Office Hours

If office hours are not listed for your instructor, please refer to your course syllabus or contact the instructor via email. Graduate Student Instructors for course sections are listed at the bottom of this page.


Faculty & Lecturers

Name Primary Fields Office Hours Email

Diliana Angelova
Associate Professor

Byzantine

Wednesday: 10am-12pm

3/13, 4/10, 5/1: Doe Library, 4th Floor, Rm 423

2/20, 2/27, 3/6, 3/20, 4/3, 4/17, 4/24, 5/8: 2309 Dwinelle

angelova@berkeley.edu
Stephan H. Astourian
Associate Adjunct Professor
Late Modern Europe 2221 Dwinelle
Thursday: 12-2pm
astour@berkeley.edu
Janaki Bakhle
Associate Professor
South Asia 3209 Dwinelle
Monday: 10am–12pm
jbakhle@berkeley.edu
Andrew Barshay
Professor
East Asia: Japan 2216 Dwinelle
Thursday: 1:30-2:30pm
abars@berkeley.edu
Margo Boenig-Liptsin
STS Research Associate
Science Hearst Field Annex B
Wednesday: 10:30–12:30pm
mboenigliptsin@berkeley.edu
Christoffer Bovbjerg
Visiting Lecturer
East Asia: Japan 3213 Dwinelle
Wednesday: 3–4pm
bovbjerg@berkeley.edu
Mark Brilliant
Associate Professor
North America 2311 Dwinelle
Tuesday/Thursday: 11:10am-12:10pm
mbrill@berkeley.edu
Angelo Caglioti
Visiting Lecturer
Science 2305 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 2–4 pm
am.caglioti@berkeley.edu
Cathryn Carson
Professor
Science Hearst Field Annex B22
Monday: 3–4 pm, and 5:30-6:30pm
clcarson@berkeley.edu
Margaret Chowning
Professor
Latin America 3125 Dwinelle
Thursday: 1-3pm
chowning@berkeley.edu
John Connelly
Professor
Late Modern Europe 2218 Dwinelle
Monday: 2-4pm
jfconnel@berkeley.edu
Thomas James Dandelet
Professor
Early Modern Europe 2317 Dwinelle
Monday: 2-3pm
tdandelet@berkeley.edu
Brian DeLay
Associate Professor
North America 3219 Dwinelle
Monday: 3:15-4:15pm
delay@berkeley.edu
Nicholas Dirks
Professor
South Asia 3224 Dwinelle
On Leave
ndirks@berkeley.edu
Sandra Eder
Assistant Professor
Science 2213 Dwinelle
On Leave
s.eder@berkeley.edu
John M. Efron
Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe 2217 Dwinelle
Monday: 2–4pm
efron@berkeley.edu
Robin L. Einhorn
Professor
North America 3211 Dwinelle
On Leave
einhorn@berkeley.edu
Susanna Elm
Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome 2310 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 3:30-5pm
elm@berkeley.edu
Victoria Frede
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe 3217 Dwinelle
Monday: 2-3pm; Thursday: 4-5pm
vfrede@berkeley.edu
Sarah Gold McBride
Visiting Lecturer
North America 2314 Dwinelle
Wednesday: 12:30–2:30pm
(and by appointment)
sarahgoldmcbride@berkeley.edu
Bruce S. Hall
Associate Professor
Africa 3218 Dwinelle
Wednesday, 1-3pm
bruce.hall@berkeley.edu
David Henkin
Professor
North America 2226 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 12:30–1:30pm
(and by appointment)
marhevka@berkeley.edu
Rebecca Herman
Assistant Professor
Latin America 2307 Dwinelle
On Leave
rebeccaherman@berkeley.edu
Carla Hesse
Professor
Early Modern Europe Contact Jane Christen for an appointment chesse@berkeley.edu
Stefan-Ludwig Hoffmann
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe 3215 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 4–5:30pm
slhoffmann@berkeley.edu
J. Brooks Jessup
Visiting Lecturer
East Asia: China 2305 Dwinelle
Friday: 1–3pm
brooks.jessup@berkeley.edu
Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers
Assistant Professor
North America 2315 Dwinelle
On Leave
sejr@berkeley.edu
Abhishek Kaicker
Assistant Professor
South Asia 3216 Dwinelle
On Leave
kaicker@berkeley.edu
Tabitha Kanogo
Professor
Africa 3220 Dwinelle
On Leave
kanogo@berkeley.edu
Ethan Katz
Associate Professor
Jewish, Late Modern Europe 2227 Dwinelle
Tuesday/Thursday: 1–2pm
(or by appointment)
ebkatz@berkeley.edu
Joseph Kellner
Visiting Lecturer
Late Modern Europe 3118 Dwinelle
Wednesday: 8–10am
joseph.kellner@berkeley.edu
Geoffrey Koziol
Professor
Medieval 3116 Dwinelle
Monday: 2:30–4:30pm
gkoz@berkeley.edu
Emily Mackil
Associate Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome 2312 Dwinelle
Thursday: 1–3pm
emackil@berkeley.edu
Waldo E. Martin
Professor
North America 2308 Dwinelle
Thursday: 3:30–5pm
wmartin@berkeley.edu
Maria Mavroudi
Professor
Byzantine 2223 Dwinelle
By Appointment
mavroudi@berkeley.edu
Massimo Mazzotti
Professor
Science 2309 Dwinelle
By Appointment
mazzotti@berkeley.edu
Rebecca M. McLennan
Associate Professor
North America 2224 Dwinelle
By Appointment
mclennan@berkeley.edu
Andrej Milivojević
Visiting Lecturer
Late Modern Europe 3422 Dwinelle
Tuesday & Thursday: 2:10-3pm
andrej@berkeley.edu
Maureen C. Miller
Professor
Medieval

