Faculty Awards & Honors

Campus Awards

UC Berkeley Distinguished Teaching Awards

The Distinguished Teaching Award is intended to recognize individual faculty for sustained performance of excellence in teaching. Above and beyond an individual exemplary class, this kind of sustained excellence in teaching incites intellectual curiosity in students, inspires departmental colleagues, and makes students aware of significant relationships between the academy and the world at large.

2023 — James Vernon
2019 — Ethan Shagan
2017 — Carlos Noreña
2011 — Robin Einhorn
1996 — Robert Middlekauff
1987 — Erich Gruen
1977 — Lynn Hunt
1974 — Natalie Davis
1971 — Leon Litwack

Carol D. Soc Distinguished Graduate Student Mentoring Awards

Carol D. Soc Distinguished Graduate Student Mentoring Awards, established in 2007, recognize UC Berkeley faculty for their vital role in mentoring graduate students and training future faculty. The awards are funded by the Graduate Division and seek to foster the qualities of excellence in mentorship that are so important to the Berkeley community. Winners are honored annually at an awards ceremony jointly sponsored by the Graduate Assembly and the Graduate Division.

2019 — Caitlin Rosenthal
2017 — James Vernon
2014 — Cathryn Carson
2010 — Mark Healey
2008 — Susanna Barrows

Division of Social Sciences Distinguished Teaching & Service Awards

The dean and chairs of the Division of Social Sciences initiated the Distinguished Teaching Award to encourage and reward faculty members who have been exceptionally generous and effective in both undergraduate and graduate teaching. The Distinguished Service Award recognizes a faculty member who has made extraordinary service contributions to their department and to the campus.

Teaching Awards

2017 — Stephanie E. Jones-Rogers
2014 — Daniel Sargent
2009 — Kerwin Klein
2008 — David Henkin
2006 — Carlos Noreña
2001 — Robin Einhorn
1997 — Reginald Zelnik 
1995 — Leon Litwack

Service Awards

2015 — Mary Elizabeth Berry
2013 — Cathryn Carson
2012 — David Hollinger

The Graduate Assembly Faculty Mentor Award

The UC Berkeley Graduate Assembly Faculty Mentor Award honors members of the Berkeley faculty and teaching staff who have shown an outstanding commitment to mentoring, advising, and supporting graduate students. The Graduate Assembly presents three awards to selected mentors every year.

2021 — Maria Mavroudi

External Awards & Honors

American Academy of Arts and Sciences

The American Academy serves the nation as a champion of scholarship, civil dialogue, and useful knowledge. As one of the country’s oldest learned societies and independent policy research centers, the Academy convenes leaders from the academic, business, and government sectors to respond to the challenges facing the nation and the world.

Andrew Barshay
Mary Elizabeth Berry
Thomas Brady
Jan de Vries
Nicholas Dirks
Erich Gruen
John Heilbron
Richard Herr
Carla Hesse
David Hollinger
Martin Jay
Thomas Laqueur
Leon Litwack
Robert Middlekauff
Yuri Slezkine

The American Philosophical Society

The American Philosophical Society  is the oldest learned society in the United States, and was founded in 1743 by Benjamin Franklin for the purpose of “promoting useful knowledge.” The American Philosophical Society’s current activities reflect the founder’s spirit of inquiry, provide a forum for the free exchange of ideas, and convey their conviction that intellectual inquiry and critical thought are inherently in the best interest of the public.

Martin Jay
Richard Herr
Robert L. Middlekauff
Erich S. Gruen
Ira M. Lapidus
Jan de Vries
Paula S. Fass
Thomas W. Laqueur
David Hollinger

Guggenheim Fellows

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation offers Fellowships to further the development of scholars and artists by assisting them to engage in research in any field of knowledge and creation in any of the arts, under the freest possible conditions and irrespective of race, color, or creed. 

2019 — Brian DeLay
2019 — James Vernon
2018 — Nicolas Tackett
2017 — Stefan-Ludwig Hoffmann
2014 — Michael Nylan
2008 — Margaret Lavinia Anderson
2007 — Thomas James Dandelet
2006 — Paula S. Fass
1998 — Carla Hesse
1997 — Geoffrey Koziol
1996 — Robin L. Einhorn
1994 — Lawrence W. Levine
1994 — Peter Sahlins
1990 — Thomas W. Laqueur
1990 — Mary P. Ryan
1988 — Thomas A. Brady, Jr.
1988 — John E. Lesch
1985 — Amos Funkenstein
1984 — Richard Herr (previously awarded in 1959)
1984 — Randolph Starn
1983 — Susanna Barrows
1982 — David A. Hollinger
1981 — Thomas R. Metcalf
1978 — Robert Brentano (previously awarded in 1965)
1979 — Nicholas V. Riasanovsky
1978 — Jan de Vries
1978 — David Keightley
1974 — Martin E. Jay
1973 — Frederic Wakeman
1972 — Ira M. Lapidus
1972 — Sheldon Rothblatt
1969 — Raymond K. Kent
1968 — Gunther Barth
1967 — Leon Litwack
1967 — Kenneth M. Stampp (previously awarded in 1962)
1964 — Thomas C. Smith
1963 — Charles G. Sellers
1960 — Gene A. Brucker
1958 — Woodrow Borah (previously awarded in 1951)
1943 — Dixon Wecter (previously awarded in 1942)

MacArthur Fellows

The MacArthur Fellows Program is intended to encourage people of outstanding talent to pursue their own creative, intellectual, and professional inclinations. In keeping with this purpose, the Foundation awards fellowships directly to individuals rather than through institutions. Recipients may be writers, scientists, artists, social scientists, humanists, teachers, entrepreneurs, or those in other fields, with or without institutional affiliations. They may use their fellowship to advance their expertise, engage in bold new work, or, if they wish, to change fields or alter the direction of their careers.

2013 — Dylan Penningroth
2004 — Maria Mavroudi
1986 — David N. Keightley
1983 — Lawrence W. Levine
1982 — Peter R.L. Brown

Pulitzer Prizes — History

1991 (Finalist) — Kenneth Stampp, America in 1857: A Nation on the Brink
1983 (Finalist) — Robert Middlekauff, The Glorious Cause: The American Revolution, 1763–17891980 (Winner) — Leon Litwack, Been in the Storm So Long: The Aftermath of Slavery

See our news archive for announcements of many other awards and honors not listed here.

Professor James Vernon and Graduate Student Instructors
Image credit: 
UC Berkeley Graduate Division
Assistant Professor Caitlin Rosenthal
Image credit: 
UC Berkeley Graduate Division