Office Hours

If office hours are not listed for your instructor, please refer to your course syllabus or contact the instructor via email. Graduate Student Instructors for course sections are listed at the bottom of this page.


Faculty & Lecturers - Fall 2021

All office hours are in PST, unless otherwise stated. 

Name Primary Fields Office Hours Email

Diliana Angelova
Associate Professor

Byzantine W 10am-12pm 
Meetings are held virtually. Email instructor to schedule appointment.
angelova@berkeley.edu
Stephan H. Astourian
Associate Adjunct Professor
Late Modern Europe Tu-Thur: 5:15-6:15pm. Meetings are held via Zoom and over the phone throughout the week. Email instructor to schedule appointment.
astour@berkeley.edu
Janaki Bakhle
Associate Professor
South Asia On leave jbakhle@berkeley.edu
Andrew Barshay
Professor
East Asia: Japan On leave
abars@berkeley.edu
Mark Brilliant
Associate Professor
North America On leave mbrill@berkeley.edu
Cathryn Carson
Professor,
Department Chair
Science M 5-6pm and W 4-5pm
Meetings are held in-person and virtually. Click here to schedule appointment.
clcarson@berkeley.edu
Margaret Chowning
Professor
Latin America

Tu 1-3pm
Email instructor to schedule appointment.

chowning@berkeley.edu
John Connelly
Professor
Late Modern Europe Thur 10am-12pm,  2-4pm
Email instructor to schedule appointment.
jfconnel@berkeley.edu
Thomas James Dandelet
Professor
Early Modern Europe On leave tdandelet@berkeley.edu
Brian DeLay
Associate Professor
North America

M: 4-5pm (in person- sign up link below);
Thur: 11am-12pm (virtual for History 7a)

Click here to schedule an in-person appointment.

delay@berkeley.edu
Nicholas Dirks
Professor
South Asia  On leave ndirks@berkeley.edu
Sandra Eder
Assistant Professor
Science s.eder@berkeley.edu
John M. Efron
Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe M 2-4pm
Meetings are held virtually. Email instructor to schedule appointment.
efron@berkeley.edu
Susanna Elm
Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome Tu 3:30-4:30pm, in person. elm@berkeley.edu
Puck Engman
Assistant Professor
East Asia Tu, Th 2:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Meetings are held In person and virtually. Click here to schedule appointment.
puck.engman@berkeley.edu
Victoria Frede
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe M 2-3pm and Tu 2-3pm
Meetings are held In person and virtually. Email instructor to schedule appointment.
vfrede@berkeley.edu
Meg Eppel Gudgeirsson

North America

M and Tu 11am-12pm
Meetings are held on Zoom - see bCourses/syllabus.
mgudgeirsson@berkeley.edu
Bruce S. Hall
Associate Professor
Africa W 10:00 - 12:00
Meetings are held In person and virtually. Email instructor to schedule appointment.
bruce.hall@berkeley.edu
David Henkin
Professor
North America  On leave marhevka@berkeley.edu

Christoph Hermann
Visiting Lecturer

Late Modern Europe hermann@berkeley.edu
Rebecca Herman
Assistant Professor
Latin America

W 3-4:15pm
Meetings are held virtually. Click here to schedule appointment.

rebeccaherman@berkeley.edu
Carla Hesse
Professor
Early Modern Europe Tu 3:00-5:00 pm
Meetings held In person and virtually. Email instructor to schedule appointment.
chesse@berkeley.edu
Stefan-Ludwig Hoffmann
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe  W 2-3PM or by appointment. Meetings are held virtually. Click here to schedule appointment. slhoffmann@berkeley.edu
Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers
Associate Professor
North America Tu 2:00-4:00 pm
Meetings are held in-person and virtually. Click here to schedule appointment.
sejr@berkeley.edu
Abhishek Kaicker
Associate
Professor
South Asia Meetings are held in-person and virtually. Click here to schedule appointment. kaicker@berkeley.edu
Tabitha Kanogo
Professor
Africa Thur 2:30-4pm
Meetings are held in person. Email instructor to schedule appointment.
kanogo@berkeley.edu
Ethan Katz
Associate Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe Tu/Thur 2:30-3:30 
Email instructor to schedule appointment.
ebkatz@berkeley.edu
Geoffrey Koziol
Professor
Medieval Alternating Wed (3-4pm) & Fri (9-10am) for 103B & 156C, and by appointment.