2219 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 1:30–2:30pm; Thursday: 4:30-5:30pm

(and by appointment)

mcmiller@berkeley.edu
Bonnie Morris
Visiting Lecturer
North America 2309 Dwinelle
Tuesday & Thursday: 11am–12pm
drbon@berkeley.edu
Carlos F. Noreña
Associate Professor
Ancient Greece & Rome 2222 Dwinelle
Wednesday: 2–4pm
(and by appointment)
norena@berkeley.edu
Michael Nylan
Professor
East Asia: China 3212 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 4-5pm
(and by appointment)
mnylan@berkeley.edu
Vanessa Ogle
Associate Professor
Late Modern Europe 2207 Dwinelle
Tuesday, 1:30-3:30pm
vanessa.ogle@berkeley.edu
Dylan C. Penningroth
Professor
North America 423 North Addition (Law)
On Leave
dcap@law.berkeley.edu
Christine Philliou
Associate Professor
Middle East 2205 Dwinelle
On Leave
philliou@berkeley.edu
Archana Prakash
Visiting Lecturer
Middle East

3216 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 11:30–1:30pm (or by appt.)

archanaprakash@berkeley.edu
Isabel Richter
DAAD Professor
Late Modern Europe 3207 Dwinelle
Wednesday: 3-4:30pm
isabel.richter@berkeley.edu
Daniel M. Robert
Visiting Lecturer
North America 3422 Dwinelle
Monday: 11–11:50am
Tuesday: 10:10–11am
(or by appointment)
daniel.m.robert@berkeley.edu
Caitlin C. Rosenthal
Assistant Professor
North America 2225 Dwinelle
Monday: 11am-12pm; 4-5pm
Click here to make an appointment
crosenthal@berkeley.edu
Peter Sahlins
Professor
Early Modern Europe

3214 Dwinelle
On Leave

sahlins@berkeley.edu
Daniel Sargent
Associate Professor
North America 2215 Dwinelle
On Leave
daniel.sargent@berkeley.edu
Elena A. Schneider
Assistant Professor
Latin America & The Caribbean

2210 Dwinelle
Thursday: 12:45–2:45pm
Click here to make an appointment

eschneider@berkeley.edu
Elizabeth Schwall
Visiting Lecturer
Latin America

2313 Dwinelle
Monday & Wednesday: 4-5pm
and by appointment

elizabeth.schwall@berkeley.edu
Ethan H. Shagan
Professor
Early Modern Europe 3210 Dwinelle
Wednesday: 2–4pm
shagan@berkeley.edu
Brendan Shanahan
Visiting Lecturer
North America

3211 Dwinelle
Monday & Wednesday: 3-4pm (and by appointment)

brendan.shanahan@berkeley.edu
Jonathan Sheehan
Professor
Early Modern Europe 3222 Dwinelle
Thursday: 10am-12pm
sheehan@berkeley.edu
Yuri Slezkine
Professor
Late Modern Europe 2220 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 3-4pm

slezkine@berkeley.edu

Matthew Specter
Visiting Lecturer

Late Modern Europe

3442 Dwinelle
Monday: 2-2:45pm; Wednesday: 1:15-2:30pm

mspecter@berkeley.edu

Ronit Y. Stahl
Assistant Professor
North America 2211 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 2:15-4pm
rystahl@berkeley.edu
Nicolas Tackett
Associate Professor
East Asia: China 2212 Dwinelle
On Leave
tackett@berkeley.edu
Jennifer Robin Terry
Visiting Lecturer
North America 2314 Dwinelle
Monday: 2:30-4pm
(and by appointment)
jenterry@berkeley.edu
James Vernon
Professor
Late Modern Europe, Britain 2214 Dwinelle
Tuesday: 2-4pm
jvernon@berkeley.edu
Wen-hsin Yeh
Professor
East Asia: China 3120 Dwinelle
Monday: 2-3pm
(and by appointment)
sha@berkeley.edu
Peter B. Zinoman
Professor, Department Chair
Southeast Asia 3303 Dwinelle
Thursday: 9–11am
pzinoman@berkeley.edu

Graduate Student Instructors by Course Section 

Course

Sections

GSI Name

Email

Office Hours

4B

101/103 Lowish, Thomas thomas.lowish@gmail.com 2104 Dwinelle, Thurs 1-2pm

4B

102/104 Stratman, Christene christene_stratman@berkeley.edu 2104 Dwinelle, Wed 2:30-3:30pm

