Office Hours

If office hours are not listed for your instructor, please refer to your course syllabus or contact the instructor via email. Graduate Student Instructors for course sections are listed at the bottom of this page.


Faculty & Lecturers

Name Primary Fields Office Hours Email

Diliana Angelova
Associate Professor

Byzantine

2309 Dwinelle
TU: 2:15 pm-3:15pm or by appointment.

angelova@berkeley.edu
Stephan H. Astourian
Associate Adjunct Professor
Late Modern Europe 2221 Dwinelle
TU/TH: 12:45-1:45pm
astour@berkeley.edu
Janaki Bakhle
Associate Professor
South Asia 3209 Dwinelle
TBD
jbakhle@berkeley.edu
Andrew Barshay
Professor
East Asia: Japan 2216 Dwinelle
TH: 12:30-1:30pm
abars@berkeley.edu
Margo Boenig-Liptsin
Visiting Lecturer
Science 3422 Dwinelle
TU: 1-3pm Div. of Data Sciences and Information, Hearst Field Annex B, please ring bell and I will answer
mboenigliptsin@berkeley.edu
Mark Brilliant
Associate Professor
North America 2311 Dwinelle
TU/TH: 11am-12pm
mbrill@berkeley.edu
Cathryn Carson
Professor
Science Hearst Field Annex B22
TBD
clcarson@berkeley.edu
Margaret Chowning
Professor
Latin America 3125 Dwinelle
TH: 1:15-3:15pm
chowning@berkeley.edu
John Connelly
Professor
Late Modern Europe 2218 Dwinelle
TH: 2-4pm
jfconnel@berkeley.edu
Thomas James Dandelet
Professor
Early Modern Europe 2317 Dwinelle
TU: 11:30am-12:15pm TH: 2-15pm-3pm and by appointment.
tdandelet@berkeley.edu
Brian DeLay
Associate Professor
North America 3219 Dwinelle
On Leave
delay@berkeley.edu
Nicholas Dirks
Professor
South Asia 3224 Dwinelle
On Leave
ndirks@berkeley.edu
Sandra Eder
Assistant Professor
Science 2213 Dwinelle
M: 2:30-4pm
s.eder@berkeley.edu

Ari Edmundson
Visiting Professor

Science 2314 Dwinelle

M:1-2pm,
W: 11am-12pm

aedmundson@berkeley.edu
John M. Efron
Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe 2217 Dwinelle
M: 2-4pm
efron@berkeley.edu
Susanna Elm
Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome 2310 Dwinelle
TU 3-5pm and by appointment.
elm@berkeley.edu
Victoria Frede
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe 3217 Dwinelle
M:2-3pm
TU: 4-5pm or by appointment.
vfrede@berkeley.edu
Bruce S. Hall
Associate Professor
Africa 3218 Dwinelle
TH: 1-3pm
bruce.hall@berkeley.edu
David Henkin
Professor
North America 2226 Dwinelle
TH: 4-5pm and by appointment.
marhevka@berkeley.edu

Christoph Hermann
Visiting Lecturer

Late Modern Europe 3422 Dwinelle
M: 10-11am
hermann@berkeley.edu
Rebecca Herman
Assistant Professor
Latin America 2307 Dwinelle
On Leave
rebeccaherman@berkeley.edu
Carla Hesse
Professor
Early Modern Europe Contact Jane Christen for an appointment chesse@berkeley.edu
Stefan-Ludwig Hoffmann
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe 3215 Dwinelle
TU: 4-5:30pm and by appointment.
slhoffmann@berkeley.edu
J. Brooks Jessup
Visiting Lecturer
East Asia: China 3224 Dwinelle
F: 3-5pm
brooks.jessup@berkeley.edu
Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers
Associate Professor
North America 2315 Dwinelle

TH, 12:30PM-2:30PM By Appointment 
Sign-up for an appointment by clicking here.

Appointment time slots are 10 minutes each. If you need to speak with me for longer, please sign up for multiple slots. To be fair to others, try to avoid signing up for more than 2.
sejr@berkeley.edu
Abhishek Kaicker
Assistant Professor
South Asia 3216 Dwinelle
TU: 1-3pm
Sign up for an appointment by clicking here
kaicker@berkeley.edu
Tabitha Kanogo
Professor
Africa 3220 Dwinelle
TU/TH: 11:30am -12:30 pm
kanogo@berkeley.edu
Ethan Katz
Associate Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe 2227 Dwinelle
TBD
ebkatz@berkeley.edu
Joseph Kellner
Visiting Lecturer
Late Modern Europe 3422 Dwinelle
TU: 8:30-10:30am
joseph.kellner@berkeley.edu
Geoffrey Koziol
Professor
Medieval 3116 Dwinelle
TBD
gkoz@berkeley.edu
Emily Mackil
Associate Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome 2312 Dwinelle
TH: 1-3pm
emackil@berkeley.edu

Ussama Makdisi
Visiting Lecturer

Middle East 2220 Dwinelle

M/W: 4-5pm 
and by appointment.

