Jay, Sahlins, Slezkine Among AHA Prize Winners for 2018

October 10, 2018

The American Historical Association (AHA) named three UC Berkeley faculty members among its prize recipients for 2018. Prizes are to be awarded at the AHA's annual meeting in Chicago on January 3–6, 2019.

The prize winners include:

Martin E. Jay, Ehrman Professor Emeritus of European History
The Award for Scholarly Distinction to senior historians for lifetime achievement

Peter Sahlins, Professor of History
The J. Russell Major Prize for French history for 1668: The Year of the Animal in France

Yuri Slezkine, Jane K. Sather Professor of History
The George L. Mosse Prize in the intellectual and cultural history of Europe since 1500 for The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution

According to the AHA, finalists were selected from a field of over 1,500 entries by nearly 150 prize committee members. See the full list of this year's prize winners on the AHA's website.

Logo for American Historical Association (AHA)