Meetings are held virutally. Email instructor to schedule appointment.
gkoz@berkeley.edu
Emily Mackil
Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome W: 10a-12pm
Meetings are held virtually. Click here to schedule appointment.
emackil@berkeley.edu
Waldo E. Martin
Professor
North America
wmartin@berkeley.edu
Maria Mavroudi
Professor
Byzantine
mavroudi@berkeley.edu
Massimo Mazzotti
Professor
Science

 On leave

mazzotti@berkeley.edu
Rebecca M. McLennan
Associate Professor
North America

Thur 3-5pm
Meetings are held virtually. Click here to schedule appointment.

mclennan@berkeley.edu
Maureen C. Miller
Professor
Medieval

 On leave

mcmiller@berkeley.edu
Bonnie J. Morris
Visiting Lecturer
North America

Tu/Thur 2-4 pm
Meetings are held in-person. Email instructor to schedule appointment.

drbon@berkeley.edu
Carlos F. Noreña
Associate Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome Tu: 2-4pm and by appointment norena@berkeley.edu
Michael Nylan
Professor
East Asia: China On leave. Grad students may contact by email. mnylan@berkeley.edu
Vanessa Ogle
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe Tu 9:30-11:30am or by appointment.
Meetings are held virtually and by appointment only. Email instructor to schedule appointment.
vanessa.ogle@berkeley.edu
Dylan C. Penningroth
Professor
North America

Meetings are held virtually and by appointment only. Email instructor to schedule appointment.

dcap@law.berkeley.edu
Bernadette Pérez
Assistant Professor
North America bjperez@berkeley.edu
Christine Philliou
Professor
Middle East Thur 1-2:30 pm
Meetings are held virtually. Email instructor to schedule appointment.
philliou@berkeley.edu
Isabel Richter
DAAD Professor
Late Modern Europe W 5-7 pm
Meetings are held in person and virtually. Email instructor to schedule appointment.
isabel.richter@berkeley.edu
Caitlin C. Rosenthal
Assistant Professor
North America crosenthal@berkeley.edu
Daniel Sargent
Associate Professor
North America  By appointment only. daniel.sargent@berkeley.edu
Elena A. Schneider
Associate Professor
Latin America & The Caribbean

 On leave

eschneider@berkeley.edu
Ethan H. Shagan
Professor
Early Modern Europe  On leave shagan@berkeley.edu
Jonathan Sheehan
Professor
Early Modern Europe

M 2-4pm
Meetings are held virtually. Click here to schedule appointment. 

sheehan@berkeley.edu

Agnieszka Smelkowska
Visiting Lecturer

Late Modern Europe

M/W/F 11-12; Tu/Thur 9.30-10.30am
Meetings are held in-person and virtually. Email instructor to schedule appointment.

agnessmelkowska@berkeley.edu
Ronit Y. Stahl
Associate Professor
North America  On leave rystahl@berkeley.edu
James Stone-Lunde
Visiting Lecturer

East Asia

Fri 3-4pm,
Meetings are held in person at Ishi Court. Email instructor to schedule appointment.
james.stonelunde@berkeley.edu
Nicolas Tackett
Associate Professor
East Asia: China
Thur 12-2 pm 
Meetings are held virtually. Click here to make appointment.
tackett@berkeley.edu
Stacey Van Vleet 
Assistant Professor
East Asia, Science Tu/Th 3:30-4:30pm or by appointment. Email instructor to schedule appointment. vanvleet@berkeley.edu
James Vernon
Professor
Late Modern Europe, Britain Tu 2-4pm
Meetigs held in person and virtually. Click here to schedule appointment.
jvernon@berkeley.edu
Wen-hsin Yeh
Professor
East Asia: China Tu 12:45-2:00pm W: by appointment.
Meetings are held in-person and virtually, Email instructor to schedule appointment.
sha@berkeley.edu
Peter B. Zinoman
Professor
Southeast Asia  On leave pzinoman@berkeley.edu
Daniel Zoughbie
Visiting Instructor
North America Meetings are held virtually and in-person, and by appointment only. Email instructor to schedule appointment.

