If office hours are not listed for your instructor, please refer to your course syllabus or contact the instructor via email. Graduate Student Instructors for course sections are listed at the bottom of this page.


Faculty & Lecturers - Fall 2022

All office hours are in PST, unless otherwise stated.

Name Primary Fields Office Hours Email

Diliana Angelova
Associate Professor

Byzantine

Mon 2:30-3:30 pm, online
Tuesdays 11:30 to 12:30, in person

Email instructor to schedule.

angelova@berkeley.edu
Stephan H. Astourian
Associate Adjunct Professor
Late Modern Europe astour@berkeley.edu
Janaki Bakhle
Associate Professor
South Asia jbakhle@berkeley.edu
Andrew Barshay
Professor
East Asia: Japan Wed 10:30-noon, held virtually.Email instructor to schedule. abars@berkeley.edu
Mark Brilliant
Associate Professor
North America Thur 2-3pm in person. Email instructor to schedule appointment. mbrill@berkeley.edu
Cathryn Carson
Professor,
Department Chair
Science Email instructor to schedule appointment. Appointments available in person and virtually. clcarson@berkeley.edu
Margaret Chowning
Professor
Latin America Tues. 1-3pm, in person and virtually. Email instructor to schedule appointment. chowning@berkeley.edu
John Connelly
Professor
Late Modern Europe Thur 2-4pm. jfconnel@berkeley.edu
Miles Culpepper
Visiting Instructor
Latin America and the Caribbean Wednesday 3-4pm, in person.  culpepper@berkeley.edu
Thomas James Dandelet
Professor
Early Modern Europe Tues/Thur, 3:45-4:30pm and by appointment,in person.Email instructor to schedule appointment.  tdandelet@berkeley.edu
Brian DeLay
Associate Professor
North America Monday 11am-12pm, in person. delay@berkeley.edu
Dzovinar Derderian
Visiting Lecturer
Late Modern Europe Tuesdays 1:00-3:00pm, in person. Email instructor to schedule appointment.  derderian@berkeley.edu
Sandra Eder
Associate Professor
Science

Wed 12:30 -2:30pm, virtually.

Schedule here

s.eder@berkeley.edu
John M. Efron
Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe efron@berkeley.edu
Susanna Elm
Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome elm@berkeley.edu
Puck Engman
Assistant Professor
East Asia puck.engman@berkeley.edu
Victoria Frede
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe vfrede@berkeley.edu
Meg Eppel Gudgeirsson

North America

mgudgeirsson@berkeley.edu
Bruce S. Hall
Associate Professor
Africa On Leave bruce.hall@berkeley.edu
David Henkin
Professor
North America Wednesday 3:30-4:30pm, in person and by appointment over Zoom.Email instructor to schedule. marhevka@berkeley.edu

Christoph Hermann
Visiting Lecturer

Late Modern Europe hermann@berkeley.edu
Rebecca Herman
Assistant Professor
Latin America rebeccaherman@berkeley.edu
Carla Hesse
Professor
Early Modern Europe On leave chesse@berkeley.edu

Hidetaka Hirota
Associate Professor

North America

By appointment,  in person and virtually. Email instructor to schedule appointment. hhirota@berkeley.edu
Stefan-Ludwig Hoffmann
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe Mon 2:30-3:30pm. Email instructor to schedule.  slhoffmann@berkeley.edu

Robert IafollaVisiting Lecturer

Medieval T 10-11:30am; W 1:30-3pmIn person and virtually.Email instructor to schedule appointment. riafolla@berkeley.edu
Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers
Associate Professor
North America sejr@berkeley.edu
Abhishek Kaicker
Associate
Professor
South Asia kaicker@berkeley.edu
Tabitha Kanogo
Professor
Africa kanogo@berkeley.edu
Ethan Katz
Associate Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe ebkatz@berkeley.edu
Kimberly Killion