makdisi@berkeley.edu
Waldo E. Martin
Professor
North America 2308 Dwinelle
TBD
wmartin@berkeley.edu
Maria Mavroudi
Professor
Byzantine 2223 Dwinelle
By Appointment
mavroudi@berkeley.edu
Massimo Mazzotti
Professor
Science 2309 Dwinelle

M: 3-4pm;
W: 2-3pm
(email me in advance)

mazzotti@berkeley.edu
Rebecca M. McLennan
Associate Professor
North America 2224 Dwinelle
By appointment
mclennan@berkeley.edu
Maureen C. Miller
Professor
Medieval

2219 Dwinelle
By appointment only.

mcmiller@berkeley.edu
Bonnie Morris
Visiting Lecturer
North America 3116 Dwinelle
TU/TH: 2pm-3:30 pm
drbon@berkeley.edu

Raphael Murillo
Visiting Lecturer

Early Modern Europe 3214 Dwinelle
TU/TH: 5pm-6pm and by appointment.
rmurillo@berkeley.edu
Carlos F. Noreña
Associate Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome 2222 Dwinelle
TU: 3-5pm and by appointment.
norena@berkeley.edu
Natalie Novoa
Visiting Lecturer
North America 3211 Dwinelle

M: 2-3pm
W: 2-4pm

thals07@berkeley.edu
Michael Nylan
Professor
East Asia: China 3212 Dwinelle
TU: 4-5pm and by appointment.
mnylan@berkeley.edu
Vanessa Ogle
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe 2207 Dwinelle
TU: 2:30-3:30pm, THU: 2:30-3:30pm and by appointment.
vanessa.ogle@berkeley.edu
Dylan C. Penningroth
Professor
North America 423 North Addition (Law)
M:12:45-1:45pm, TU: 11:30am-12:30pm
dcap@law.berkeley.edu
Christine Philliou
Associate Professor
Middle East 2205 Dwinelle
TH: 10am-12pm
philliou@berkeley.edu
Isabel Richter
DAAD Lecturer
Late Modern Europe 3207 Dwinelle
M 3:30-5 pm
isabel.richter@berkeley.edu
Caitlin C. Rosenthal
Assistant Professor
North America 2225 Dwinelle
TH: 1-3pm (Click here to sign up)
crosenthal@berkeley.edu
Daniel Sargent
Associate Professor
North America 2215 Dwinelle
TH: 2:30-3:30pm
daniel.sargent@berkeley.edu
Elena A. Schneider
Associate Professor
Latin America & The Caribbean

2210 Dwinelle
TBD

eschneider@berkeley.edu
Elizabeth Schwall
Visiting Lecturer
Latin America

2313 Dwinelle
M/W: 3-4pm

elizabeth.schwall@berkeley.edu
Ethan H. Shagan
Professor
Early Modern Europe 3210 Dwinelle
TH: 2-4pm
shagan@berkeley.edu
Kerry Shannon
Visiting Lecturer
East Asia

2314 Dwinelle
TH: 11:30am-1:30pm

kerryshannon@berkeley.edu
Jonathan Sheehan
Professor
Early Modern Europe 3222 Dwinelle
TU: 345-5:15 PM
sheehan@berkeley.edu
Ronit Y. Stahl
Assistant Professor
North America 2211 Dwinelle
TBD
rystahl@berkeley.edu
Nicolas Tackett
Associate Professor
East Asia: China 2212 Dwinelle
On Leave
tackett@berkeley.edu
Jennifer Robin Terry
Visiting Lecturer
North America 3219 Dwinelle
TU 3-5pm
jenterry@berkeley.edu
James Vernon
Professor
Late Modern Europe, Britain 2214 Dwinelle
On Leave
jvernon@berkeley.edu
Ashton Wesner
Visiting Lecturer
Science 2326 Dwinelle
W: 2-3pm and by appointment
ashton.wesner@berkeley.edu
Wen-hsin Yeh
Professor
East Asia: China 3120 Dwinelle
TU: 12-1pm and by appointment.
sha@berkeley.edu
Peter B. Zinoman
Professor, Department Chair
Southeast Asia 3303 Dwinelle
TBD
pzinoman@berkeley.edu