 6B

101/104 Bobkov, Ilya ilya_bobkov@berkeley.edu 2112 Dwinelle , Fri 2-4pm
6B  105/106

Mahler, Coleman

cmahler@berkeley.edu

2112 Dwinelle , Fri 1-3pm

6B 103/107

Wyle, Elisheva 

elisheva_wyle@berkeley.edu

2112 Dwinelle , Tu 5:30-6:30pm, F 11am-12pm

7B 117

Arnold, Chase

chase.arnold@berkeley.edu

2104 Dwinelle, Tu & Th, 1:30-2:30pm

7B 106/113

Benowitz, Olivia

olivia.benowitz@berkeley.edu

2102 Dwinelle, Mon 9-10am, Wed 2-3pm

7B 109/118

Friedman, Daniel

danielfriedman@berkeley.edu

2101 Dwinelle, Wed 1-3pm

7B 103/114

Hargrett, Elizabeth

elizabeth.hargrett@berkeley.edu

2102 Dwinelle, Mon 3-4pm, Wed 3-4pm

7B 102/104

Leon, Clara

principessa16@gmail.com

2012 Dwinelle, Tu, Th 9-10am

7B 101/105

Nelson, Ryan

sociolgst@yahoo.com

2012 Dwinelle, Mon 1:10-2:10pm, Fr 9:10-10:10am

7B 107/110

Spier, Charli

charli_spier@berkeley.edu

2012 Dwinelle, Th 2-4pm

7B 112/116

Venkatasubramanian, Varsha

varshaoforange94@berkeley.edu

2104 Dwinelle —Fri 1-3pm

7B 111/119

Winter, Suzanne

suzanne.winter@berkeley.edu

2014 Dwinelle, Tu 4:30-6pm

7B 108

Wu, Ching Kit

chingkitwu@berkeley.edu

2014 Dwinelle, Mon 11am-1pm

8B 103/104

Almeida Reis, Maria

maria.reis@berkeley.edu

2108 Dwinelle, Th 3-4pm, Fr 11am-12pm

8B 101/102

Jackson, Kyle

kyle.jackson@berkeley.edu

2108 Dwinelle, Fr 9-11am

C184D 101/105

Chishti, Aneesa

aneesachishti@berkeley.edu

2106 Dwinelle, Wed 10am-12pm

C184D 103/108

DuBois, Maelia

mdubois@berkeley.edu

2106 Dwinelle, Tu 1-3pm

C184D 104

Edmundson, Ari

aedmundson@berkeley.edu

2106 Dwinelle, Mon 2-3pm, Tu 4-5pm

C184D 102/110

Hartono, Paulina

hartono@berkeley.edu

2106 Dwinelle, Tu 10am-12pm

C184D 109/111

Kelly, Daniel

dhkelly@berkeley.edu

2106 Dwinelle, Fr 11am-12pm

C184D 106/107

Mursinna, Jordan

mursinna@berkeley.edu

2106 Dwinelle, Th 11am-12pm, 2-3pm

R1B

Delano, David

david.delano@berkeley.edu

2116 Dwinelle, Tu/Th 10-11am, 4-5pm

R1B

Peel, Sebastian

sebpeel@berkeley.edu

2116 Dwinelle, Tu 9:30-10:30am, Th 3-4pm

103D

Nelson, Robert

robert_nelson@berkeley.edu

2114 Dwinelle, Fr 2-4pm

106B 101/105

Roddy, Daniel

droddy1990@berkeley.edu

2110 Dwinelle, Wed 1-3pm

106B 103/106

Stubblefield, Samuel

samuel_stubblefield@berkeley.edu

2110 Dwinelle, Tu 2-3pm, W 11am-12pm

106B 102/104

Yildiz, Mustafa

mustafa_yildiz@berkeley.edu

2110 Dwinelle, Mon/Fr 4-5pm

125A 101/102

Martin del Campo, Francis

pacomdc@gmail.com

 

133A 102/106

Bender, Noah

noah.bender@berkeley.edu

2112 Dwinelle, Th 1-3pm

133A 101/104

Ford, Caleb

calebjford@berkeley.edu

2112 Dwinelle, Tu 3-5pm

133A 103/105

Wrigley, Claire

cpwrigley@berkeley.edu

2112 Dwinelle, Tu 1-2pm, Wed 9-10am

133B 101/104

Williams, Brandon Kirk

bkwilliams@berkeley.edu

2110 Dwinelle, Tu/Th 11:10am-12pm

133B 102/103

Sangster, Doug

140B 101/102

Fernandez, Evan

evan_fernandez@berkeley.edu

2108 Dwinelle, Tu 1-3pm

162C 105/106

Alie, Remi

remi_alie@berkeley.edu

2108 Dwinelle, Tu 10-11:30am

162C 101/102

Friedman, Sara

sara_friedman@berkeley.edu

2108 Dwinelle, Tu/Th 10-11am

162C 103/104

Morreale, Anthony

amorreale22@berkeley.edu

2108 Dwinelle, Tu/Th 5-6pm

182AT

Schmidt, Henry

henry_schmidt@berkeley.edu

2110 Dwinelle, Tu 2-3pm, Th 11am-12pm