Graduate Student Instructors by Course Section

Discussion Sections

GSI

Office Hours

Email address

Office number

R1B A Nation of Readers: Reading and Writing in the United States

J.T. Jamieson Thursday 10am-12pm (Dwinelle 2104) jtjamieson@berkeley.edu 2104
4A The Ancient Mediterranean World
101, 102 Andrew Hardy Monday 11am-12pm (Dwinelle 2110)
Friday 12pm-1pm (Zoom)
andrew_hardy@berkeley.edu 2110
103, 106 Leah Borquez Monday 10am-12pm (Zoom) lborquez@berkeley.edu 2110
104, 105 David Wheeler Thursday 9:30am-10:30am (In person)
Friday 10am-11am (Zoom)
david.wheeler@berkeley.edu 2110
5 European Civilization from the Renaissance to the Present
101, 102 Matthew Kovac Wednesday 2pm-4pm (FSM Cafe) mkovac@berkeley.edu 2108
103, 104 Calvin Paulson Friday 11:00am-1:00pm (Free Speech Movement Café) calvin_paulson@berkeley.edu 2108
6B Introduction to Chinese History: From the Mongols to Post-Mao China
101, 103 Aidan Lee aidanglee@berkeley.edu 2108
102, 104 Hu Hsu huhsu@berkeley.edu 2108
7A Introduction to the History of the United States: The United States from Settlement to Civil War
101, 113 Lissett Bastidas lbastidas@berkeley.edu 2106
102, 116 Rafael Henriquez rafaelhenriquez@berkeley.edu 2106
103, 117 Sarah Lee sarah.j.lee@berkeley.edu 2106
104, 107 Alexandra Coakley alexandracoakley@berkeley.edu 2106
105, 111 Julia Frankenbach Wednesday 2pm-4pm frankenbach@berkeley.edu 2108
106, 109 Chris Hacnik chacnik@berkeley.edu 2106
108, 118 Briana Vessells Tuesdays 12:10-2:10pm in-person or remotely. Also by appointment b.vessells@berkeley.edu 2106
112, 115 Sarah Sears Wednesday 1pm-2pm (Zoom)
Thursday 3pm-4pm (in-person, Dwinelle 2108)
ssears@berkeley.edu 2108
119 Sophie FitzMaurice Monday 11am-12pm sophie.fitzmaurice@berkeley.edu 2108
8A Latin American History: Becoming Latin America, 1492 to 1824
101 Anayeli Nuñez Almengor Thursday 1pm-3pm anayeli.nunez@berkeley.edu 2102
12 The Middle East
101, 103 Mustafa Yildiz Wednesday 2pm-4pm mustafa_yildiz@berkeley.edu 2104
100D Disease, Health, and Medicine in American History
101, 103 Sloane Nilsen Tuesday 3pm-5pm sloane.nilsen@berkeley.edu 2114
102, 104 Suzanne Winter Friday 10:30am-11:30am (Zoom) suzanne.winter@berkeley.edu 2114
103A All That Glitters: Money in the Greco-Roman World
John Daukas 1pm-3pm (2104 Dwinelle) jpdaukas@berkeley.edu 2104
103E Natural Resources as Political and Economic Power in Latin America and the Caribbean
Clare Ibarra Wednesday 10am-11am (Zoom)
Thursday 4pm-5pm (In person)
ciba14@berkeley.edu 2102
103F 002 Bullets, Sedition and Surveillance in the British Empire: Radical Politics and the Decolonization of South Asia
Shaivya Mishra shaivya.mishra@berkeley.edu 2102
103M “Minor Feelings”: Minorities in the Middle East
Christin E Zurbach Wednesday 11am-1pm czurbach@berkeley.edu 2102
125B African American History and Race Relations: 1860-2016
101, 102 Lucayo Casillas lucayo_casillas@berkeley.edu 2104
133A The History of American Capitalism
101, 111 Juliette Rosenthal Monday 12:30pm-1:30pm (in person)
Thursday 3pm-4pm (online)
julietterosenthal@berkeley.edu 2112
102, 110 Mason Hinsdale Monday 3pm-5pm mehinsdale@berkeley.edu 2112
103, 106 Lianne Koren Tuesday 3:10pm-4:10pm
Wednesday 4pm-5pm
liannerobin_koren@berkeley.edu 2112
104, 107 Aich, Aniket Wednesday 12pm-1pm
Thursday 4pm-5pm
aniketaich@berkeley.edu 2110
105, 116 Quyncc Johnson Wednesday 1pm-3pm qjohnson101@berkeley.edu 2110
108, 114 Courtney Bither cbither@berkeley.edu 2112
109, 112 Paul Colin paul_colin@berkeley.edu 2110
113 Cameron Black Thursday 10:30am-11:30am cjblack7@berkeley.edu 2112
115 Kimberly Killion kkillion@berkeley.edu 2110
117, 118 Amy O'Hearn Thursday 11am-12pm (Zoom) aohearn@berkeley.edu 2112
138T History of Science in the US CalTeach
101
C184D Human Contexts and Ethics of Data - DATA/History/STS
112 Alex Mabanta Thursday 3pm-5pm alex.mabanta@berkeley.edu 2116
117, 118 Rachel Roberson Thursday 1pm-3pm rachel_roberson@berkeley.edu 2116