Graduate Student Instructors by Course Section 

Course Sections GSI Name GSI Office (Dwinelle) Office Hours Email
4 101, 106 Hamroun, Mahel 2108 Wednesday, 2:00-4:00 PM mhamroun@berkeley.edu
4A 102, 105 Littlestone-Luria, Adam 2110 Tuesday 12:45-1:45 adamll@berkeley.edu
4A 101 (Tues 2-4pm) and 103 (Wed 5-7pm) Constantino 2110 Thursday 1-2pm nconstantino@berkeley.edu
6A 103 and 104 Klass, Anatol 2104 Monday 12:30-1:30 anatol.klass@berkeley.edu
6A 101, 102 Wang, Emily 2104 Wednesday, 9:30-10:30 am emilymy@berkeley.edu
7A 104,105 Cameron Black 2116 Wednesday 3-4 cjblack7@berkeley.edu
7A 103, 110 Jackson, Kyle 2116 Friday 2-3 kyle.jackson@berkeley.edu
7A 106 and 111 Johnson, Tulasi N/a Weds, noon to 1, Common Grounds, Level G Dwinelle tulasi@berkeley.edu
7A 109, 114 O'Hearn, Amy 2114  Tuesdays, 10-11AM and by appointment aohearn@berkeley.edu
7A 108, 113 Sype, Eric 2116 Wednesday: 11:00am-12:00pm
By Appointment
esype@berkeley.edu
7A 101, 112 Villegas, Karen 2116 Fridays from 10:00AM-11:00AM, and by appointment karenvill@berkeley.edu
7A 115 Goudiss, Grace 2114 Thursday, 11:30-12:30 goudiss@berkeley.edu
7a 102, 107 Ramage, Noah 2116 Monday 10-11 ramagenoah@berkeley.edu
10 101, 102 Barreiros Almeida Reis 3317 Thurs 3pm-5pm maria.reis@berkeley.edu
11 101, 102 Ghosh, Sourav Friday 10-12, Dwinelle 2114 sourav@berkeley.edu
11 103, 104 Otto, Brent 2114 T 11:30-12:30 / W 4:45-5:45 botto@berkeley.edu
11 103, 104 Otto, Brent 2114 Tuesday 11:30am-12:30pm
Wednesday 4:45-5:45pm
botto@berkeley.edu
12 101, 104 King, Harrison 2114 Mondays: 10-11 a.m. / Thursdays: 2-3 p.m. king_harrison@berkeley.edu
12 102, 103 Yildiz, Mustafa 2114 M 2-3
F 2-3
mustafa_yildiz@berkeley.edu
14 101, 203 Bobkov, Ilya 2106 Thursday, 10-12 ilya_bobkov@berkeley.edu
14 W 4-6, F 9-11 Peel, Sebastian 2106 W 11-1 sebpeel@berkeley.edu
30 102, 103 Guo, Helen 2108  Fridays, 11 AM - 1 PM h.guo12@berkeley.edu
30 101 and 105 Hargrett, Elizabeth 2108 Tuesday 10-12 elizabeth.hargrett@berkeley.edu
30 106 & 108 Najarro, Mauricio 2108  Thursdays 1:00 - 3:00 pm mauriciojnajarro@berkeley.edu
30 104 & 107 Sabri, Mariam 2108 Mondays 10:00 am—12:00 pm mariam_sabri@berkeley.edu
100ST 101 Clare Parker 2106  Fridays, 10 AM - 11AM (until December 15) cparker76@berkeley.edu
103A no discussion section Prussin, Talia 2102 Tuesdays 3-5pm tprussin@berkeley.edu
103D no discussion section Killion, Kimberly 2104 Tuesdays 11am - 1pm kkillion@berkeley.edu
105B 101 and 102 Culpeper, Ryan 2104 Thursdays 12-2pm rl.culpeper@berkeley.edu
130D 101,102 Venkatasubramanian, Varsha 2104 2-4PM, Fridays varshaoforange94@berkeley.edu
130 105, 108 Fernandez, Evan 2104 Tuesday 10:30-11:30 evan_fernandez@berkeley.edu
130 103 and 104 Garfink, Anna 2104 Tuesdays 3-4PM annagarfink@berkeley.edu
130 106, 107 Pham, Loan 2104 Tuesday 9-10
Thursday 10-11
loan@berkeley.edu
146 101, 102 Perez-Leon, Gisselle 2106  Wednesday 10:30-11:30AM gperezleon@berkeley.edu
151a 101, 102 Benowitz, Olivia n/a Wednesday 11:00am-12:30pm, Café Zeb
Thursday 5:30-6:30pm, online
Saturday 9-10am, online
olivia.benowitz@berkeley.edu
158C 101, 102 Wrigley, Claire 2106 Friday 1-3 cpwrigley@berkeley.edu
178 102, 103 Joel, Blaze 2110 Monday 10-11, Thursday 11:30-12:30 blaze_joel@berkeley.edu
178 101, 106 Morreale, Anthony 2110 Wednesday 2pm-4pm amorreale22@berkeley.edu
178 104 and 105 Solovy, AJ 2011 Monday 2-3PM
Friday 1-2PM
ajsolovy@berkeley.edu
C184 101 Mursinna, Jordan 2112 Wednesday, 3-4pm
Friday, 2-3pm
mursinna@berkeley.edu
C184d DIS 110, DIS 111 Chishti, Aneesa 2112 Wednesdays, 10 am to 12 pm. aneesachishti@berkeley.edu
C184d 106/107 Lollo, Niklas 2112 Monday, 3-4p
Friday, 2-3p
lollon@berkeley.edu
C184D 108, 109 Luck, Anneliese 2112 Thursday 1:30-3:30pm annelieseluck@berkeley.edu
C184D DIS 103, DIS 113 Ramesh, Srilakshmi (Sri) 2112 M 10:45-12:45 sriramesh@berkeley.edu
C184D 102, 104 Schmidt, Henry 2112 Tuesday, 2-3
Wednesday, 3-4
henry_schmidt@berkeley.edu
R1B 1 O'Leary, Derek 2102 Tuesdays, 1-2 and Thursdays, 3-4 derekoleary@berkeley.edu