By Appointment, office hours held virtually.Email instructor to schedule appointment.
Philipp Lenhard
DAAD Professor
Late Modern Europe Wed 10am-12pm, or by appointment. Email instructor to schedule.  plenhard@berkeley.edu
Monica Libell
Visiting Instructor
Late Modern Europe Tuesdays 3:00-5:00in person and virtually.Email instructor to schedule. mlibell@berkeley.edu
Emily Mackil
Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome Th 2-4pm, in person and virtually. Schedule here. emackil@berkeley.edu

Ussama Makdisi
Professor

Middle East
Tu 1-2pm and by appointment. Email instructor to schedule. 
makdisi@berkeley.edu
Waldo E. Martin
Professor
North America Tu, Th 3:30-4:30 pm; and by appointment. Heldin person and virtually.Email instructor to schedule appointment. wmartin@berkeley.edu
Alexander Maurits
STINT Professor
Late Modern Europe Mon 10:30-noon and Wed 2:30-4:00pm, in person. Email instructor to schedule. amaurits@berkeley.edu
Maria Mavroudi
Professor
Byzantine mavroudi@berkeley.edu
Massimo Mazzotti
Professor
Science mazzotti@berkeley.edu
Rebecca M. McLennan
Associate Professor
North America

Wed 3-5pm, held virtually.

Email instructor to schedule appointment.

mclennan@berkeley.edu
Maureen C. Miller
Professor
Medieval Mondays 4-5pm & by appointment.In Person and virtually.Email instructor to schedule. mcmiller@berkeley.edu
Bonnie J. Morris
Visiting Lecturer
North America Tues/Thurs 2:15-4pm, in person. Email instructor to schedule. drbon@berkeley.edu
Carlos F. Noreña
Associate Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome Mon 3-5pm, in person.  norena@berkeley.edu
Michael Nylan
Professor
East Asia: China Fri 8-9am and by appointment. In person. Email instructor to schedule. mnylan@berkeley.edu
Vanessa Ogle
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe vanessa.ogle@berkeley.edu
Dylan C. Penningroth
Professor
North America dcap@law.berkeley.edu
Bernadette Pérez
Assistant Professor
North America On teaching leave, Fall 2022. Virtually email instructor to schedule appointment bjperez@berkeley.edu
Christine Philliou
Professor
Middle East Thur 2:30-4pmin person and virtually. Email instructor to schedule appointment. philliou@berkeley.edu
Rebekah Ramsay
Assistant Professor
Late Modern Europe MTW, 2-4pmin person and virtually.Email instructor to schedule appointment. rebekah.ramsay@berkeley.edu
Caitlin C. Rosenthal
Assistant Professor
North America crosenthal@berkeley.edu
Daniel Sargent
Associate Professor
North America daniel.sargent@berkeley.edu
Elena A. Schneider
Associate Professor
Latin America & The Caribbean eschneider@berkeley.edu
Ethan H. Shagan
Professor
Early Modern Europe Thursdays 2-4pm, in person.Email instructor to schedule appointment. shagan@berkeley.edu
Jonathan Sheehan
Professor
Early Modern Europe sheehan@berkeley.edu
Ronit Y. Stahl
Associate Professor
North America By appointment only, in person and virtually.Email instructor to schedule appointment. rystahl@berkeley.edu
Nicolas Tackett
Associate Professor
East Asia: China
M, W 2-5pm by appointment only.
tackett@berkeley.edu
Stacey Van Vleet 
Assistant Professor
East Asia, Science Office hours by appointment, in Person and virtually. Schedule here. vanvleet@berkeley.edu
James Vernon
Professor
Late Modern Europe, Britain

Wed 2-4pm, in person. 

Schedule here

jvernon@berkeley.edu
Wen-hsin Yeh
Professor
East Asia: China Fri 12-2pm and by appointment. Office hours heldvirtually.Email instructor to schedule appointment. sha@berkeley.edu
Peter B. Zinoman
Professor
Southeast Asia Tu/Thur 11:30-12:15, in person. pzinoman@berkeley.edu

Graduate Student Instructors by Course Section

TBA